We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Washington National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Washington National Harbor to your Saves list
aloft Washington National Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Severn, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great views, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We took advantage of a recent Travelzoo special--2 nights for price of 1. Our 7th floor room faced the harbor, and the view was beautiful. However, there was no hot water for our first morning's showers, the TV didn't work, and the room's thermostat wasn't working either. The front desk staff said they were having trouble with the hotel's boiler. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean and very quiet. Overall the experience was positive, but could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear MichaelG46,
Thank you for your review and taking advantage of our recent Travelzoo promotion. We sincerely regret to learn of the details you experienced on the first morning of your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be addressed with our Executive Committee. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a much improved stay if given another opportunity.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    206
    127
    72
    32
See reviews for
100
167
92
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Seven business travelers can be a hard to please group. This ALOFT hotel made sure all our needs were met. Katie and Van at the front desk are employees anyone would love to have--genuinely warm, efficient, thorough and accurate. The website photos showcase the sleek modern tone of the facility. Lastly, it was spotless!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Pegofmyheart1954,
Thank you for your rewarding feedback. We are thrilled to hear that all your needs were met while you were staying at the Aloft Washington National Harbor. We will be sure to share your praises with Katie and Van at the front desk. They too, will be very grateful to hear them. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Let me begin by saying that this hotel had some very good qualities. We checked in with a huge group of people and it was so fast and easy, that I couldn't believe it. Last year we checked into a competitor's hotel for the same function and it took over an hour to check in. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. However, In order to get in and out of the hotel, you must take two sets of elevators. We never had to wait long, but it did take some effort to get up and down from the rooms. There was one ice machine on the 8th floor and on our last day, the hot water ran out. There are no drawers, just a makeshift kind of closet to hang items so we had to leave all other clothing in the suitcase. It was modern and clean and was located conveniently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear GNRoney,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn your check-in was fast and easy. Allow us to apologize if the process of getting in and out of the hotel caused any inconvenience. We are pleased you found our accommodations clean and conveniently located. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was similar to the aloft in Dallas, however we were given a handicap room which we did not request or need. It was not really a problem although we would have preferred to have a regular bathroom. Our room was clean, but we did notice the hallway must have been undergoing some repair as the baseboards were removed from the the wall and the wall paper was loose on the 6th floor. The staff at the desk was extremely friendly greeting each guest as they returned to the lobby. I think the contemporary decor is a fun change from the usual hotel furniture and the bed was comfortable. We are staying at the aloft in Dallas next weekend and would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Kaye N,
Thank you for your review. We apologize if your accessible guest room was not what you had originally requested, but glad it did not pose a problem during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our contemporary decor and extremely friendly talent members. It would be exciting to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Used a "Travelzoo" promotion to stay one night at the Aloft at Washington's National Harbor. Nice hotel (although the lobby furniture is not that attractive), comfortable rooms with nice views on the harbor side and easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Great for a romantic get away. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear RAK_Springfield,
Thank you for your review and taking advantage of our Travelzoo promotion at the Aloft Washington National Harbor. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my second time staying in National Harbor. The first time was a disappointment in a giant resort with a less than hospitable front desk that added fees at check-in. That was not the case at the Aloft. I was expecting the same, but was pleasantly surprised.The Check in girl (Rim) was extremely helpful. The accomadations were very modern and I liked the charging station that enabled hook up to the TV from a PC or IPHONE.The location by the water was perfect.
I also found the front desk manager (Van) to be very helpful. I stayed here because the business I was dealing with suggested it. I will choose Aloft for any future stays in National Harbor.

Room Tip: I went through Tripadvisor. That connected me with Expedia. They had a room special that dropped the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear VegasViper,
Thank you for your review. We are excited to read how much you enjoyed our hospitable talent members. Your praises will be shared with Rim and Van, and they will be happy to hear them as well. It gives us great pleasure to read that you will choose Aloft for any future stays at National Harbor.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and mother and found it to be very nice. The decor was very modern and I liked the room, especially the peek-through from the shower into the room. The room was clean and the amenities very nice and even though the room was small, everything was very compact and there was no wasted space.

I have stayed at many hotels, both in the United States and abroad. I found this one to be a more "do-it-yourself" type in terms of the check-in/check-out process. While the folks at the front desk were very nice and accommodating, I found them to be very young and inexperienced. I didn't see any manager on duty but it was 9 PM when we checked in. As guests, you are responsible for getting your luggage to your room. You enter the hotel at street level and have to grab a luggage cart, which you take to the 2nd floor. From there, they check you in and then you take your luggage cart with you to your room. No bell hop, no baggage assistance. After travelling several hours to get to our destination, a little help would have been appreciated.

My biggest complaint about this place was the extremely loose atmosphere as it applied to the dress code. Returning from dinner on a Saturday night, we passed the bank of complimentary computers, only to spot a guest without shoes, rubbing his feet, eating his snack and working the keyboard. I had wanted to use the computers but the sight of this just turned my stomach. Like any decent establishment, they should have a "No shirt, no shoes, no service" policy. While I understand that it's hard to police your guests, there should have been someone from the hotel who noticed what was going on.

Overall, it was a nice hotel but not one that I would frequent again. It has a long way to go to live up to the W hotel chain standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at aloft Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear HappyVacationer57,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our modern guest room and the peak-through window from the bathroom shower. We regret if the lack of bell hop caused any inconvenience upon your arrival. It disappoints us to learn that you discovered a guest wearing no shoes while using our amenities. This type of behavior is not tolerated, and will be addressed with our Executive Committee. Thank you for bringing to our attention. If given another chance, we hope to welcome you back in hopes of regaining your confidence and trust in our property..
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Washington National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Washington National Harbor

Address: 156 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Washington National Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched along the Potomac River, aloft Washington National Harbor is steps from food and fun, easily accessible from all airports, and just 15 minutes from downtown DC. We offer a courtesy shuttle service between National Harbor and three key area destinations (King Street Metro Station, Old Post Office Pavilion, and Union Station). The service is FREE for guests-passengers should simply present their hotel key card. New Water Taxi service DIRECT from National Harbor to the National Mall and Georgetown. Have an electric car? Aloft Washington National Harbor offers the perfect parking solution just for you! Our garage offers Plug-In Electric Vehicle charging stations. Parking is located at Mariner Passage Garage. Instructions if a guest elects to add parking to their bill: 1) Inform our Front Desk Talent that you desire to add parking to your bill. 2) As you enter the parking garage, press the button for a ticket. 3) When exiting the parking garage, insert the paper ticket you received followed by your room key. 4) If you are returning back, press the button for another ticket and repeat the exiting procedure. Daily parking fee applies. Don't forget to shop over 85 brands at Tanger Outlets just over a mile from National Harbor. Coming soon: a 175-foot 17-story observation wheel will be constructed at National Harbor set to debut in May 2014! Also, Walrus Oyster and Ale House will be opening at the base of the Aloft building in the Spring of 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your aloft Washington National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Washington National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill
Aloft Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Washington National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.