We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a meeting planner and need a location near Washington DC, this is the place for you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you're a meeting planner and need a location near Washington DC, this is the place for you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Gaylord for a work conference and stayed from Sunday-Thursday in February. It was a very enjoyable experience. I've been to many conferences and this center was not as immense and was easier to access from the hotel than many others. The conference halls in the convention were typical but it provided enough space and seemed cozier and easier to navigate. It was really nice to not have to get dressed for the weather and walk 2 miles before I even got to the conference.

The rooms were perfect for my needs although the desk chair was way too heavy to move - even back away from the desk. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was good enough pressure.

The food was ok - not great - not really bad. I ate at the sports bar during the super bowl.I had a good burger and the service by Anita was very good despite the crowd. The breakfast and lunch buffet was blah but only $14.95 for enough food.
There were a few restaurants down the street which were ok. The Cadillac Ranch had good burgers. Can you tell I like burgers?

Transportation to DC is cumbersome but we had a shuttle as a group so it wasn't a problem.

The "Resort" title was kind of mystery to me and maybe that becomes apparent in the summer. It's not the first place I would think of as a resort but then again my conference was so interesting I really wasn't in a "Resort" mentality. It did have this fountain light show in the middle of the hotel which was nice but didn't turn off during the Super Bowl.

Their business services store - the eleventh hour- was great for me. Mannie, one of their staff, really helped me solve a problem with business cards which I greatly appreciated. He and the rest of the staff were friendly and very hard working.

The front desk was fast in check in and out and helpful. The Super Shuttle to the Gaylord was only $33 round trip to Reagan Natl Airport with a prior reservation. It takes you directly from the airport to the hotel and vice versa without 15 stops at other hotels.

I would definitely recommend the Gaylord for a conference destination.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    716
    435
    230
    168
See reviews for
382
252
114
1399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The is a very good convention hotel with excellent facilities for meetings and conferences. Rooms are spacious and tastefully done. Service is efficient. Food quality is passable. The room rates are pretty high and about 1/3 higher than the Westin that is about 100m away. The National Harbor area provides some shopping and food options within walking vicinity. This is too much a concrete elephant for me and do not provide much resort feel. I will only stay here if I attending a conference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Being Marriott members, and now that the Gaylord is part of the Marriott chain of hotels, we decided to give it a try despite its being overpriced. We attended a sporting event at their Convention Center which started very early so we decided to sleep at the adjoining hotel. The place itself is massive yet elegant with a sweeping view of Alexandria across the Potomac River. Our bedroom, overlooking the atrium & the evening display of colorful dancing fountain, is 5-star all the way. All rooms have a balcony & is equipped with a tiny fridge, flat screen tv, marble tile bath flooring with double sink. It was clean, crisp, and comfortable. The pool & spa area looks great but we didn't use it. The staff I've encountered were utmost friendly & professional from the parking attendants to the front desk staff. Pricewise, it is very expensive! In addition, they charge a resort fee of $15.00, parking for $22.00, and an upgrade fee for wi-fi (if you choose to have it), plus the hotel/occupancy tax. There is no free breakfast here. Likewise, the restaurants by the atrium are pricey (i.e. $16.00 breakfast, $15.00 hamburgers). There is a sundry/gift & snack shop downstairs and a separate coffee/muffin and donut shop. By the way, every hotel in National Harbor charges a parking fee. It is a 15 to 20 minute hike to the self-parking lot/separate mutiple story bldg (that's from our room near the top floor). Consider that when lugging your suitcase. There is valet parking at front for approx $35. There are cheaper food places and a multitude of restaurants walking distance right outside the hotel. There is an expensive but excellent Thai restaurant 3 blocks away and also a cheap but equally good and healthy burrito place across the street, Subway is 5 blocks down, also a CVS pharmacy 2 blocks away. Overall, we enjoyed our stay/splurge here. But if this sounds too gaudy to your liking and you are looking for an alternative to staying near this area, consider saving money by staying across the bridge in Alexandria which is only less than 10 minutes away; practically next exit. There is a row of 3 to 4 star hotels that offers free breakfast & free parking along U.S. 1 (a.k.a. Richmond Highway). That way, you will also be within 15 minutes to Ronald Reagan airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice hotel with lots of restaurant options within walking distance. It is a little higher than I feel it is worth but at the holidays it is beautifully decorated. We were there for the ice show and while it was very beautiful I felt it was much to small for the price paid. I would probably choose a hotel in DC if I were to head there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gaylor for a fencing tournament. The hotel is beautiful. Light bright and very clean. The pool is delightful. The rooms, while on the small side, are good, and it is nice to have a fridge and double sinks. Once you walk out the front door, there are restaurants and shops. The kids loved the water show. We didn't eat at Old Hickory so I can't comment. However, the buffet restaurant (Pizeli or something close to that) was TERRIBLE and over priced. Avoid it at all cost. The Sports Bar was ok, but could be much better. For such a beautiful property, it is sad that these two restaurants couldn't be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night, the end of January, for a work function with my husband's employer. The property is beautiful. The atrium that has a water fountain that goes off set to music (like the Bellagio in Las Vegas). The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very large with two sinks and a huge shower (no tub). The staff was friendly. Was a bit ignored in the valet parking when we checked in and had to get the attention of the bell staff to help us off-load. Decided on check out to do it ourselves. Once in the lobby we were asked by 5 different bellman if we needed help (sorry guys, you were too slow on check-out so you loose now). Front desk was quick on check-in. Some of the rooms have balconies that overlook the atrium. The room was $189 on a Saturday night plus valet. The bed was comfy but had the typical Marriott squishy pillows. They are now part of the Marriott chain (which the valet reminded us of upon checkout) so save your money and use points. Nice sports bar but expensive and service very slow! Went to the nightclub on the 18th floor that advertises great views. Views are so-so and the music was HORRIBLE or maybe we are too old. Left 5 minutes after arriving.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that overlooks the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is classy, new, and very nice. However, it is not close to much although it is lodged within a shopping center that has some stores. The area is not a tourist attraction but there are some things to do... The restaurants in the hotel are basic but there are other restaurants in the shopping center. They charge too much for there rooms. They would get more guests if they lower the hotel rates. The dance club is very nice but it is always empty because it is restricted to guests only. All rooms are modern as it is only three years old. The hotel is huge. Not much to do here but you can take taxis into DC for about $20 to $$30 per trip or a bus to the metro.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the harbor and rooms with balconies with a view of the skyline inside atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.