We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have to say Great Stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Groove City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I would have to say Great Stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was actually my third stay. Nice resort, great amenities and location. If you want something relaxing and still have activities for the kids, this is one to look into.

Always have a great time. Oh yeah the parking is $13.00 per day and ask for one of the rooms from the ninth floor on up. Get the view of the river and outdoor pool deck.

Again, with the timeshare - just say no. $100.00 gift card (oh yeah I take it).

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river and the pool deck (I think they are the odd numbers). Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    115
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
143
67
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in National Harbor from September 15-19 in a 2-bedroom unit. Check-in was smooth but I was glad I was aware of the $13 for parking from reading other reviews. The unit was very clean and comfortable although the living room was a bit small. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our small balcony even though it was over a construction site which my husband found fascinating. Our only regret is that we didn't take a picture each day to monitor the progress. Noise from the site was minimal from the ninth floor.

For two days, we used Parking Panda to reserve a $16 per day parking spot at D Street and 9th in Washington. It was a few blocks from the Smithsonian. We didn't didn't want to use the National Harbor shuttle after reading other reviews. We think it was a faster alternative that wasn't much more expensive.

It was very nice to have free internet however reception was inconsistent and sometimes non-existent on our floor.

We did agree to an owner's update but did not think staff members were overly pushy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived late in the day after a long day of travel. The room looked fine except for a very dirty carpet. The room was warm, but that was to be expected; Washington was having a heat wave. But in the middle of the night, we couldn't sleep because the AC was not functioning and maintenance had left. The next day, after working but failing to fix the problem, we were moved to a second room. It was smaller, but seemingly cooler. But the AC quit on us again. Maintenance fixed it, but again it stopped working at 3 am. In the morning we thought a bath might be nice after a second night of no sleep because of the heat. But the tub was broken-couldn't close the drain. And the dishwasher was broken, we discovered.
Clearly, Wyndham need to put some effort into maintenance.
A positive item: the staff were wonderful. It is a management problem of priorities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and maintenance in the unit. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We will use this feedback to ensure you do not experience this again. We are also so very pleased to know that our staff provided great Count On Me service during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, ar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great hotel for our needs. It was only myself and my husband and we had a wonderful time. Depending on traffic, we were about 30 minutes from the capitol and other area monuments. We were only 10 minutes from Arlington, VA. We were even able to take a day trip (2hrs each way) to Monticello.

The hotel was very nice. The furnishings were great. We had a 1 bedroom condo with a balcony. On one side we had a water view and on the other we had a construction view (children's museum is expanding). There are a lot of boutique stores and restaurants in the area. All within walking distance.

I do not recommend the boutique grocery store in the area. The only thing they carry a selection of is alcohol. You'll have better luck at the CVS. If you are military and can get on post, I recommend the Andrews AFB commissary.

We had three issues while we stayed at this hotel. First, we didn't have any wash clothes. Because we checked in @ 2:30am, this was not noticed until we got up the next morning. However, once the front desk knew about it, we promptly had washcloths. Second, our A/C did not work properly. But because we were not in our condo very much it took a few days for us to realize this. Again, as soon as it was brought to the attention of the front desk, it was taken care of. Finally, we had an issue with the parking deck. We aren't really sure what happened, but we never could get the gate to work properly. But when we pushed the help button, someone was always right there to help and opened the gate for us.

At some resorts the Member Services staff is very pushy and demanding. This Member Services staff is not that way. We had a Do Not Disturb card out the first morning because we had gotten in so late. The Member Service staff simply put a note under our door. I believe they also left messages (the light was blinking); but, we never checked our messages and they left us alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here as guests of owners at the beginning of August 2013. The resort was clean and felt new and the rooms were comfortable, especially the beds. The concierge was especially helpful. She had a drawer of envelopes and every time we mentioned a place we would like to visit she would open the drawer, remove an envelope, and hand us a postcard-sized piece of paper with directions. Very organized.

Despite reviews that seemed daunting, we had no issues with unloading our van or with it fitting in the parking garage. The garage was right across the road and had lots of space. The $13 a day was annoying - I would rather have had it hidden in the upfront cost - but we knew about it in advance so it wasn’t a surprise.

The National Harbor area was nicely laid out with shops and restaurants. The restaurants were a bit pricey (especially for a family of four) but some discounts were available to Wyndham guests. (If you order-in, avoid Papa Joe’s as their pizza and their service was disappointing. Papa John’s, on the other hand, was excellent.) The waterfront area offered a nice promenade and view across the Potomac. We did not spend very much time at the resort so I cannot speak to the amenities.

DC was not next door but it was not hard to get to. A shuttle was offered but it only ran on the hour, only seated 24, and it serviced several resorts. We chose to drive to the nearby Huntington Station on a daily basis, parked our car ($4.75/day, free on weekends) and took the Metro into town. It took about 45 minutes to get to the National Mall from National Harbor. When we attended the Washington Nationals game we were advised to park at Branch Station but we chose to park at Huntington and make a Metro transfer as the route was more familiar to us and we felt confident that we would find a parking space. Be advised that EVERYONE takes the Metro to the ballgame so expect a long wait on the journey home!

The WiFi connection in our room was excellent. There was also a small business centre with excellent connections and a printer.

We stayed for nine days but were not offered a towel exchange or room touch-up even though we exceeded the regular one week time frame. This seemed somewhat rude.

The only complaint we had was with the layout of the master bedroom; a layout that we have noticed at other Wyndham’s as well. The hot tub, shower and sink were all exposed within the room, making it impossible for one to have an early shower while the other slept in, and making the room inaccessible whenever someone was using the shower. At first glance it may have looked grand, but in the end it felt as though you were sleeping in the bathroom.

I would recommend this resort for its comfort and for the relative ease in commuting into DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived really late and James at check out was very accommodating , we loved our room and I can go as far to describe it as a home away from home . Great location, great food , close proximity to DC and shopping malls .


Rooms were spacious and comfortable and well equipped . We loved it . The staff were also very warm and accommodating . The only downside was the gym it was wholly inadequate for a hotel of that size ( ridiculous ) other than that a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: You have to pay for rooms to be cleaned so be prepared if you are not an owner .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had stayed at National Harbor when if first opened...there was not much around at the time as it was just developing and our previous review was influenced by the bad experience we had with the hard sell forced on us. This time, we rented a 3 bedroom Presidential reserve suite, and 2, 2 bedroom presidential reserve suites for a mini family gathering. What a difference. We had an in room review and it was not pushy or obnoxious. The views from our balconies in 2 of the suites was spectacular if you ignore the immediate building rooftops, We could see the 3 Albert Paley sculptures from our balcony (Paley is from Rochester, NY, our hometown). There are many shops and food choices. There was a farmer's market on Saturday and we picked up some veggies for our dinners. CVS is conveniently located around the corner in our building. Eric at the reception desk was extremely helpful. The small semi circle for incoming guests is woefully inadequate, but they make the best of it by alert bell hops. Parking remains to be a pain with $13/day in the adjacent garage. There were Dragon boat races to watch and a flurry of activity on the waterfront. We made use of the pool this time as there was a 2 year old with us and the platform in the main pool was perfect for her. The hot tub jets are good and the kiddie pool is just that! There are activity rooms, but we didn't really make use of those. Be sure to check out the atrium of the near by Gaylord Center. We were entertained by fireworks on Saturday night. We have previously stayed across the river at the Wyndham Old Alexandria, but there is definitely a different vibe at National Harbor...lots of activity.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Address: 250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.