We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Hotel poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel for convention facilities but a long way out of Washington for the tourist sights and poor public transport to get there.The hotel is huge and has impressive facilities but is very expensive for rooms and restaurants if you are not there on company business. There are a lot of eating places directly in front of the hotel and you can eat there a lot cheaper than the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    772
    732
    443
    235
    169
See reviews for
388
257
114
1431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was fantastic for the first stop on a get-away adventure over Valentine's Day. The experience my wife and I had was very positive and memorable. We would not hesitate to return again. There were no flaws in our stay. The resort is impressive. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view of the atrium. The service was top-notch throughout our stay and best of all was not overbearing or intrusive. There is a lot to do and everything is very conveniently located. We did a little shopping, checked out the large pool, had dinner and drinks, enjoyed the fountain show and had a great evening. The room was very dark and quiet. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at all the Gaylord hotels at least four times each,yet I only have problem with this location only. The problem is the front staff. The issue is the upsale and billing. First time we stayed here, the front desk advised us, if we wanted a connecting room we have to upgrade our rooms to rooms which is facing in. When you have kids with you, you pay the extra $40 dollars per room. Last month we had comvention again, they tried to upgrade our room, but this time we refuesed....and guess what the regular room are connecting as well. We saved $400. But wait, we got charged for valet parking on both rooms and self parking on one room. We came with one car only. If my husband did not check the invoice, they would have gotten away with this. We advised our friends as well, they checked their invoices and they had issues as well ie resort fee charged twice, wrong bar bills charged to the room etc. It seems all the staff is new and on commisssion. We are glad next year our convention is in nashville, hopefully, we don't have to come back here. THe rooms and the hallways are not cleaned properly, we found bunch of gummy bears at the corner beside the bed and the hallways were never vaccumed...there was a peice of paper on the carpet in the hallway, we saw it as we checked in and the same paper was still there when we checked out. The room service food was left outside for 2 days before someone removed it, most probably it was a guest because it really smelled bad...

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for upgrades and choose a room close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'll start by saying I can see why event planners and business travelers would give this place high marks.

As a guest who had to fork out my own shells on this overpriced gem, I have a very different opinion though. Having paid what seemed like an exorbitant nightly rate, I came in expecting to find the height of extravagance and convenience. Was literally shocked to immediately notice our "deluxe" room had no mini-fridge, and few other conveniences you'd hope for. Surprised too, finding discarded candy on the floor between the beds, and one of our complimentary coffee packs missing (yes, we paid for more the next morning downstairs).

Food at the hotel was overpriced (goes w/o saying) and not very good, with pretty limited selection.

Room Tip: I'd stay at a neighboring hotel, enjoy the free breakfast, and then walk across the pretty stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord National Resort for a meeting and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were excellent. The room was clean and quiet. There are also a lot of nice restaurants within walking distance. They also provide free shuttle service to downtown Washington, Dc. I would recommend this place. I do regret not being able to visit the family area located in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Gaylord for a work conference and stayed from Sunday-Thursday in February. It was a very enjoyable experience. I've been to many conferences and this center was not as immense and was easier to access from the hotel than many others. The conference halls in the convention were typical but it provided enough space and seemed cozier and easier to navigate. It was really nice to not have to get dressed for the weather and walk 2 miles before I even got to the conference.

The rooms were perfect for my needs although the desk chair was way too heavy to move - even back away from the desk. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was good enough pressure.

The food was ok - not great - not really bad. I ate at the sports bar during the super bowl.I had a good burger and the service by Anita was very good despite the crowd. The breakfast and lunch buffet was blah but only $14.95 for enough food.
There were a few restaurants down the street which were ok. The Cadillac Ranch had good burgers. Can you tell I like burgers?

Transportation to DC is cumbersome but we had a shuttle as a group so it wasn't a problem.

The "Resort" title was kind of mystery to me and maybe that becomes apparent in the summer. It's not the first place I would think of as a resort but then again my conference was so interesting I really wasn't in a "Resort" mentality. It did have this fountain light show in the middle of the hotel which was nice but didn't turn off during the Super Bowl.

Their business services store - the eleventh hour- was great for me. Mannie, one of their staff, really helped me solve a problem with business cards which I greatly appreciated. He and the rest of the staff were friendly and very hard working.

The front desk was fast in check in and out and helpful. The Super Shuttle to the Gaylord was only $33 round trip to Reagan Natl Airport with a prior reservation. It takes you directly from the airport to the hotel and vice versa without 15 stops at other hotels.

I would definitely recommend the Gaylord for a conference destination.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The is a very good convention hotel with excellent facilities for meetings and conferences. Rooms are spacious and tastefully done. Service is efficient. Food quality is passable. The room rates are pretty high and about 1/3 higher than the Westin that is about 100m away. The National Harbor area provides some shopping and food options within walking vicinity. This is too much a concrete elephant for me and do not provide much resort feel. I will only stay here if I attending a conference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.