We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A desination in itself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A desination in itself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for the North East Qualifier volleyball weekend. Massive hotel and property. Beautiful views of the water. Love the Atrium with the trees and flowers. The lobby is quite large with plenty of comfortable seating - grab a book & drink and just relax....

The room was a normal size hotel room with comfortable beds which aided a good nights rest. Our room had 2 queen beds that looked out on a raised lawn area. The room had the usual mini-fridge, microwave and coffeepot. Bathroom had the sink & vanity mirror in the first half of the bathroom with the toilet and shower behind the door for the second half. Spacious closet. Rooms were beautifully decorated.

The conference center is within the property just a short ride down the elevator or escalator. Free wifi was accessible in the hotel and the conference center although it didn't seem very fast (Facebook wouldn't update).

After the morning volleyball game ended, the dads rushed over to the sports bar & restaurant in the atrium to catch the second half of the NCAA Women's basketball game (University of Delaware vs U of Kentucky). Go Blue Hens!! This place is big and easily held the large UD fans. Comfortable chairs (even the high tops) lent themselves to a cheering good time although UD lost by only 7 points. I had a $8 beer but it was big and so cold... it hit the spot!

Unfortunately, we didn't get an opportunity to hit the pool, spa, or fitness room. However, we did take a walk around the local area. Keep in mind, the National Harbor area is a business community all on its own. There are a few other hotels, PLENTY of parking garages, restaurants, piano bar, and shopping all within just a few "city" walking distance blocks.

We caught the water taxi over to Alexandria for $16 round trip. Old Town Alexandria is a great place to walk around. They even had a free bus that goes up and down King Street. The Gaylord and surrounding area looks wonderful, almost magical, when the lights are on and viewed from the water. There are other water cruises from the same dock to view the various DC monuments.

This is a bit pricey but a nice adventure. Enjoy the summer weather and sit outside while you dine. The Gaylord National is a destination all in itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a Atrium balcony. This will provide a pleasant view when sitting out on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    751
    447
    239
    170
See reviews for
394
266
114
1457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord for one night as a last minute add-on to our DC Spring Break trip. We managed to score a great rate on the Marriott website and was upgraded to a beautiful King room, Atrium view and balcony upon check-in. The view was phenomenal. The atrium was very noisy and this hotel is BIG so understand that this is not a cozy place. The atrium was even noisy late into the evening as there was a volleyball tournament in town and there were 100's of kids everywhere. But we closed the doors and curtains and had no problem falling asleep.


You can self-park here which means you do have access to your car if you need it - which we didn't for our short stay ... but at least you could run out to your car for something left behind, if needed.

Oh very important! The elevator banks are SLOW. With our Atrium upgrade we were put on the 2nd floor which I was initially upset about - but then quickly realized that all we had to do was use the escalator to get around - any unlucky person on the higher floors would have to wait an eternity to get anywhere. Ask for a low floor (on 2 if possible)

I thought the service at the Gaylord was awesome, the upgrade was nice and when I couldn't get directions off my IPad (the "complimentary WIFI is a joke).... they were nice enough to print directions for me.

The room was clean and well appointed - large enough for us - and really luxurious bathroom.


We had dinner at the sports bar, prices were average and service was good considering how big the place is and how many people were dining.

My daughter used the pool for about 45 minutes and there was some " health issue" that closed the pool down - which was sad but the staff said their only concern was the safety of the guests.

The Atrium and its shops are beautiful and fun to walk through.

The real gem is the National Harbor area where the hotel is located. There are great shops, restaurants and fun stuff to see. The views were stunning. I wish I lived there!

We hope to go back and will consider this hotel again if we can get that rate again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the lowest floor possible to avoid the elevators - and if you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent the Easter Weekend at the Gaylord

From checking in and out the process was great. The rooms are clean and fresh.

Easter Brunch was to die for. If you visit or live in the DC area. Stay for a few days to experience class

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel to spend a day at with points saver. Since this hotel just became a Marriott property, they are still working on what they can do extra for their platinum rewards members.

They did upgrade my room to an atrium view. The resort fee is lowered for platinum members but you have to ask.

Should at least give breakfast since there is no lounge.

But I do have to say that the management at this property was great. I mentioned my daughter's birthday and they sent up a surprise.

THANK YOU GAYLORD!!

Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed there 3/13 for a 3 nights for a conference. The hotel was fabulous and the staff was exceptional,, The room very clean, with a few minor issues. Light bulb burned out an not replaced,, very strange squeaky beds.
I had an atrium room with balcony and loved it,
The fountain was wonderful to watch as it put on a light and music show, and the live quartet below (with a fabulous female singer) in the atrium was lovely to listen to in evening.

Room Tip: the atrium is a $50 nightly upcharge, but I do believe was worth it,, I was on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful location and nice hotel for a conference but I would not choose it to stay at otherwise.My room looked out over a car park and so did those of every other conference attendee; I suppose they save the ones with a view for business or vacation travelers....Distance to my room from the lobby was an exercise event in itself and at checkout I waited more than 10 minutes for an elevator- it was 11am which is checkout time but this seemed ridiculous. Room itself was OK, very comfortable bed, clean, well decorated and well stocked (coffee maker, hairdryer etc) but the TV was temperamental . Also dont like hotel rooms without a tub though the shower was nice. Common space in the glass atrium was warm and inviting but the things in the gift shop are outrageously overpriced...think $5.99 for a magnum icecream on a stick. Easy to walk in the shop/restaurant area but not that many shops and again very pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A short drive from DE for a quick get away to start our Spring Break... originally we were going to NYC but illness hit one of our children and we thought something more relaxing and less of a hectic pace was a better choice, so we landed here. All five of us (our three children 11, 15, 18) had a perfect time. Everyone was very nice, the hotel is exquisite and as relaxing as you want it to be. After checking in, we walked around National Harbor. It added to the trip! Great shops meeting everyones tastes. After we went to the pool and then ate at National Pastime. The meal was great and our waitress couldn't have been nicer! We also had breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed the buffet as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.