We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Business Traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Louisiana
1 review
“Great for the Business Traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Gaylord is an excellent facility for the business traveller or convention goer who needs to remain focused on the business at hand. Everything you need is located under one roof to shield you from the elements or just a short walk around the National Harbor area. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, but all the rooms do not have an appealing view. I had a room facing a brick wall which could have been changed by selecting another room rate category. The room I was assigned had a toilet that was more child friendly (too low). The Gaylord National has a fee shuttle service available to Union Station throughout the day with reasonable travel times for one wishing to sitesee around Capitol Hill/National Mall. If you arrive at BWI (Baltimore), be prepared to pay for a costly ride to the Gaylord National.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    817
    473
    251
    185
See reviews for
418
281
115
1,559
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed nearby, and went there for breakfast. It was OK, nothing special, but the real kicker is that we got socked with a $25 self parking fee for an hour and 15 minutes. No Posted Rates. What a total rip off, and when my husband went back in to complain, they said they couldn't do anything about it. The security /gate person said if we had Asked at the restaurant, they would have given a 4 hour validation. Who knew. Management should be so ashamed scamming restaurant guests...A Very poor policy. We'll never will go back there. Never. I'd recommend anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After having experienced the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville, TN I expected the same grand layout/design for this hotel as well. I'll admit, I was disappointed when I initially arrived and saw how much smaller this hotel was to the the one in Nashville. To be fair though, it was still relatively large in comparison to any other hotel in the area. The hotel lobby was absolutely beautiful with red carpet and decorations set out for Christmas. The staff was very friendly and attentive upon our arrival, and informed us that there would be a celebratory lighting of the Christmas tree in the main plaza later that evening. (I wound up missing the lighting, but came back to see the lights still on. It was gorgeous!) The shops inside were a bit disappointing in comparison to Gaylord's Nashville property, but overall the stay was nice, the beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I came in early this morning for a convention here and was pleasantly surprised. From the moment my car door was opened by a doorman I've excellent customer service, outstanding enough for me to want to write this review before I forget to. Everyone from check-in to room service to housekeeping was exceptionally friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile. I was given an early check-in which was great since I came in on a red eye. It's a rarity these days to have most, or in this case, EVERY employee so friendly and professional.
The room was nice, clean and the bed was comfortable (and I am quite sensitive with beds). The room amenities were standard. The deluxe atrium room faces the massive window for a full view of the Potomac. There is a small fridge and safe.
Room service was prompt, correct and delicious (try the crab cake appetizer)!
I plan to try their spa tomorrow so will write a separate review soon.
Wi fi was free and the speed was adequate for watching videos even without upgrading. So far the rooms used for the sessions I have attended have been excellent, however I am only attend about 2 conferences a year and don't have much to comment on regarding these big rooms. There are several restaurants, a coffee place, a few shops and (I think) 2 lounge/bars here so you don't have to leave the resort if you are too tired, which is good when your time is limited like mine has been. Within walking distance there are also many more places to eat and shop. There's a lot about the hotel and National Harbor that you can find online but I just wanted to say that the service is outstanding. The facilities are beautiful, it is very clean and the atrium view is impressive. The rooms are fine- on par with a basic Marriott hotel but not as nice as a Renaissance or JW room. The are above average compared with other conferences I've been to like Crowne Plaza and some Intercontinetal. If you're coming here, it's probably not to stay in the room so I do recommend staying here or if there's a meeting you have an opportunity to attend- come visit! Its worth it to check out the novel National Harbor. Was dreading coming to this conference but now really glad I came and wish i had more time to explore this area. Definitely one of my best conference hotel experiences because there's much more to enjoy! And even if youre bored to tears by your meetings, the views and the "feel" of this resort just makes you feel happy. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This property is huge and located in National Harbor which means access to shopping and restaurants right on the water. Helpful staff (esp. houskeeping/maintenance) and comfy rooms. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Yes, yes...I know. I used the "C-word" and you're offended. Well, you figure out how to re-title it yourself while I concentrate on the review.

Nice hotel, immense hotel, beautifully decorated for the season. We brought our daughter here two years in a row to enjoy the Christmas season. Stayed over in the hotel. Mind you, we live in Maryland an hour or so away. We could just as easily just drove over for the day.

Very nice room, pricey- but you can get a deal on it. Warning- bring lot's of snacks if you travel with the kids. As the food here, even in the convenience store, is expensive.

A ton of things to do in the area, stores, the annual "ICE" show in Winter. Walking around.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the atrium are pricey but would be worth it in the winter time when they light the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for business for two nights. The hotel is very pretty with some ammenties. However, the two nights were not a value for $500.00
The conference accommodations were good.

My business group of 10 ate at the sports bar restaurant. We all ordered together, nothing out of the ordinary: sandwiches, salads, etc. 8 meals came at one time. The other two: a salad and a chicken sandwich still were not out :15 late. A manager checked and :10 later the last two meals came out. The other 8 were finished and were held up by us. There were no apologies, no accommodations.
The icea teas here were 2.75-way too much money.

Overall outrageous food/bar prices and mediocre service. Food was acceptable.
House wines for $11-too much money.

It is possible that you could park at the Fleet St. parking garage, at half the cost and you may be closer to the hotel front entrance than hotel parking for $22.
Double the price to park-I don’t like to feel ripped off!

The room was spacious and overall very nice. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner.

Overall the National Harbor area was not anything great. I won’t be returning here any time soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.