We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, rooms a little dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, rooms a little dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the hustle of DC. Marriot will need to spend some bucks in the future updating the carpets and paint. Rooms are starting to look dated. Atrium is awesome, ans a great pkace for a large gathering.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    702
    434
    228
    167
See reviews for
378
250
112
1382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The stunning setting of the Gaylord National Harbor Hotel is spectacular. Nestled in the harbor on the Potomoc, it offers all of the amenities one would expect for a first class hotel. The interior of the hotel is extraordinary with its enclosed atrium. The vegetation on the grounds and within the atrium is meticulously managed and groomed. The rooms are comfortable with double sinks and great showers.
There were two disappointments: the location is out of the way for access to downtown DC, requiring a taxi to get to the train/subway and the National Pastime restaurant contained within the hotel is poor. We waited for 40 minutes to get into the restaurant even though we counted 17 empty tables. The waiter was poor, bringing food that we didn't order and then taking additional time to correct the order. In short, avoid this place to eat.
Overall, the service for the hotel was good, not exceptional. In good conscience I cannot rate it a five based upon the events. Nevertheless, the hotel as a facility is outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a view through the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Gaylord experience was not worth the money charged per night....$250 +. We stayed here while my husband attended a conference. I was appalled at the prices charged for the food and drinks. Restaurants within the hotel are very aware of the limitations imposed by a conference schedule and the prices charged for food and drink are nothing short of highway robbery.

As for the hotel and its accommodations, for this price, we have stayed at hotels with beautifully decorated rooms, wonderful amenities (e.g.. morning newspaper); not so here. The room, though basically clean had not been dusted thoroughly. Dust was evident on bathroom fixtures and on the bathroom vanity. I found a dark curly hair in our bed sheets and a lingering odor on the sheets that was not ours. The bathroom hair dryer did not work.

Another annoyance was the lack of notebook detailing the type of restaurants and their menus and other helpful information. The television version lacked information of this type as well, though it mentioned the name of restaurants and so forth.

The room onlycame with a very, very small memo pad with less than 10 sheets, so taking last minute notes was inconvenient.



I do not fault the cleaning staff; I fault the supervision and the management since I am quite sure these individuals are given an impossibly high number of rooms to get ready everyday. To their credit, the management remedied these issues quickly and efficiently though housekeeping's line was not answered and we had to wait for quite a while until the call was switched over to the front desk.

I also feel there should be check-in services such as a porter/cart at both the front and rear entrances to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay while at the conference on sight but in terms of seeing the sights of Washington, it is inconvenient. The rooms were fine but not overwhelming, though the rest of the resort is actually quite beautiful. Towels were big and fluffy, beds were very comfy, the bathroom nice and big. The ac was a bit loud to have on at night. With no free breakfast, this is not an easy place to fend for yourself unless you wish to pay the pricey fees. The very large pool was awesome and the views were terrific. Some nice music at night and fireworks too. The surrounding area is safe and lots of high end shopping or restaurants as well which did not work so well for our basic family needs. If you wish to be a tourist, there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from elevators. Since this place is so big, we really were very far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent several nights here, I am a returning guest. The service and the beauty of this space is wonderful. The rooms are immaculate, I can take my shoes off and feel ok about it! Everything you need is here, lots of entertainment, here and close by. A great choice for families, singles and couples!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Gaylord is wonderful. Located right on the water, you can enjoy a beautiful sunset, or wake up and take a jog on the trail in front of the hotel that runs along the waterfront. Our kids loved the extra extra large pool and spray park. The fountains inside are timed with music and are on for all to enjoy in the evenings. Outside there is AstroTurf for the kids to play on and run around. Down the street, just a block away is the National Harbor, full of shops and restaurants. We totally enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel lobby, restaurant and exterior is nice but the room is ok. Very friendly staff at their steak house.
It's a very nice location walking by the harbor. It will be more enjoyable during sunny season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.