We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Love

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cake Love
160 National Plz, National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1139
301-686-0340
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 69 Restaurants in Oxon Hill
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This spot is nice, the cakes look great, but for some reason the frosting is not all there for me. The cake itself are good.
It is a little pricey for anything, so keep that in mind when you think about purchasing a cake from here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    24
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Cake Love for a Saturday afternoon snack. The bakery was busy and the display case was full of choices. I will never turn down coconut and to have it combined with chocolate cake was a bonus. I had the coconut delight which had an "almond joy" twist to it. The frosting was pretty good I have to admit. However the cake left a lot to be desired. It was dry and not very chocolaty. My husband had the caramel turtle. He did not like it and actually threw half of it away. He had the same yucky cake as mine. The frosting was OK in my opinion but without good cake to balance it, he couldn't eat it.

I also didn't like that the cupcakes were cold. The display case is refrigerated so be prepared for this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent Cupcakes for a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

These are not the greatest cupcakes I've had however they were very good. The cake was a little dry but the icing was amazing. It is worth a stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not a large selection at this location, but pretty darn good. We ordered several items to try. 4 different types of cupcakes and two slices of cake. The cupcakes were vanilla on vanilla, strawberries and cream, and two others. They were ok, but we would not order again. Now the cake in the other hand was so awesome, that we went back Monday. Only reason we did not return Sunday is because we thought they were closed!

We had the strawberry and cream cake which is a very light moist white cake with strawberries and a what seems like a whipped cream icing. The best was the strawberry shortcake. It is pound cake with fresh strawberries and whipped buttercream icing. It is fabulous. Note that they do not sale cake slices during the week. However, we were able to get the shortcake Monday as we ordered an entire one.

Highly recommend when at National Harbor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pre-Valentine's day weeekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had the lemon bar. Which I have gotten several times before. I was not let down . Simply delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Love also viewed

 
Oxon Hill, MD
Oxon Hill, MD
 

Been to Cake Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.