We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Harbor, Maryland Wyndham Vacation Resorts Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 20% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“National Harbor, Maryland Wyndham Vacation Resorts Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I went with my parents and nephew. We had search for months for a great place to say. We book it through Expedia in July. We were glad to find a place. Like most people we were skeptical about it but when we got there it was wow gorgeous. It was close to the waterfront. Even though it wasn't directly a waterfront room we could still see the view of the Potomac River. We stayed August 9-12th. Enjoyed every minute walking down to the waterfront. We got on the boat to Old Town Virginia which wasn't far at all but nice. The room was clean and had plenty of space. Exactly what we were looking for. My nephew loved the game room and the pool. We will return to it one day.:)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    131
    44
    18
    9
See reviews for
163
75
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Loved it! Few pointers, parking is $11 a day, self parking across the street in a parking garage. Tip, don't get your car out more than once a day, as it can cost extra $. We drove to a nearby grocery store, then parked the car and left it for the week. There is no grocery store in walking distance. Probably by spring/summer 2011 CVS and a food market will be open. That will be a huge asset! These units do not have a washer/dryer in the rooms like Wyndham owners are use to, instead there's a laundry room on each floor, free to use, you supply the detergent. The Presidential suites do have washer/dryers I believe. If you do a lot of washing, you could ask when you check in to see if they have a unit available near the laundry room. We stayed in room 521 and was right across the hall. Very convenient! Try to get there a little before check in time, or little later, as there is not much room to unload your car. Pack so that everything is in a bag and easy to stack/hang on the luggage cart. When you get your parking pass they will ask you to let them show you all Wyndham has to offer. OK we all know this is a Time Share sales meeting, even if they say it is not. We are Wyndham owners and are used to this, but we smile and play along. (We really have fun using our Wyndham points.) We go into the meeting with a positive attitude, we let them talk, and we try to learn something @ each of these meetings on how to maximize our points. We've learned something at just about each meeting we've gone to. We politely say "no" we don't need anymore points at this time, they'll usually bring someone else over. We always try to be nice and smile, even if they are not. (They usually are nice). "Kill em' with kindness" my grandma would say. Then we took our $75 AMEX gift card and paid for our parking. Take advantage of the coupon book they give you at the meeting, and several restaurants offer happy hour specials, and some offer 20% off your total bill if you show them your Wyndham key. They should give you a list of these when you check in, as I'm sure they change frequently. Everything we ate in National Harbour was wonderful! On Sunday nights right now, they set up a big screen down on the waterfront and you can bring towels, blankets or chairs to watch a movie. And you must see the"Peeps" store! Only one in the world. Too cute! We had a great time and hope to go back again soon. I hope that these suggestions help.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is one of Wyndham's newer locations and it was not to bad. We had 5 adults and two kids in a three bedroom unit. The rooms were clean. (Wished they had a washer & dryer in each unit, but we didn't really need it and we could have used the one down the hall)

The resort had two pools that weren't overly large but worked well. The outside pool had a nice shallow area that you could lay down in and be covered with water with having to float. The reort also had a Wii room, billards and a few ohter things that we did not have time to make use of.

Parking was interesting. You can self park for about $11 a day or valet for $17. We took the valet option and it worked well for us. The only issue was the entrance for unloading/loading was kind of tight.

The location is very close to DC and on normal days we could drive it in about 40 minutes. They also have a public bus route that takes you to the subway system. Not a bad way to go if you don't want to drive into DC. We did that on the last day and the only problem we had there was the fact you had to pay for parking. Which was not a problem until we found out you had to have a SMARTcard as there is no other to pay. At least we didn't see any.

The area around the resort is still in the process of being built. What is there is not cheap so you will have to drive to some place a little more affordable.

If you are a Wyndham onwer and plan on seeing DC, I would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This resort is NOT worthy of the special charges (175,000 credits for 6 days). Terrible maintenance issues, terrible staff attitude, attentiveness, and follow-through. Between our high maintenance fees and housekeeping fees, we would have been much better off not owning a Wyndham timeshare. We could have stayed right on capital hill at a very nice 4-star hotel for about $500.00 more. We did exactly that for our first week in D.C. and had a wonderful time with a superb staff. Wyndham's new motto should be "Buy enough credits to be a VIP or we will treat you like dirt!" Frankly, I doubt if the VIP guests are receiving much better service at this point. The Hyatt Regency is a much better bargain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Spent a couple of nights at the WNH. Nice resort with a few minor issues ( for me ). Arrived early and was not able to check in, was told to return at 2pm and room would be available, so we decided to do a little shopping and returned around 2:30 and was told the room was not going to be ready till 4, To make a long story short if i were told 4 in the begining i could have planned my time differently.
Finally allowed to check in at 430 and was told to go see guest service for a free gift, i have been around long enough to know that trick so i bypassed the desk to my room. That didnt not stopped them from sending info via phone and on the door.
The room was the 4 bedroom presidential. Very nice. but one of the first things we noticed was spider webs in the ceiling fan in bedroom. Now by no means am i that anal but if your reason for not allowing us to check in is your still cleaning room then i would hope i would not see webs the first thing.But other than that it was a great view and terrific place.
Pool area was nice ,water could have been deeper, but with tons of kids i can understand why not. Inside pool was a little small and had a strong smell of chlorine.
Several places to eat within walking distance and prices were not bad. One last thing...The Parking. If you drive to the resort you have 2 options..... pay 17 dollars to have your car valet parked 35 yards away or pay 11 dollars overnight from the same 35 yards away. But if you self park and need to leave its 3 dollars 0-1 hrs. Also any parking meters on the street are the same 3 for the 1st hr. so you will be paying one way or the other!
Overall the room was very nice, the area is nice. The parking should be addressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just got back from a stay at Wyndham Vacation Resort in National Harbor. Waited 20 mins in our car just to be able to pull up to unload our luggage. Don't expect much help with bags. Good luck in finding a luggage cart. Upon entering our room, I inspected as always and found ALOT of hair on one of the beds in the second bedroom. I called house keeping and they came up right away and changed the duvet cover. You don't get daily maid service here so you don't get freshly made beds or towels throughout your stay unless you call down and request, which we didn't know was an option. They don't even remove your garbage daily and considering there is a full kitchen in the rooms, garbage accumulated quickly. Outside pool area nice but small. Not heated. Arcade had 2 working games. Pac man $1 to play!!!!!!! Activities for kids were nice but you have to reserve a spot which we weren't aware of. They maxed out at 5 kids for Candy Bingo so we couldn't play. Biggest problem is there is no food!!!!!!!! Not even a cafe or a vending machine with coffee or muffins or anything. It doesn't make much sense at all. I have 4 year old twins and couldn't even get a snack unless I took them off property. Thank god for the Gaylord. We discovered it and wound up going there for everything. From now on will be stay in The Gaylord until Disney opens it's resort. The Wyndham is definately not a "Vacation" or a "Resort" just a condo rental. National Harbor is nice and has lots of potential so we will return but I wouldn't stay at the Wyndham again. BTW, parking is $17 a day for Valet or $11 in lot and you have to pay each time you leave and return in lot even on same day. Street parking is $3 per hour with 2 hour limit and enforce 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is a great place to stay, can travel into DC via bus and metro at very reasonable price. You can even get to and from the airport via bus and metro, but the resort does not tell you that, they recommend you use the other means of transportation; i.e. taxi or super shuttle. Be sure to walk over to Gaylord Hotel and check it out.
Order food from Peapod.com to have groceries delivered at good price, $15 off if use code "truck" at checkout. No restaurant on-site but other hotels have amenities such as bars and restaurants at very high prices.
Bottled water is acceptable at all the museums, regardless of what you may read online. Museum of Natural History closes 5:30 daily, all others are open later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Address: 250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.