We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works well as a conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Works well as a conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently attended a 4 day conference at the Gaylord. This was my third stay for meetings.

Check-in was smooth. Be sure to get your Marriott points! The hotel itself is sprawling. If you carry your own luggage, keep in mind you'll be walking much more than at the usual hotel.

My room was clean and nicely decorated in a traditional style. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious and nice.

The grounds and public spaces are very nice. No time for the pool and recreation, though it seems very attractive. All the food I ate was conference food and I have to say -- compared with most conference hotel experience, they did a creative job of offering very tasty food. Kudos on that unique achievement!

I did run into a two issues that pointed out the foibles of being such a big property. My room was missing an iron. I called and requested one from housekeeping. They told me they would bring one when they cleaned the room. They didn't. I called again and this time was told they had "too many broken irons and needed to order some." Needing an iron before a forma event, I went and found someone in housekeeping who hunted down an iron for me. He did solve my issue but it took real persistence on my part.

My other issue was a special request I had made a check-in to split my nights between two bills. Turns out they charged me twice. At first the person at the front desk insisted they had not charged me twice. I asked for the manager who, indeed, found the issue and reversed the double charge.

So bottom line, this place works well when everything is on autopilot. Any special request -- a missing iron, a split bill -- caused confusion and took work to get it figured out.

If you have a conference there or especially want to stay at National Harbor, it's a good choice. Just not need to go out of your way if you're just visiting DC. There are much better options there.

Let me know if this review was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    818
    473
    251
    186
See reviews for
418
281
115
1,560
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Attended a 4 day company event. Very impressed with the efficiency of the staff at feeding (plated lunches and dinners) for close to 1,000 people. Breakfast was a buffet line(s) with servers at the tables to handle coffee, juices etc... again - food quality was excellent and service outstanding. Conference facilities were first class. Work out area is as large as some gyms - well-appointed with very nice equipment, treadmills, stair climbers, ellipticals, stationary bikes and an entire free weight area along with machines. Nicely done. Rooms are ok - shower was very nice. Price is out of sight. I would not stay here on a personal trip from the expense stand point. The harbor view is nice enough. The interior has three tiers one of which is a water show with "jumping streams of water" set to music - which is entertaining the first couple of times you hear it - after that - particularly since it goes on up until 9:30 or 10 pm - gets to be a bit much - as it is quite loud. The rooms on the interior have balconies that open up into the interior (think embassy suites) which is fun - but the music is quite loud. Outdoor "running trail" is a complete hassle to get to and as such I would not recommend using unless you want to go on quite the treasure hunt for access. Enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar of the steak house. Wonderful selection but expect to pay a premium. Check in was slow and they really could have cared less that I was Platinum - so from that standpoint don't expect much as related to a high end Marriott property - they are truly a conference center. If I was a meeting planner I would give it strong consideration. If I was making a recommendation to a friend - I would have to ask them why they would want to stay there - as it doesn't seem very close to much and as far as a "stay on the property and never leave" type facility - it is rather sterile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We sent a week at the Gaylord National Harbor. The hotel rooms were clean and nice. We had an inside room. The atrium and grounds are fabulous. The area around the resort is new and there are many excellent places to eat and shops to explore.

There is a 20 minute bus ride to connect with the DC metro and cab/limo services are expensive. Transportation is the only problem.

Room Tip: The NH1 bus is a couple of blocks from the hotel and connects to the DC Metro at the Branch Ave metr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's so large that it would be helpful to have a map to find anything. (The Gaylor in Nashville is even more difficult to get around.) Check in was very well done.The room was well appointed although not that large. I would prefer a door from the room to the bathroom sink. The light and noise makes it difficult if someone wants to sleep. Cleanliness was superb. I would never pay that kind of money - it was a business conference. The conference center has everything. Excellent!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a good view. The rooms overlooking the inner courtyard is more pleasant - alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Attended a conference here (didn't stay here, hotel was sold out) - beautiful, spacious, well-appointed conference hotel. Pretty good food considering the 2k+ attendees. The service and event staff were all extremely friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Attended a conference here. Staff were very friendly and helpful at check in. Room service staff also friendly. The steakhouse has very good food and service. Room was clean and comfortable. Quiet location on the Potomac River. Not close to a metro station so requires public transportation or taxi to go into DC.

Room Tip: Ask for an atrium room for a balcony that opens into the 19 story atrium and a view of the Potomac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

would not stay at the Gaylord only because it is not convenient. I was at a conference and granted my room was spacious and clean. But it was nondescript and I ordered a side car in the bar - it was $19.62. I would have packed a bottle of cognac and Cointreau if I had known. The hotel faces the harbor and that entire wall is covered in glass - it is basically a mammoth atrium and it is quite impressive. The Gaylord National is a small city. Coffee shop, sports bar, nightclub, two restaurants - both rather upscale, women's clothing boutique and more. So I cannot give this hotel a poor review. I suppose it is beautiful for what it is. Service was
impeccable - but I like small hotels that are intimate and charming. The Gaylord is not that. And if you are there specifically to visit DC, it is not situated in the correct location. It is across the Potomac from Alexandria and my friend paid $20 for cab fare just to cross the river. I have friends who would love the Gaylord....and maybe you will too. Just not my style.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.