We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Edgy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Washington National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Washington National Harbor to your Saves list
aloft Washington National Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Quite Edgy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in a Sheraton Athlone Hotel in Ireland which is part of the Starwood chain. I believe the standards of the Aloft are not quite up to the same standards. The room was clean and you had everything you needed. The view was excellent. The staff was helpful and pleasant. It had a nice bar area, In the seating area the chairs were too far apart to have a conversation. The room was small but you had a small desk, chair and a stool to put a suitcase on, They also had a small fridge which was very convenient. We purchased a groupon for one night so it was well worth the trip. The area was great.
I would stay there again with a groupon just not sure I would pay $200!

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the top floor. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear twinmom41,
Thank you for your review and taking advantage of our Groupon offer! We are happy you enjoyed the nice view from your guest room. It seems you are a loyal Starwood member, and sincerely we appreciate your business. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    206
    127
    72
    32
See reviews for
100
167
92
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took advantage of a Living Social special for a nicely discounted 2-night getaway for our anniversary. We found the property to definitely be design-focused, offering a hip experience that was pretty different from your typical generic chain. However, though it was well packaged and presented, it just wasn't our thing.

The lobby is on the second floor, which provides plenty of space for a (somewhat confusing at first glance) round check-in desk in the middle, several conversation areas, a pool table, a full-service bar with lounge, and a re:fuel self-service snack store with sandwiches, chips, fruit, coffee, etc. Full of hard surfaces and clean edges, the lobby gave me an instant feeling of unwelcome. But again, that's just my taste. The staff was efficient, though not overly friendly.

Although the second-floor lobby concept allowed for interesting multi-purpose space, I found it a bit annoying each time we re-entered the hotel to take stairs or an elevator from the small entrance lobby up to the second floor main lobby...cross the room...and then get another elavator to take us up one more floor to our room.

The guest area hallways continued the design-forward theme. The black carpet was edged on one side with a striped border, each of the doors had a tan stripe down one edge, and the flat light fixtures on the ceiling were draped with a coordinating striped canopy that created an interesting soft look. However, the overall effect was dark and claustrophobic and made me feel vaguely like I was in a cheap, outdated 70's hotel. Again, just not my thing.

The room, as expected, also had an edgy look. Immediately to the left as we entered was the sink area, which had a generously sized glass countertop and large mirror, as well as a modern vessel sink with a cool, tall single-handle faucet. Opposite the sink and counter was the...um...closet-type thing. This was an area where function took a back seat to design. The closet was like an open cabinet about 8 feet long, 5 feet high and a little less than 2 feet deep. In it were two short racks that slanted forward, each of which had a few stops mounted down its length. They were something like retail store fixtures, and clothes were hung on them facing forward. There wasn't a lot of room, and it seemed hard to get to the clothing, or to see the clothing that wasn't in front. The whole thing then could be closed off with sliding curtains that pulled in from each side. It was just weird, and not very functional. Beneath the closet were the closest thing to drawers that the room contained: two open bins, each set on a shelf. This made for very little drawer-type storage, and anything that went in the bins was in full view. Again, cool but not functional.

To the left of the closet was a shallow shelf with a small strip across the front. It reminded me of those magazine racks you see in doctor's offices, where the magazines lean against the little strip so you can see the front cover. I really wasn't sure how this storage was intended to be used in a hotel room.

At the far end of the counter/closet was another small room with the toiler and shower. An unusual design element I did like was the way this closed off with a sliding mirrored door. Another interesting design feature - the generously sized shower had a tall, narrow, frosted window that let in light from the main sleeping area. This kept the shower/toilet area from being completely without windows, yet others could not see in. Nice touch.

The shower head provided great pressure and we had plenty of hot water.

The main part of the room was nicely sized, with two queen platform beds. Padded headboards were comfortable to prop against, and built-in reading lights above the headboards were useful. A hip egg chair and retro 1950's Big Ben style alarm clock were details that added to the cool look of the room. Pull-down shades carried out the stripe theme and blocked out light nicely, eliminating that annoying gap found between the usual sliding hotel curtains.

The large flat-screen TV was nice; we did have trouble getting the remote to work correctly. It seemed to need just the right "touch."

The heating unit in our particular room seemed not to be feeling well; when it came on, it emitted a loud buzzing sound that was similar to an old-fashioned kitchen timer, or an alarm clock. It did an effective job of waking us several times the first night. We reported the problem to the desk, and when we returned to our room later the second day, the unit was operating silently. However, sometime during the second night, the buzz came back, intermittently. To their credit, the front desk had offered to move us to another room, but we chose to take our chances on the repair effort; had we been staying another night, we would have taken them up on the offer to move.

Parking was included in our Living Social package. When we first arrived at the hotel, we decided to park first and then go into the hotel; however, we had a bit of trouble determining where to park. If you are entering National Harbor on the main shopping street, Waterfront Place, you actually need to continue to the street just beyond the hotel (Mariner Passage) and turn left; then enter the public parking garage on your right.

When we walked out of the parking garage, we went straight ahead to try to get in the back door of the hotel (near Thai Pavilion), but although there was a small sign that seemed to indicate hotel guests could enter this door, there was nowhere to insert a key card. So the front door seems to be the only entry option.

The hotel has a great, convenient location in the middle of the main shopping strip. It is directly across from the Plaza Stage area and the marina. We liked being able to just pop across the street to board the water taxi to Alexandria.

Overall, this Aloft would be recommended for travelers who want something different than the usual generic hotel chain. With its edgy look (dubbed "Spartan chic" by my husband), mingling spaces and bar, and good location, it has some good things to offer. It just wasn't our kind of place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mcbeth2346,
Thank you for your thorough review and taking advantage of our Living Social special. Our hotel is certainly different then more traditional hotel offerings and we understand that the layout may not appeal to all of our travelers. While Aloft Hotels may not meet your own travel and design preferences, perhaps you will find that another of Starwood's family of brands is more to your liking. With so many world class hotels that all participate in the Starwood Preferred Guest program, it should be easy to find a hotel that is a perfect match for you! If your travels do bring you back to National Harbor or the DC metro area, we would love for you to consider giving us a second chance.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We took advantage of a Living Social deal for one night at Aloft. The furnishings were sparse and cheap-looking, but it was clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer. There was loud screaming and yelling/laughing in the middle of the night, but it didn't last too long. The coffee was terrible. The area is beautiful however, and there are lots of things to do and see in that compact little setting of National Harbor. We'd like to come back when it's warmer, but will probably stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear lisalove88,
Thank you for your review and taking advantage of our Living Social deal. We value all feedback from our guests as we constantly work to improve our service and facilities and provide a memorable experience. We apologize if our furnishings and coffee did not exceed your expectations. If given another opportunity, it would be a pleasure to regain your confidence in us.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I spent the night for our anniversary and enjoyed the NYC feel that the loft-like hotel gave. The lobby is very chic and the rooms make you feel like you're in Manhattan. We staeyd on the 8th floor and had an amazing view. The staff was essentially helpful, a young lady named Rim (sp?) was great at check in and the same friendly service was offered upon check out by a young, male, professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Niki M,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at Aloft Washington National Harbor. Happy belated anniversary to you and your husband! We are happy to read that our hotel gave you a NYC vibe. Your kind praises will be shared with our talent members, and we hope to invite you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Aloft is a great place to stay if you like to people watch or if you want to socialize.. Their lobby has a bar, pool table, comfy couches to chill on and sometimes live bands.. The staff is friendly, the rooms feel like a bedroom instead of a hours room.. The views of the harbor are great.. There is shopping and lots of restaurants to choose from nearby.. Guests of this hotel can use the free shuttle that will take you to union station, the old post office or to The King Street Metro Station.. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ccamii,
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed our hip amenities and friendly staff. The spectacular harbor views from our guest rooms are hard to beat here at National Harbor. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We took advantage of a recent Travelzoo special--2 nights for price of 1. Our 7th floor room faced the harbor, and the view was beautiful. However, there was no hot water for our first morning's showers, the TV didn't work, and the room's thermostat wasn't working either. The front desk staff said they were having trouble with the hotel's boiler. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean and very quiet. Overall the experience was positive, but could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear MichaelG46,
Thank you for your review and taking advantage of our recent Travelzoo promotion. We sincerely regret to learn of the details you experienced on the first morning of your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be addressed with our Executive Committee. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a much improved stay if given another opportunity.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Seven business travelers can be a hard to please group. This ALOFT hotel made sure all our needs were met. Katie and Van at the front desk are employees anyone would love to have--genuinely warm, efficient, thorough and accurate. The website photos showcase the sleek modern tone of the facility. Lastly, it was spotless!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Pegofmyheart1954,
Thank you for your rewarding feedback. We are thrilled to hear that all your needs were met while you were staying at the Aloft Washington National Harbor. We will be sure to share your praises with Katie and Van at the front desk. They too, will be very grateful to hear them. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Washington National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Washington National Harbor

Address: 156 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Washington National Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched along the Potomac River, aloft Washington National Harbor is steps from food and fun, easily accessible from all airports, and just 15 minutes from downtown DC. We offer a courtesy shuttle service between National Harbor and three key area destinations (King Street Metro Station, Old Post Office Pavilion, and Union Station). The service is FREE for guests-passengers should simply present their hotel key card. New Water Taxi service DIRECT from National Harbor to the National Mall and Georgetown. Have an electric car? Aloft Washington National Harbor offers the perfect parking solution just for you! Our garage offers Plug-In Electric Vehicle charging stations. Parking is located at Mariner Passage Garage. Instructions if a guest elects to add parking to their bill: 1) Inform our Front Desk Talent that you desire to add parking to your bill. 2) As you enter the parking garage, press the button for a ticket. 3) When exiting the parking garage, insert the paper ticket you received followed by your room key. 4) If you are returning back, press the button for another ticket and repeat the exiting procedure. Daily parking fee applies. Don't forget to shop over 85 brands at Tanger Outlets just over a mile from National Harbor. Coming soon: a 175-foot 17-story observation wheel will be constructed at National Harbor set to debut in May 2014! Also, Walrus Oyster and Ale House will be opening at the base of the Aloft building in the Spring of 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your aloft Washington National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Washington National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill
Aloft Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Washington National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.