We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monroe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Resort over all was very good. We had a two bedroom unit that was very comfortable - check in was good except for the overly strong attempt to have us go to a presentation. We would have been more ameanable to a request after we had settled into our unit. We did recognize that they were only doing thier job and we later relented (after settling into our unit) to attend a presentation. Room service needed to be improved - requested towel exchange which was not provided until the next day - I think this was due to the Resort being fairly new . Pool, Gym and game room was very good. The area around the Resort area was very good. We had a good 3 night vacation and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    127
    39
    17
    9
See reviews for
156
70
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We wanted a break from our normal life and chose Washington D.C., as the place to see and relax. The next consideration was a great place to stay and this resort is only 11 miles from the
White House and all the attractions of our nation capital. Exercise is no problem because walking
is the best way to see our museums and monuments. So after a day or walking you have a comfortable room with a spacious layout and exceptional bed to sleep in at night. The resort has activities each day for the family. There is a pool of course, movie room, games and you may reserve a grill should you wish to cook.

Room Tip: Corner suites are enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom condo. The master bedroom was amazing with an attached bath and in room jacuzzi tub. The second bedroom was - meh. 2 double beds which were not very comfortable. 2 queen beds would have been much, much better. Forget putting 2 people in these. Even an average sized adult and 5 year old had a tough time.
The second bath was just fine and the table/buffet combo sat 6 and was really nice. Everything we could need for cooking was provided.
The 2nd floor is where the activities are. Great little pool and adjacent kiddie pool and hot tub. (They have both indoor and outdoor facilities) Wonderful fitness center. A movie room which showed movies all day which was a great break for my 5 year old, as well as a "play room" of sorts with books, toys and puzzles. There is a larger room with tables, a TV and coffee where afternoon activities are held. Lots to do! Really nice staff as well!!
The location on national harbor was just fine, as it is only about 6 square blocks to begin with. There is a CVS next door with a lot of grocery staples and a self titled "gourmet grocer" just around the corner. Don't let the name throw you off. While to can buy some gourmet treats there are regular grocery items as well - and a phenomenal beer/wine selection. Grocery delivery is available - ask the front desk. Also, there is a Giant foods not too far away. Great shops and plenty of wonderful dining at National harbor. Many restaurants offer a 15/20% discount to Wyndham guests, so just ask.
As always, keep in mind that when they show you the "welcome packet" you are entering the timeshare salesman's lair. Member services, concierge - all salespeople. They want to update you on your program? Sales pitch. They want to introduce you to Wyndham? Sales pitch. Want to get. Welcome package? Sales pitch! That is their job and that's fine, but know what you are getting into as they are relentless. We politely said no, no, no at check in and they never bothered us again about purchasing more points, which is better than I can say about some of the other locations.
A word about traveling to DC. You do NOT want to take a car into DC. I'm from Chicago and I'm good at finding parking in hard-to-find-parking cities. Believe me when I say that it is nearly impossible and entirely frustrating. Best to take the shuttle to the metro bus/trains and go from there. Familiarize yourself with their public transit system BEFORE you get there so you are not overwhelmed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here by the grace of my Aunt and Uncle who cashed in their time share points so we could spend a weekend in DC for my daughter's fourth birthday. National Harbor is a self-contained city made entirely for the tourist trade. It's all hotels, higher-end shops and amenities. I will say that the place is very clean, presentable and sterile in character. The hotel was similar - very clean and generic. Parking is additional, up to $13 a day and the other reviewers are correct about the tiny driveway. You can't really park and unload without a hassle. It may be that the Wyndham has heeded the advice given on this site, or maybe I got lucky, but was fairly un-harassed by offers of timeshare purchases. There was a suggestion made that we attend the presentation but upon my firm No, it was not brought up again. The concierge was actually fairly unhelpful and unknowledgeable in my opinion, in that every time I asked a question, he did not have the answer, not even to simple things, like "where is the laundry room located?" and "what time does the pool close". Housekeeping was very helpful when we first checked in. We were missing several items in the kitchen such as a cutting board and a colander. We also had a phone that did not work and a light bulb that was out. They came up and replaced/fixed them immediately. Our room was the smallest one they have, one king size bed, the sitting area, kitchen and bath. The sitting area was pretty uncomfortable - the couch was not the kind you can relax and watch a movie - it was more for perching to put on your shoes. I was also not a fan of the bath as the tub area does NOT have it's own door. You can close the bedroom door and then the toilet room door, but that essentially locks out anyone else from accessing those areas. I guess the room is designed with the idea that a couple would be sharing it and not mind seeing one another in the tub. Not so good if you're staying with an older teenager or friend though. The indoor pool was small, and a little murky as indoor pools tend to be and it was too early in the season for the outside pool to be open yet. There were barbeques, but no one seemed able to give us an answer as to whether we could use them or not.
The whole National Harbor area is not very convenient to getting into DC. We were literally told not to bother trying to drive in before 10 am, because we would not get anywhere. I thought that was an odd response for a Saturday? I took the advice of another reviewer and drove across the bridge to the Huntington subway station. It was about a ten minute drive, ample parking (free) on weekends and got us directly to the National Mall in about 20-30 minutes. Overall, if you have time share points to use, Wyndham National Harbor is nice enough. The area is limited in other things to do, and everything cost a TON of money.
We drove to another town to grocery shop and made all our meals in the room. There was nothing wrong with the property and but nothing fabulous either. If your idea is to enjoy DC's attractions, stay closer, even Alexandria would have been more convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly suburbs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Checked in a the staff could not have been nicer. They upgraded us to a better suite. It was lovely and large. It had a fully equipped, kitchen with a washer/dryer combo, two bathrooms, 3 tvs and a dvr. The hotel has many family oriented features, pool, wii room, movie theater and child friendly activities which are all included. The pool also is open late and has a full BBQ with a serving area. The staff at the pool and the play areas were so friendly and accommodating too. We came with four families with children ranging from 21 to 4 and all had a great time at the hotel and the harbor. There are no restaurants at the hotel but so many places in walking distance.I just wish it was on the waterfront. I would love to come back with a few couples to walk and dine for an adult only weekend. Looks like there is so much more to do.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade. You really can not see the waterfront so do not worry about getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our family recently had the opportunity to stay for one week at the Wyndam National Harbor property just south of Washington, DC. Apart from a distractive and frustrating check-in, the week was spent in modest luxury thanks to all the resort had to offer. The resort property has wonderful views of the Potomac as well as the surrounding National Harbor community. The staff are well-trained and most courteous. Plenty of staffers were around the property to help with any need. For example; the pools always had life guards, the activities room always had a knowledgeable staff member to assist with movies, pool sticks, etc. The facilities were well maintained (flowers, walk-ways, gym, elevators, etc., were always immaculate.) On the downside, it took the staff at least two calls and one in-person visit to retrieve towels from our unit. This may have been an oversight because other than this, it was a great week.

Room Tip: North side units can actually see the DC skyline. Lower units may be noisy do to the pool area. Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My mom and I decided to trade in our timeshare and see what we could find near DC, which is how we ended up at the Wyndham in National Harbor. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the new construction and cleanliness of the resort. The concierge was able to help us figure out how to use the Metro so as not to have to drive in and out of the city for sight-seeing (there is a bus connection that picks up a few blocks up). We were able to park the car upon arrival and not see it again until it was time to head home a week later! You can also take the water taxi across to Alexandria for the day. Many of the tours also pick up either in front of the hotel or in the downtown area, which is very convenient if you're not comfortable with public transit or driving into the city. There were may restaurants in the area, with some providing discounts if you showed your Wyndham key card. Overall it was a great place to stay in the DC area and it's location was very convenient to the many sites we wanted to see during our trip. I would definitely consider staying here the next time I'm visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Address: 250 Mariner Passage, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.