We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry cake, great frosting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Love

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cake Love
160 National Plz, National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1139
301-686-0340
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 69 Restaurants in Oxon Hill
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dry cake, great frosting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Cupcake was dry and not much flavor, but the frosting (chocolate b-day cake flavor) was the bomb! Forget the cake and scoop up the frosting. $3.25 for a cupcake. Server was less than friendly - really could have cared less if I was there or not. Actually picked up the phone while I was paying and never once looked at me again or thanked me. Whatever, probably will never go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    24
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A GREAT dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love the cupcakes at Cake Love. Their cupcakes are not overly sweet which is great for me. I love the variety of desserts offered by Cake Love. I would recommend you try their cupcakes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cozy cafe, and lots of WONDERFUL choices of cupcakes, cakerolls, patries, etc. The line was out the door as we waited for the cordial service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dry cupcake with lard-like icing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a lot of money on a terrible cupcake. Won't go back. The cake was dry and the icing was heavy like it was made with Crisco.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This spot is nice, the cakes look great, but for some reason the frosting is not all there for me. The cake itself are good.
It is a little pricey for anything, so keep that in mind when you think about purchasing a cake from here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Love also viewed

 
Oxon Hill, MD
Oxon Hill, MD
 

Been to Cake Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.