We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best Strawberry Shortcake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desserts by Gerard

Desserts by Gerard
6341 Livingston Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
301-839-2185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 71 Restaurants in Oxon Hill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Strawberry Shortcake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had to check out the place where an owner of another specialty bakery orders her special occasion cakes and I discovered that Desserts by Gerard simply has the best strawberry shortcake!!! Cakes are made fresh to order, and huge single servings are available in the bakery case. The cake is moist (not shortbread) and the cream is light, and the strawberries are perfect. My co-workers also enjoyed it. The fruit tarts are also delicious and the chicken salad croissant was good too! I'll be back and highly recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Impressed At All!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although I've lived in the area for years, I've never had a cake from Gerard's so I wanted to see what the talk was all about. I should've gone to Costco! When I placed the order last week, I was given an order number and paid in advance. I called late last week to make changes to the writing on the cake. When the person answered the phone, I gave her all the information INCLUDING the order number. Lo and behold, she couldn't find it. She put me on hold for at least three times, but apparently never wrote the order number down. On one occasion when I was on hold, the person who took the order picked up, and I gave her the order number. The first person came back to the line AGAIN, and asked for the order number AGAIN. When put on hold AGAIN, a different person picked up the phone. By now, I just wanted a refund, and when I said this, I was put on hold again, but this time when she came back, my order was miraculously found - I guess they didn't want to lose a sale. I changed the writing on the cake to something very simple. On Saturday, when I got the call reminding me of the pick up time and the order number, the guy confirmed what was to be written on the cake. On Christmas Eve, when the cake was picked up, the friend picking it up for me had to wait 30 minutes. If they are going to ask what time I wanted the cake, why wasn't the cake ready??? When I got the cake, imagine how angry I was when I saw that the original message was on the cake WITH THE NAME MISSPELLED!!! The customer service was awful and the cake, while it was pretty, it tasted sub-par. There wasn't anything special about the cake, and in addition, there was some kind of liquid in the cake portion. It seemed like it was frozen and the liquid was a result of it thawing. The next time I want a vanilla/caramel cake, I'll make it myself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gone way down hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gerard's used to be the place to go for anything for dessert. Their cakes are still good, but waaaay overpriced, as are all their bake goods.

I have not seen the original pastry chefs/owners in the shop in a long time, and perhaps they are relying on their help to provide the same quality they have done. If so, it's not working.

Maybe their catering business will sustain them, but the locals are beginning to abandon the place, which leaves a large hole in the community.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went for lunch and had a croissant sandwich. The croissant was very good, but there was very little meat and it didn't even go to the edges of the sandwich. Had slice of carrot cake - frosting good, cake flavorless. Friend had chicken sandwich with dark meat and gristle. She was overcharged for extra dressing. I have had their mousse cup and it was good. But, not worth the price or trip for one good item.

Located in an ugly, run-down strip mall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desserts by Gerard also viewed

 
Oxon Hill, MD
Oxon Hill, MD
 

Been to Desserts by Gerard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desserts by Gerard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.