We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Room - Service Lacking - Surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
ALGONAC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Clean Room - Service Lacking - Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a convention - in excess of $300 a night. Room was very comfortable and clean, but with two women sharing a room (due to convention budget) and taking showers every day, you would think that the soaps and shampoo would be replaced - NOT. We could take the soap not being replaced, as we had brought some of our own for the shower, but quickly ran out of shampoo and conditioner. After two days of no replacement, we had to go downstairs to put in a request. Additionally, there is a bus service that takes you into DC from the hotel. You book it through the hotel, pay there and you are off. Well, not exactly. We paid for the shuttle, but the computers were down. The attendant at the desk couldn't be bothered with a receipt and stated the bus would take our word for it - again NOT! We had to tell the driver the situation and he had to go inside to discover what was going on. That evening the computers were still not up, but a different attendant was at the desk and couldn't understand why the original attendant wouldn't give receipt. New attendant happily provided a receipt so I could board shuttle on day two while roommate attended the convention. I was disappointed at the lack of service at such an expensive hotel. I have received better service at mom & pops and at Hyatt's, Holiday Inns and Marriotts.

Room Tip: Choose room close to balcony which overlooks the atrium - nice to sit there and have a drink at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    717
    435
    230
    168
See reviews for
382
252
114
1400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for a conference in May, and I was taken aback and the beauty of the inside of the hotel! There are so many places to hang out inside the lobby that feel like patios or decks, and the areas are complete with burger joints, coffee and gift shops, lots of foliage, sunlight flooded from the glass ceiling, and even water fountains! I'd spend time hanging out inside the hotel lobby if I come back! The rooms were very nicely appointed, spotless, very spacious, and there was lots of counter space in the nicely-finished bathroom. Room service was extremely friendly, too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did a one night stay as a mini-getaway and enjoyed the hotel and Nat'l Harbor. We were "upgraded" at check in to a room with atrium view on a high floor. Nice view. Room was comfy (tho the central air alternated between warm and cold air). Large pool w/ hot tub and outside sunbathing area.
However, because this is a "resort" (we didn't see anything that we would consider a resort tho), the hotel imposes a hefty daily $18 resort fee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've stayed here twice for conferences, most recently in late July 2013. It's a nice place. It lacks the character of other Gaylord properties (as other reviewers have said, if you come here expecting the Gaylord Opryland you'll be disappointed), but I found the overall level of service and quality to be strong -- better, indeed, than on my last visit a couple of years ago, so perhaps the transition to Marriott ownership is beginning to bear fruit.

There's no doubt that this is an expensive place to stay. If you'd like to save yourself some money, make the two-block hike to CVS at your earliest convenience and stock up on in-room snacks and beverages.

A $20 gratuity at check-in scored me an upgrade to an atrium-view room on one of the upper floors. Although I was literally right next to the elevators (allowing me to go from room to conference sessions in two minutes), there was no equipment noise, and I was high enough up that the ambient noise from the lobby area was minimal. The room was well appointed -- plenty of outlets, nice fixtures, relatively new TV with unrestricted access to AV inputs (although they don't go out of their way to highlight this feature -- you have to use the button on the front of the TV, as there's nothing on the remote), very clean, etc. The mattress deserves a particular shout-out -- despite the thick pillow-top it was firm and supportive, and I slept well every night.

Restaurant-wise... the Old Hickory Steakhouse was predictably expensive, but worth it. This location, predictably, lacks the ambiance of the Opryland one, but food and service were still very good. If you're prepared to drop $100+ per person, it's worth it. Pienza, the nominally Italian breakfast/brunch restaurant on the Atrium level, is OK -- pretty standard buffet fare with attentive service and decent atmosphere, but nothing you're likely to remember weeks later. And it's expensive. Unless you're a competitive eater or prepared to linger at your table for three hours and multiple omelets, you won't get your money's worth.

The Belvedere lobby bar is a pleasant enough place to while away an evening (and a paycheck); I just wish they offered food options other than sushi. I also got to see Pose Ultra-Lounge, the rooftop bar, while it was full of people, which I'm told is pretty unusual on a weeknight. I can honestly say that it's the best hotel-based-nightclub-in-a-Washington-D.C.-suburb that I've ever attended, for what that's worth. It was a welcome opportunity to escape the hotel's otherwise-pervasive business/conference vibe: an interesting atmosphere, loud music, great view, and an opportunity to pay even more for drinks than you'd pay at the lobby bar.

Did I mention that mobile phone signals were virtually nonexistent on the hotel's habitation levels? Yeah, I had to go down to the lobby to make phone calls. I can't call this a wholly bad thing, though, as it meant my office had a hard time bothering me during the trip. Perhaps that's why it felt more like a vacation.

Room Tip: When asking the check-in clerk if there's any chance of a free upgrade to an atrium-view room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went here on a recommendation from a friend. We loved it. Our group had four adults and five kids ages 3 thru 13 in three rooms. Our rooms were spotless and hospitality was very efficient. Check in was un-eventful, which is great! We went for DC touring and the shuttle service "chariots for hire" was very efficient and friendly. We loved the pool, the dancing fountain, the coffee, the breakfasts and the gorgeous atrium. Dinner at the sports bar was kid friendly and good food. Our stay was a little pricey but for what you get and the close proximity to DC for touring and short walking distance to the stores, restaurants and attractions at national harbor, it is satisfyingly worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord while attending a business convention. The front desk staff could not have been nicer. They had room suggestions and even called our restaurant for us to advise them that we were running a bit behind schedule. The only thing that was a bit unusual was that, in a hotel of this size, there was not a restaurant opened for the full day. Since the location is Fabulous (right on the Potomac) with stores and restaurants galore within a couple of minutes walk, it did not prove to be much of a problem. Although we did not get to visit Washington, D.C we were told it was less than a 30 minute trip away. We plan on going back this fall just for a quick get-a-way.

Room Tip: Its a larger hotel than we are used to so just be aware the walk from the elevator may be longer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very nice, but please don't get it confused with the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville. You will be very disappointed if you expect the same ambiance and beauty. You can definitely expect the high prices though. All in all it is a wonderful place for going to conferences, not family vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.