We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and hot dogs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great coffee and hot dogs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My company recently held our National Convention at the Gaylord National Resort. To be fair, the facility is beautiful and our room was very nice.

The hotel catered our event and the food was awful! Frankly, the only thing decent that they served over the course of our four day stay were Hot Dogs. For a hotel of this caliber, that is sad. There were hundreds of people at my Convention and the poor food quality was a constant topic of discussion. According to our Organizers, we were being charged $41 per person for Breakfast. I was outraged to learn this.

On a parting note, the coffee they served was great! At $175 per gallon, it should be.

Convention Organizers beware.

Room Tip: The Atrium view rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    755
    448
    239
    172
See reviews for
395
267
114
1,465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Huge rip-off. I stayed here for business and I was charged a $15 "resort" fee every night for what amounts to 2 bottles of Wal-Mart style bottled water and internet fees. This was on top of $247 nightly fee, $22 for parking, and about $38 in taxes.

The room wasn't nearly as nice as what you get in a Hampton Inn for 1/3 the price. You don't get breakfast here, and the restaurant food available in the "resort" was so overpriced that I actually laughed out loud.

Oh yeah, the beds were quite uncomfortable, and it was impossible to work in the so-called "desk chair".

The whole National Harbor area just seemed fake and sterile to me. I'll definitely avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Like a lot of people, I wound up here as I was attending an industry function. After all, if you are on vacation, you'll want to stay closer to central Washington DC itself.

I spent four nights here. The room was clean, the bed comfy. But for $247/night plus tax it was lacking. A cheap in-room coffee maker with lousy coffee. No mini-bar. So-so TV.

The larger facility is nice, but you feel like you are in Disneyland. Lots or glitz, but little substance. In general, the food was very lacking from the hotel and the various restaurants on the site.

The conference facilities are very good. Lots of big rooms.

There are a few restaurants across the street from the Gaylord, but those tend to be large chains as well.

In summary, not a terrible conference experience, but not memorable either. But if it is on your own nickel, find some other place to stay for a better Washington DC-area experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend was attending a business meeting at the Gaylord, and she invited me to spend the weekend in DC with her. I had previously been to National Harbor to walk around and I had dined at the sports bar at the Gaylord. I have also previously stayed at the Gaylord Texan (DFW/Grapevine) and Opryland (Nashville) resorts, which were very good experiences, These left me anticipating a really lavish, luxurious experience at National Harbor. To be certain, the only thing that was luxurious were the prices, and this turned out to be a very disappointing experience that did not live up to the otherwise solid Gaylord brand.

The room was nothing special - a typically 3-star type room, with a shockingly small supply of hangers in the closet, a TV that required two visits by maintenance to get to work consistently, a very strange, cumbersome system for ordering room service, and hallways that reminded me of the hotel in "The Shining". And these were the good attributes! Couple this with a very inconvenient and isolated location, and you have the perfect formula for a captive audience and limited incentive to wow the customer. This translated into the quality of the restaurants (meh!), the cattle-drive type feeling whenever we were in the lobby or ballroom areas, and of course, the underwhelming presentation and utility of the rooms.

Experiencing this disappointment at a Marriott Group-owned hotel, in DC, the hub of Marriott's business was a shock, and I cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was here for a medical software conference at the end of May. As with the two other Gaylord Convention Centers I have stayed at (Nashville and Grapevine, Texas), it was an excellent and well-appointed location for a convention - good service, food, and amenities.More great shops and restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is very large. Like a Vegas style hotel 2,000+ rooms. Be prepared to walk. It's in National Harbor -- a manufactured 'town' south of DC on the river. Beautiful location. Town has no character and is just touristy shops and restaurants. Not connected to the Metro or an convenient transit.

Perfect if you are attending a conference, but there is a daily 'resort' fee for fitness center, pool, internet and two bottles of water.

22% service charge for room service. And they ask for tip on top of that. Yeah, right.

And whatever company they contract to provide flat rate car service to the airports is awful.

I left at 1:30 PM to BWI for a flight at 4. The first car TOOK ME BACK to the hotel because I only had credit card and he wanted CASH. This was after I told the doorman I needed a car that took credit. They then put me in a second car. This car made it out to the freeway and then had a flat tire. Took an HOUR to change it (huge chevy suburban, small driver) -- THEN THE CAR WOULDN'T START. I had to ask the driver to send a third car -- which didn't show up. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!? We had to wait for road service to give us a jump.

I would never EVER use the hotel car service again. Absolutely unacceptable. If we hadn't been grounded anyway due to a TORNADO, I would have missed my flight and my connection for an international flight.

UNACCEPTABLE.

Room Tip: They offer 50% discounts on 'courtyard' rooms. I personally don't think it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is huge, like a Vegas hotel, just without the casinos. The rooms are adequate, clean and reasonably priced. The location is outside of DC, not within walking distance. More of a convention hotel than a tourist hotel. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;