We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Love

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cake Love
160 National Plz, National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1139
301-686-0340
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 71 Restaurants in Oxon Hill
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Maryland Line, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

In my opinion, the cake was overpriced. It was average tasting and nothing to write home about. Honestly, I'm a baker, so maybe I'm a little hard in this review. I tried several different flavors and I kept hoping that with each choice, the flavor would burst through more than the previous choice, unfortunately not.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    24
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good cakes, but not enough of them.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I love cake so it was hard to pass by a shop called "Cake Love". The aroma of baking chocolate cake inside was wonderful! I was disappointed with the selection, however. A sign listed cakes, brownies, eclairs, and other goodies, but the case contained mostly cupcakes and three kinds of cake. We were all very pleased with our selections, however.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hello! I'm standing here while you're chatting in the back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I dropped by here first in the early afternoon. Bell chimes when I walk in. Staff hanging out in the back, where they can see the shop and customers, chatting. Nobody looks up. I wait a few minutes and leave. Came back later for a special event with free cupcakes. Have a very delicious red velvet cupcake and staff is up front handing out cupcakes, probably because the group funding the event has a representative sitting there watching. If I hadn't had the offer of a free cupcake later, I would never have gone back -- incredibly bad service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Chocolate Downfall cake was the bomb.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Found CakeLove while walking around NH. Decided to pick up some items before going back to the room. The cup cakes we picked out were okay, the "The Downfall Cake" was absolutely the best. It was moist and very chocolatey. The price for the cupcakes was a little high, but I will return to look for "my" cake. Service was cordial and helpful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even the fresh ones are bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I had heard all the buzz this cupcake place on a TV food show. On my birthday, in lieu of a cake, we decided to go there and get a variety of cupcakes. As we were waiting fresh trays of cupcakes were being put in the display case. We opted for 4 flavors that just were put out. We put a candle on one, sang Happy Birthday and eagerly bit into one. Yuck ! We tried the 'Shakin Bacon, Peanut Butter, German Chocolate and Red Velvet. The Red Velvet was semi moist. The rest of them we dry, flavorless and boring. So disappointed. They were approx. $4 a piece.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Love also viewed

 

Been to Cake Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.