We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Second trip here for a convention.
You could not ask for more friendly accommodating people working at this hotel.
Tons of choices for non hotel eating and wandering. Close to all the sights you want to see in Washington.
Gym is open 24/7
Lovely location on the river.
Rooms are well kept, I have never had a room with a decent view here but you certainly could if it was important to you, lots of rooms face the river and overlook the glassed in hotel ameneties.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    824
    473
    252
    186
See reviews for
422
281
116
1,562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel had everything! Bars, restaurants, Pastry shop, Convenience store. Checking in was easy even though it was a very busy time. Room was good. I got what I asked for. I had an amazing seventh floor room!! It was beautiful. My balcony overlooked the inside of the resort and I could look out the glass windows to the water. y favorite part was that we could walk across from the hotel and dine at some very good restaurants. Pricey but good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Big beautiful property. Rooms are average. Average size, average quality. The property is in the middle of nowhere in a newly built area that has nothing but restaurants and shops. Chain restaurants, nothing interesting. Like going on vacation in a shopping mall parking lot with a better view. A business property. The eighteen dollar resort fee covers wireless Internet which is useless (you can pay more for upgraded Internet, thanks!) and we were told that all long distance calls were covered, but upon checkout received our bill complete with hundreds of dollars in long distance fee charges. They removed the charges, but it makes me wonder how often people just don't check their bills. The onsite buffet was vile. Lunch consisted of cold cuts and slices of wonderbread type sandwich slices, and salads made from chunks of the same cold cuts. They add a gratuity to your bill but still leave a space for a tip, again - wonder who isn't paying attention. Really, I am normally quite happy with Marriott properties, but this one is very disappointing. Booking transportation to the airport was cumbersome and ridiculous, as they won't allow real taxis on their property. You have to book a service at a transportation counter and it took me over 40 minutes to get that handled. The price of my "flat rate" ride to the airport changed three times, and they use old chits, so the price on them isn't accurate, or at least that is what they told me. The highlight of this property was the housekeeping staff. Friendly, always smiling and one even sang while working and it was delightful. Getting to Washington is expensive and inconvenient. I would not choose this property for a vacation. I would hesitate before attending another conference here. I would under no circumstances spend my own money to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros--convention setting so lots of choices for dining/shopping on site or just across the street(that's the best choice). Loved the rooms, comfortable in every way and plenty spacious. Set on the harbor the gardens around offer a great place to relax and enjoy the view.
For seeing DC I suggest you use their shuttle. Frequent departure/returns with drop off/pick up at Union Station(near the Capitol or the old post office midway down the Mall. Parking in DC is a mess and the police are very willing to get you for ANY little thing, they don't give warnings to lost tourists.
Cons--nothing substantial. Check in/out may take some time as it is a convention destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord at National Harbor in late May for work conference. The hotel is part of the National Harbor that includes multiple restaurants, hotels and shops. The location is south of Washington DC and across the river from Alexandria, VA. The hotel is very clean and is similar to other Gaylord properties in Dallas and Orlando. It is great for conferences due to having everything in one place. The room is very expensive for what you get. Plus, there is $15/day resort fee tacked onto the bill which I did not get what you paid for. Things are very expensive at the property primarily food and drink. You are paying for convenience. The location is about 15-20 minute cab ride from downtown DC. That is big negative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a review from the last two times I have been here combined because I was not on Trip Advisor two years ago... This place is pricey and if my conference was not here I definately couldn't go on my own dime.. I love the views and the Atrium. It was nice to feel like I was outside but not (and thank goodness because it was 100 degrees outside!) I love fountains and flowers so I could sit in the Atrium all day. The outside grounds were nice too. Our room was fine. Clean and cozy and quiet. The shower had great pressure- always a plus. The conference center was good. We ate elsewhere due to high prices inside.
The minuses this trip were: 1)I was told they needed my card for incidentals- that I wouldn't be charged unless I authorized it. I found out when my card was denied later that they had charged it. 8 days later my card was refunded- not cool when you are travelling that $200 was all of a sudden unavailable! 2)It costs alot to head to any DC sites- and they banned taxis from picking up patrons so they would take the Gaylord provided shuttels (which were almost double in cost!) we walked a block to get a taxi. 3) There were leaks and some places in the hotel including my co-worker's room! 4) Called for extra towels because we do not get our room cleaned while we stay and they only brought me one set that did not seem as clean as our original set- stained and scratchy.
The night before we were leaving DC had a huge water main break- fortunately our flight was at 2pm the next day but I was bummed they cancelled the last day of my conference. I guess they had to worry about toilets with the number of people we had but at 10:30am before we checked out I was still able to flush mine... Jus glad I didnt have to deal with looking for another hotel like some people.

Room Tip: If you are attending a conference make sure you ask for a room on the conference side. I didnt last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful definitely up to Marriot standards. Rooms are great, large and very clean. Well equipped gym with treadmills and free weights. There sre several dining options within the property as well as the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.