We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enclosed Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Enclosed Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great convention resort with all the feel of an outdoor village enclosed in a gigantic atrium. Each of the stores in the is located in a cottage in the village. a short ferry to Old Town Alexandria is ideal for shopping and great food.

Room Tip: Eat at the steak house it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    823
    473
    251
    186
See reviews for
420
281
116
1,562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a special event given by the company he works for. The hotel is huge and very clean. I loved the large open indoor area with tables and chairs, water fountain and trees giving the area a nice outdoor, relaxing feel. You can grab a cup of coffee or light lunch and sit in this open area, or look through the little shops. Very nice. The room was clean. Our view was not the best. We had a view of the parking lot. Other rooms had views of the river. My only complaint was the Spa. My husband's company paid for us to have a spa treatment. I chose a mini facial. It was the worst facial I have ever had. The spa area was very nice. It had a nice relaxing waiting area and the staff (up to the point of my facial) was very nice. The person that did my facial was not very friendly and clearly had no experience. She made me feel very uncomfortable (kept covering my ENTIRE face with a hot towel) for this "mini facial". I couldn't wait for the treatment to end. I am sure that it was just the person I had because I heard others say they loved their treatments. The cocktail hour and food for the venue was really good and the staff did a great job of keeping up with food and drink requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here with my family during Labor Day weekend. This hotel is right off of the water so the views are spectacular. The service was above average with minor exceptions. The exception: one day our room was not serviced until after 4pm. Not a good look at all. Now for the tips: ask for a room next to an elevator. This hotel is HUGE and we were about a 2-3 minute walk from our elevator. I'm in decent shape but going from the lobby to my room multiple times was a bit much. next tip. Valet parking is $34, Hotel self parking is $24, parking across the street (municipal) $13 a day. Park across the street is a much better option. It's the same walking distance as the hotel self park. Restaurant food at the sports bar was ok, but a bit pricey. Better options at the restaurants across the street. Overall, we enjoyed our stay & would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room by elevators, and self park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for an industry conference earlier this year. The staff was very helpful and catered to whatever need I had. The rooms were well kept, and the beds were very comfortable. The food at the onsite restaurants was great. One of my favorite things about this hotel was the live jazz piano and sax music at the lobby bar. The view of the Potomac from the lobby bar+ the music + a nice drink = a great way to relax at the end of a long day. The location is great as well. It is within a short walk to a bunch of great waterfront restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for a very large conference. I was impressed with the cleanliness of this giant hotel. A very pleasant and friendly check in with rooms available early. The convention space is quite nice but a bit confusing to navigate. There are a few pleasant shops within the hotel as well as a quite pleasing shopping and eating district right out the front door.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at this hotel that are far from the main central elevators. If that is importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family stayed there during the labor day weekend and we really had a blast because of the activities going on in nearby national harbor. Our room rate was originally $249/night as we chose to stay in a room with atrium view and we made reservations 2 weeks prior. Breakfast was not included. Our requests when we reserved were early check in, extra pillows and extra towels. Final room rate was $331/night and when we arrived, none of our requests were realized! Nevertheless, we had a great family bonding time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Read my title. The only reason I'm expanding this is because Trip Advisor says it has to be 200 characters. From parking, to check in, to the room, to the restaurants, to the conference center, to the atmosphere and service...Gaylord Nation, you guys rock!!!! Just a tad bit pricey, but check the website for discounts and coupons. I was on a expense paid trip for work. Awesome!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.