We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for convention or getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Gaylord Hotels
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
new york city
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for convention or getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in Dec. Entire hotel beautifully decorated for holidays. Stayed in a room with balcony overlooking huge indoor atrium. Room very spacious and very well sound proofed . Housekeeping provides 2 bottles of water each day. They had several restaurants. Ate at the breakfast and lunch buffets. Both were good. There is a quick service open for breakfast and lunch. There is a large gym, large indoor pool and hot tub.for he holidays they had light shoes with indoor snow, caroling etc. For a fee there was gingerbread decorating, photos with santa and a small train ride. There was also an Indoor dreamworks ice experience we didn't attend but heard was very nice. There are a number of restaurants and shops all within walking distance..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    659
    407
    223
    163
See reviews for
367
240
110
1301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First I must say that I have never actually stayed at this hotel.

But as a resident of the nearby MD suburbs I've visited the hotel many times since it's opened for conferences and holiday events. As described by everyone and as is standard for the chain, the hotel itself is impressive and quite lovely. It is breathtaking during the holiday season. We attended a conference there and were impressed with the conference facilities including the helpfulness of the staff nearby. Valet parking is very expensive but the valet staff was superb.

Quite a few restaurants in the area and several other hotels to consider for your stay. Since we have small kids, the new National Children's Museum which just opened this past December is a big attraction for us and we will likely continue to visit the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Let me start with the positive:) If you are here for a convention that you don't have to pay for, then I think that this could be a great hotel. It is massive and the lobby/atrium area is impressive looking. The area of Oxon Hill is very contrived, but there are shops and restaurants to go to. It reminded me of Downtown Disney (but not as fun and more expensive!).

The negatives for us:
- Zero customer service: we asked for a wine opener, as we had forgotten to bring one, but had a bottle of wine to enjoy after the kids went to sleep. We were told that there would be a $10 room service charge to borrow wine opener and wine glasses. We said no, we just needed the wine opener (we were OK with using the regular glasses provided in the room). They said they would be right up. 3 calls and and hour later, no one came. We finally called back and said that we were going to sleep, so don't send it up. 5 minutes later there is a knock on the door...room service with the wine opener, 2 glasses, and a bill for $10! We declined, but the $10 was still on our bill (even though we did not sign the receipt). I have never been in a "full service" hotel that offered such terrible customer service.

- The area is far from the city of D.C., and there just isn't enough to keep us entertained in Oxon Hill. You can't even grab a cup of coffee except at the ridiculous hotel prices for horrible coffee.

- Everything is VERY overpriced. We decided try all of the holiday events (ICE show, gingerbread houses, etc). While they were OK as attractions, they were nowhere near worth the cost.

- The people who work at the hotel are not helpful or friendly at all. I think that most looked frazzled and annoyed, as the hotel was very crowded because of all of the holiday events that are held there.

I would definitely not stay at this hotel again. If I had to go to Oxon Hill, there is a Residence Inn directly across (and tons of other hotels & everything is close by). I would stay at another hotel for sure.

Luckily we used 2 free Marriott certificates...it would have been so much worse if we had actually paid to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Second stay at Gaylord National. Work brings me there but, always a pleasure to be there! A first rate conference resort. Well appointed yet reasonable. Food, staff, fitness center, all very professional servers and attendants seem happy to be working at such a great place.

Room Tip: The Atrium rooms have such a great atmosphere as you open your inner doors up to the sky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel for convention facilities but a long way out of Washington for the tourist sights and poor public transport to get there.The hotel is huge and has impressive facilities but is very expensive for rooms and restaurants if you are not there on company business. There are a lot of eating places directly in front of the hotel and you can eat there a lot cheaper than the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was fantastic for the first stop on a get-away adventure over Valentine's Day. The experience my wife and I had was very positive and memorable. We would not hesitate to return again. There were no flaws in our stay. The resort is impressive. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view of the atrium. The service was top-notch throughout our stay and best of all was not overbearing or intrusive. There is a lot to do and everything is very conveniently located. We did a little shopping, checked out the large pool, had dinner and drinks, enjoyed the fountain show and had a great evening. The room was very dark and quiet. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at all the Gaylord hotels at least four times each,yet I only have problem with this location only. The problem is the front staff. The issue is the upsale and billing. First time we stayed here, the front desk advised us, if we wanted a connecting room we have to upgrade our rooms to rooms which is facing in. When you have kids with you, you pay the extra $40 dollars per room. Last month we had comvention again, they tried to upgrade our room, but this time we refuesed....and guess what the regular room are connecting as well. We saved $400. But wait, we got charged for valet parking on both rooms and self parking on one room. We came with one car only. If my husband did not check the invoice, they would have gotten away with this. We advised our friends as well, they checked their invoices and they had issues as well ie resort fee charged twice, wrong bar bills charged to the room etc. It seems all the staff is new and on commisssion. We are glad next year our convention is in nashville, hopefully, we don't have to come back here. THe rooms and the hallways are not cleaned properly, we found bunch of gummy bears at the corner beside the bed and the hallways were never vaccumed...there was a peice of paper on the carpet in the hallway, we saw it as we checked in and the same paper was still there when we checked out. The room service food was left outside for 2 days before someone removed it, most probably it was a guest because it really smelled bad...

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for upgrades and choose a room close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel
Gaylord National Oxon Hill
Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list