We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel near DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I give this hotel a very good rating since due to the location (near DC about 15-20 minutes) and its architecture and design; it's a beautiful hotel. BUT you do pay for that (abt 250/night). We stayed for a conference/short weekday getaway from Wed-Fri. We liked the National Harbor area and really wanted to walk around more but it rained terribly on our last day. My one BIG complaint during this visit (we had been there once before abt 2 yrs ago) is the pool had a bad odor, I think you know what I mean. It is what it is, the kids still wanted to play and it was raining hard outside our last day so we just dealt with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    771
    456
    242
    176
See reviews for
397
273
114
1,492
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord for a business trip and truly enjoyed my experience. The hotel offered an upgrade for $30.00 a night which I declined. I didn't expect the great view of the interior hotel and balcolny or the Potomac, however I was not expecting my view to be of rocks on the roof...with that said...that was the only disappointment. I had a minor issue in my room and Ms. Caroline sent someone to immediately rectify the situation and gave me a small credit for my inconvenience - which I did not expect but it was appreciated. Everyone I came in contact with from the front desk to Bell Service to the restaurant staff, everyone was friendly and nice. I would especially like to thank Ms. Caroline and Martel who was especially nice and provided excellent service during my stay. The fitness room and pool was clean and spacious. We ate at all of the restaurants within the hotel Pienza, National Pastime, and Old Hickory Steakhouse and was not disappointed. Old Hickory Steakhouse...a little pricey but the food and service was great. Point of information...bring your own snacks and/or beverages because these are very costly inside the hotel or you can walk up the street to CSV. Don't forget to take advantage of the coupons that the front desk provides upon check-in. The area in National Harbor is quant with different shops and numerous restaurants to choose from. Don't forget to take a trip to Old Town Alexandria by way of the water taxi across the Potomac.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A colleague awoke to find he'd been sleeping in a puddle of urine from the previous occupant! I had no hair dryer and the iron had scorching that left black marks on my clothes. The hallway smelled of something burned (all week!) I arrived at 6:30pm to find the only 2 dinner choices are the steakhouse or the sports bar. The simple cobb salad at the sports bar was awful and the iced tea tasted like sludge. They added a seperate charge to my Amex for my meal 2 days after my departure date, duplicating the charge from the overall bill. When I called their office to resolve, they don't open until 11am!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord as it was hosting our daughter's college graduation. Had it not been for that we most likely would have opted for one of the other hotels in National Harbor, and there are quite a few to choose from.

We are so glad that we stayed at the Gaylord, and if you try it you will be too.

This is one fantastic hotel from its size, to the dining options, but most importantly, the friendly staff.

A couple of tips: If you do go, try to be there for the Saturday night to see the fire works! And, take the water taxi across the Potomac River to Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My company recently held our National Convention at the Gaylord National Resort. To be fair, the facility is beautiful and our room was very nice.

The hotel catered our event and the food was awful! Frankly, the only thing decent that they served over the course of our four day stay were Hot Dogs. For a hotel of this caliber, that is sad. There were hundreds of people at my Convention and the poor food quality was a constant topic of discussion. According to our Organizers, we were being charged $41 per person for Breakfast. I was outraged to learn this.

On a parting note, the coffee they served was great! At $175 per gallon, it should be.

Convention Organizers beware.

Room Tip: The Atrium view rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Huge rip-off. I stayed here for business and I was charged a $15 "resort" fee every night for what amounts to 2 bottles of Wal-Mart style bottled water and internet fees. This was on top of $247 nightly fee, $22 for parking, and about $38 in taxes.

The room wasn't nearly as nice as what you get in a Hampton Inn for 1/3 the price. You don't get breakfast here, and the restaurant food available in the "resort" was so overpriced that I actually laughed out loud.

Oh yeah, the beds were quite uncomfortable, and it was impossible to work in the so-called "desk chair".

The whole National Harbor area just seemed fake and sterile to me. I'll definitely avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Like a lot of people, I wound up here as I was attending an industry function. After all, if you are on vacation, you'll want to stay closer to central Washington DC itself.

I spent four nights here. The room was clean, the bed comfy. But for $247/night plus tax it was lacking. A cheap in-room coffee maker with lousy coffee. No mini-bar. So-so TV.

The larger facility is nice, but you feel like you are in Disneyland. Lots or glitz, but little substance. In general, the food was very lacking from the hotel and the various restaurants on the site.

The conference facilities are very good. Lots of big rooms.

There are a few restaurants across the street from the Gaylord, but those tend to be large chains as well.

In summary, not a terrible conference experience, but not memorable either. But if it is on your own nickel, find some other place to stay for a better Washington DC-area experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.