We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Dunlap, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Gaylord National is not as big as Gaylord Nashville. The atrium is smaller and there are fewer shops and restaurants. I stayed three night for a conference and found the hotel to be modern and clean. This is a resort so expect a fee of $15 extra dollars. This hotel is not near to DC and the closest subway is about four miles. We took the taxi from Reagan National Airport and the fare was around $36 plus tip. There is also a shuttle that runs ever 20 minutes that costs $18/person. We ate at the National Pastime sports bar/restaurant...hamburger, fries and drink were around $20. The other food options include a buffet for around $20, the Old Hickory which is very pricey and a sandwich shop. There are many restaurants across the street. The restaurants are moderate to expensive. A McDonald's and Subway have just opened about three blocks away. There is also a CVS and a food market nearby. We ate twice at the Rosa Mexicano restaurant which had wonderful food and the best sangria that I have ever had. The Potbelly restaurant was great for lunch...good sandwiches and salads. We took the three hour Night Tour of DC offered by the hotel for $49 a person. The tour was great and our guide knowledgable and entertaining. There is a water taxi to Alexandria for about $16 round trip. It was good for a business trip but would not be economical for me to take my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    717
    435
    230
    168
See reviews for
382
252
114
1400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Check-in took an inordinate amount of time. We stayed two nights and the room was not cleaned once in spite of it being vacant most of the morning and afternoon. The bar was being renovated so all drinks were in plastic cups. This was ridiculous. I assume the glasses weren’t being renovated. It was just easier to serve drinks in plastic rather than carry clean and dirty glasses from one place to another. We were completely turned off by this and only had one drink at the bar. I mistakenly asked the information desk a question I should have asked the concierge and the girl behind the desk seems incredibly inconvenienced. Overall, this is not a destination hotel. I don’t mind paying for service, but the prices here are disproportional to the level of service and location. Defiantly designed to screw the conference crowd. There isn’t much to do at the national Harbor and the service in general everywhere is lackluster. I assume this is a popular conference destination because it’s a large venue with a multitude of conference space. Fortunately for us, one night was free and the other at a great rate. I would never pay full price to stay here and most likely would not return considering Old Town Alexandria is across the river and much nicer. After all the MD taxes are added on to the final total, I nearly passed out. It’s ridiculous. The National Harbor needs a casino bad if its going to survive. It’s the type of place you only visit once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Alexandria across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Gaylord National in Maryland sits on the Potomac River. The place is breathtaking, especially at sunset! I went there for a convention and while there we were hit with a hurricane.
Since there were about 1000 people there for the convention, the hotel went above and beyond any expectation for making arrangements in advance of the storm. Even though part of the hotel lost power, no one was without a room to move to with power!
The hotel is like a city within itself - there are restaurants, shopping, etc. It is centrally located and can walk to area restaurants and stores also.
I would highly recommend the Gaylord National to anyone who was to visit the area.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Potomac are breathtaking, but you won't be disappointed in the Gaylord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

There was a great deal of activity in the loby, but our check in was very fast. The room had a great view of the Potomac river and was spotless. The huge atrium is most impressive and fun. The surrounding area had many restaurants and bars, wish we had more time to wonder around and explore.

Room Tip: River view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a fairly typical convention hotel, with one very strong plus and one minus. The plus is that every single person on the staff was pleasant, friendly and where they could very helpful. This includes the banquet servers, who are usually not the warmest group around. The one downside of the place is that it is huge, and it took a long time to get from the elevators to my room. Enough so that I determined to only make the trip when I really needed to.

Room Tip: Check floor maps to get one nearer to an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Super quick check-in. Great lobby area. Water show in the evening which the kids loved. National Harbor itself was very nice but we still felt restaurants were a bit lacking. You have to take a cab ride info the city (about $35 one way) or purchase a ride on their shuttle for a little more. We found we prefer staying in the city where the Metro is accessible and we don't feel as isolated. Room was very nice and comfortable. Quiet, comfy beds. Was offered an upgrade upon arriving to a room with a balcony that overlooked the atrium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is a huge hotel and conference center. I stayed two nights for a conference while three other were happening simultaneously. Despite that I had no delays at any time, including reception, restaurant, bar, bell service or transportation. The hotel is very beautiful and located in a outstanding location, a little bit far from typical point of interests in Washington but only 8 miles far from Reagan airport and a couple of minutes from old town of Alexandria. The room was very good as any other hotels at same level and pool and fitness center is very good and well equipped. Finally they provide free Internet with good quality for emails and web access.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.