We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor

Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor
153 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1138
+1 301-567-1005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 69 restaurants in Oxon Hill
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Metro bus line picks up from the Southern Avenue rail station, Indian Head Hwy & Southern Ave(DC line),Oxon Hill Park & Ride Lot and St. George Blvd. & Waterfront St. (National Harbor)
Description: In 1984, Rosa Mexicano set a new standard for Mexican cuisine when it first opened on the upper east side of New York City. Playing a leading role in defining what was then a "new" cuisine to American diners, Rosa Mexicano delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible, stylishly festive atmosphere. Rosa Mexicano's menu features a range of award-winning signature dishes, including our Guacamole en Molcajete, in a traditional lava rock mortar. Described by Time Out New York as "green ecstasy in a stone bowl," it is prepared table side and served with house made chips, warm corn tortillas and condiment salsas. Rosa Mexicano is also known for the Frozen Pomegranate Margarita, as well as the stylish and festive ambiance that includes an illuminated water wall.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Posh Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

not a huge mexican fan - however the hand made guacamole was delish. I have a Shrimp and Jalapeño dish served with rice and tomato sauce, Shrimps were fresh and tasty.

BEST PART - Churro desert was EPIC, with 3 different sauces to dip, chocolate, caramel and raspberry. YUM YUM YUM.

Slightly more expensive than you average mexican but service and food delivered.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    111
    112
    71
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always anticipating the next visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have been to Rosa many times, and always look forward to a return visit. I recommend looking past their frozen margarita and explore their imaginative and unique cocktails. The table side guacamole is a must - so fresh and delicious! The only dish here that wasn't appetizing was a goat enchilada - turns out i don't like goat - but the waitress returned it to the kitchen without question, took it off the bill and promptly brought out the duck enchiladas - a MUST try! With every experience here the staff has made cocktails no longer on the menu - made us dishes for lunch that had been placed in the dinner menu, accommodated our requests without having to check with someone first - they really wanna take care of their guests and give you a great experience. Needless to say - the food is fresh and delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Decent Mexican food. Nothing stood out. The chicken tacos were good, but the corn totrtillas were very dry.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were at the National Harbor to enjoy the day with some family members. We got hurgry and my wife decided that she wanted some mexican food. So we said lets try this place. The service was great and the chips and guacamole were also good. I notice that the prices were a little higher than the norm for lunch meals. But since we got great service and the food was really good it didn't matter. Overall it was ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Does da trick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was there on weekday afternoon after work. Nice happy hour. Location is great, service was good. Tried the chile con queso which was surprisingly good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa Mexicano - National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.