We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 20% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
Streamwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A 3 year old in a very good area. Close to the harbor about 3 blocks downhill. There is a CVS right next door so you can purchase supplies as needed. There are NO stores or food to purchase in this hotel, so CVS is the only place.
The staff are all very cordial and helpful. Rooms are nicely furnished and we asked for one with a balcony. There was construction across the street, but it didn't affect us as we left each morning by 8:00 AM. It's nice to come back and sit on the balcony and watch the world go by after a long day of sightseeing.

A lot of good eating places right on the road and several excellent ones in the Gaylord Hotel, really lovely hotel, and one in the Westin(I don't recommend that one, girl didn't know what a vodka gimlet was and couldn't make one).

Hotel was quiet during the week, but the weekends were a little noisy. but still a good place to stay. We opted out of the timeshare talks, we were there to see Washington D.C. (only 20 minutes by taxi) not be bothered with talks.

Room Tip: Room 421 has a balcony. owever the turntable on the microwave is broken and the refrig. makes lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    131
    44
    18
    9
See reviews for
163
75
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groove City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was actually my third stay. Nice resort, great amenities and location. If you want something relaxing and still have activities for the kids, this is one to look into.

Always have a great time. Oh yeah the parking is $13.00 per day and ask for one of the rooms from the ninth floor on up. Get the view of the river and outdoor pool deck.

Again, with the timeshare - just say no. $100.00 gift card (oh yeah I take it).

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river and the pool deck (I think they are the odd numbers). Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in National Harbor from September 15-19 in a 2-bedroom unit. Check-in was smooth but I was glad I was aware of the $13 for parking from reading other reviews. The unit was very clean and comfortable although the living room was a bit small. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our small balcony even though it was over a construction site which my husband found fascinating. Our only regret is that we didn't take a picture each day to monitor the progress. Noise from the site was minimal from the ninth floor.

For two days, we used Parking Panda to reserve a $16 per day parking spot at D Street and 9th in Washington. It was a few blocks from the Smithsonian. We didn't didn't want to use the National Harbor shuttle after reading other reviews. We think it was a faster alternative that wasn't much more expensive.

It was very nice to have free internet however reception was inconsistent and sometimes non-existent on our floor.

We did agree to an owner's update but did not think staff members were overly pushy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived late in the day after a long day of travel. The room looked fine except for a very dirty carpet. The room was warm, but that was to be expected; Washington was having a heat wave. But in the middle of the night, we couldn't sleep because the AC was not functioning and maintenance had left. The next day, after working but failing to fix the problem, we were moved to a second room. It was smaller, but seemingly cooler. But the AC quit on us again. Maintenance fixed it, but again it stopped working at 3 am. In the morning we thought a bath might be nice after a second night of no sleep because of the heat. But the tub was broken-couldn't close the drain. And the dishwasher was broken, we discovered.
Clearly, Wyndham need to put some effort into maintenance.
A positive item: the staff were wonderful. It is a management problem of priorities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and maintenance in the unit. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We will use this feedback to ensure you do not experience this again. We are also so very pleased to know that our staff provided great Count On Me service during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, ar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great hotel for our needs. It was only myself and my husband and we had a wonderful time. Depending on traffic, we were about 30 minutes from the capitol and other area monuments. We were only 10 minutes from Arlington, VA. We were even able to take a day trip (2hrs each way) to Monticello.

The hotel was very nice. The furnishings were great. We had a 1 bedroom condo with a balcony. On one side we had a water view and on the other we had a construction view (children's museum is expanding). There are a lot of boutique stores and restaurants in the area. All within walking distance.

I do not recommend the boutique grocery store in the area. The only thing they carry a selection of is alcohol. You'll have better luck at the CVS. If you are military and can get on post, I recommend the Andrews AFB commissary.

We had three issues while we stayed at this hotel. First, we didn't have any wash clothes. Because we checked in @ 2:30am, this was not noticed until we got up the next morning. However, once the front desk knew about it, we promptly had washcloths. Second, our A/C did not work properly. But because we were not in our condo very much it took a few days for us to realize this. Again, as soon as it was brought to the attention of the front desk, it was taken care of. Finally, we had an issue with the parking deck. We aren't really sure what happened, but we never could get the gate to work properly. But when we pushed the help button, someone was always right there to help and opened the gate for us.

At some resorts the Member Services staff is very pushy and demanding. This Member Services staff is not that way. We had a Do Not Disturb card out the first morning because we had gotten in so late. The Member Service staff simply put a note under our door. I believe they also left messages (the light was blinking); but, we never checked our messages and they left us alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here as guests of owners at the beginning of August 2013. The resort was clean and felt new and the rooms were comfortable, especially the beds. The concierge was especially helpful. She had a drawer of envelopes and every time we mentioned a place we would like to visit she would open the drawer, remove an envelope, and hand us a postcard-sized piece of paper with directions. Very organized.

Despite reviews that seemed daunting, we had no issues with unloading our van or with it fitting in the parking garage. The garage was right across the road and had lots of space. The $13 a day was annoying - I would rather have had it hidden in the upfront cost - but we knew about it in advance so it wasn’t a surprise.

The National Harbor area was nicely laid out with shops and restaurants. The restaurants were a bit pricey (especially for a family of four) but some discounts were available to Wyndham guests. (If you order-in, avoid Papa Joe’s as their pizza and their service was disappointing. Papa John’s, on the other hand, was excellent.) The waterfront area offered a nice promenade and view across the Potomac. We did not spend very much time at the resort so I cannot speak to the amenities.

DC was not next door but it was not hard to get to. A shuttle was offered but it only ran on the hour, only seated 24, and it serviced several resorts. We chose to drive to the nearby Huntington Station on a daily basis, parked our car ($4.75/day, free on weekends) and took the Metro into town. It took about 45 minutes to get to the National Mall from National Harbor. When we attended the Washington Nationals game we were advised to park at Branch Station but we chose to park at Huntington and make a Metro transfer as the route was more familiar to us and we felt confident that we would find a parking space. Be advised that EVERYONE takes the Metro to the ballgame so expect a long wait on the journey home!

The WiFi connection in our room was excellent. There was also a small business centre with excellent connections and a printer.

We stayed for nine days but were not offered a towel exchange or room touch-up even though we exceeded the regular one week time frame. This seemed somewhat rude.

The only complaint we had was with the layout of the master bedroom; a layout that we have noticed at other Wyndham’s as well. The hot tub, shower and sink were all exposed within the room, making it impossible for one to have an early shower while the other slept in, and making the room inaccessible whenever someone was using the shower. At first glance it may have looked grand, but in the end it felt as though you were sleeping in the bathroom.

I would recommend this resort for its comfort and for the relative ease in commuting into DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived really late and James at check out was very accommodating , we loved our room and I can go as far to describe it as a home away from home . Great location, great food , close proximity to DC and shopping malls .


Rooms were spacious and comfortable and well equipped . We loved it . The staff were also very warm and accommodating . The only downside was the gym it was wholly inadequate for a hotel of that size ( ridiculous ) other than that a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: You have to pay for rooms to be cleaned so be prepared if you are not an owner .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Address: 250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.