We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!!!! Nothing else to say.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best ever!!!! Nothing else to say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Read my title. The only reason I'm expanding this is because Trip Advisor says it has to be 200 characters. From parking, to check in, to the room, to the restaurants, to the conference center, to the atmosphere and service...Gaylord Nation, you guys rock!!!! Just a tad bit pricey, but check the website for discounts and coupons. I was on a expense paid trip for work. Awesome!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    734
    445
    237
    169
See reviews for
389
260
114
1433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord for a business convention. Very handy to have the convention rooms in same indoor complex. It's a huge facility, but once you learn your way around it fine. Service and rooms were clean and accommodating. Asked for room by elevator when making reservation and got one without asking twice.

Room Tip: You may not want a room overlooking main HUGE indoor events area. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this property for a conference. Otherwise, I would stay in the center of town where you have more access to everything. But if you have to stay here, make the most of it and enjoy this hotel! First of all, if you can, get a room with a balcony in a high floor. If possible request Room 17217. We had this room on the 17th floor for 6 days. It is right on the middle of the floor!! You have an excellent view of the atrium and the water. The staff at this hotel do their best to provide the best customer service. They are friendly and they do their best to make your stay enjoyable. The food choices at the hotel is limited and expensive; however, you walk out of the front door and you have lots of choices. The best steak at Bond 45! Best grilled chicken at Nando's Peri-Peri; If you have time and want some Maryland crabs, rent a car from the Hertz desk downstairs at the hotel and ask for Torrance. He is great and will help you get a car with GPS. Tip: book at Hertz online and pick-up at the hotel... it comes out cheaper. Then, drive to Annapolis to Cantler's. Cantler's is casual but serves the best and most fresh crabs in Maryland!! We also took a water taxi to Alexandria where you will find tons of restaurant choices. We particularly like the Greek restaurant: Taverna Cretekou. They serve excellent Greek food at a reasonable price. If you have time, take the 7 hour tour of Washington DC. The tour starts at the hotel. No need to take a shuttle to catch the tour. It is well worth the $84 specially if it is your first time in DC. Tour includes lunch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at National Harbor's Gaylord Hotel. The only thing I wish for this place is more amenities to justify calling itself a resort. I tried their spa facilities and was disappointed. I expected more for a property with the size of the Gaylord.

Room Tip: First of all, if you can, get a room with a balcony in a high floor. If possible request Room 17217...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A beautiful hotel. The guest rooms were spacious and well-appointed. There were plenty of places to eat and relax after meetings, both in the hotel and within an easy walk. The view of the harbor is stunning. It's a little far from the main tourist areas of D.C., which can be good for a conference but not as good for sightseeing in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Took my 15 year old son (who loves everything Christmas) to The Gaylord National Harbor between Christmas and New Years 2012. We had an atrium view room which was decorated tastefully, exceptionally clean, bedding was true to Marriott standards. The atrium was decorated festively and simply gorgeous. We were able to sit on our balcony and watch the light show at night. Room service was quick, accurate, and tasty. We also purchased tickets to ICE. Our traveling companions attended the ICE show and while they were in awe of the craftsmanship, beauty, creativity, etc. they did mention how uncomfortably cold it was. ICE would not be a good option for a person who suffers delicate health issues. The property and view of the Potomac is extraordinary. I would absolutely stay at The Gaylord again.

Room Tip: Atrium view is worth the extra money! The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great customer service, nice clean rooms and a huge Gaylord sized property for meetings and more. On site restaurants are nice offering two higer end options and a more casual option too. The thing about this property is that in my opinion its too far from DC proper. If youre coming in for business in DC this place isnt where Id stay. Dupont area would be my preference by far for accessibility to Metro, airport, all the Smithsonian and touristy options. But if you are going to be marooned then this property is a nice place to be so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Potomac River for an added special treat, especially if you are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed there with my wife for a conference at the beginning of August and had a great room, much more than we expected. Not quite the standard and size of the Florida hotel but still good. On the downside there was not much to choose from as to where to have breakfast and what there was was expensive. I would still recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.