We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Large comfortable room directly across the street from the Gaylord convention center. Desk, full size fridge, nice staff and a decent hot breakfast. just steps from the waterfront. Small, but uncrowned gym. pool is very small.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINationalHarbor, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. We are glad to have provided you with a comfortable and convenient place to stay at the Residence Inn National Harbor. We appreciate your feedback about the gym and the pool and will most certainly take that into consideration for future renovations. We hope that you choose the Residence Inn National Harbor for any upcoming stays should you be in the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    80
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
30
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed one night- Great hospitality from the staff- only issue with the hotel I found and wanted to share is that the indoor pool was too small and boring as far as pools for a Marriott goes- it looked dirty so we didn't use it. The remainder of the hotel was immaculate, and breakfast was awesome.

I was really looking forward to getting some nice rest and good sleep as I usually do at a Marriott, BUT.....

BEWARE..you will not sleep if you get a room on the front of the hotel (side with the registration, facing the Gaylord Hotel), sometimes you will hear people yelling and having a good time..that is expected- but they end up moving on and all is quiet..what remains though...you will hear yelling at all hours from THE TAXI DRIVERS. They scream at eachother, blast their car horns at eachother (from short toots to long blaring blasts), and generally drive like nutballz through the streets. I observed them blocking traffic to talk to eachother, forcing other cars to drive around them into on-coming lanes and around pedestrians.... Seems that looking for that next fare is a street war for them, without regard to anyone around. To wrap it up, they use the marriott registration parking circle to wait for the next fare. We were on the 6th floor- LOUD- LOUD-LOUD.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the front of the hotel- see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINationalHarbor, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad our hotel was able to provide a satisfactory breakfast and hotel amenities. I apologize for your discontent with the pool; our staff do clean it on a regular basis, but I will make sure to pass on your concerns to ensure the pool's cleanliness. I also apologize for the noise level from your room. National Harbor is a rather popular attraction amongst tourists and locals, and depending on the event, it can get rather boisterous. This is out of the hotel's control, but in the future should you choose to stay with us, please do not hesitate to reach out to someone on the management team or our Front Desk to request a quiet room. We will be more than happy to accomodate you. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn National Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Directly across from the Gaylord Resort, this property is the perfect location if you want to get away from all the usual convention stuff when attending a conference. Free continental breakfast with garage parking for $13. Rooms are large and beautifully appointed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Last week we stayed at this hotel. The hotel has a fantastic location. After visiting in DC and the surrounding area it was the perfect place to return. The property is pretty new and well maintained. There were 2 large family reunions staying there. Each morning at breakfast they were literally slammed and the handled it perfectly. Personnel are all very friendly and helpful. The area is also fantastic. There are many restaurants and shops. Located right on the harbor water taxis were readily available. There is a fantastic ferris wheel located right at the waters edge. At night it constantly changes colors. From our room we had a great view of the harbor as well as the Gaylord National Hotel across the street. Saturday evening there was a awesome fireworks display. So, for families, couples or business folks the area provides an eventful, but relaxing place to spend the evening after a hard day sightseeing or doing business. For folks that like to shop there is an upscale Tanger Mall nearby and shuttle service to it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this residence inn during a family picnic weekend. It was very typical of most residence inn with the extra space. I found it to be a bit tight and not as spacious as most I have visited. I was a bit disappointed with the room service. I thought they'd run the dishwasher but found out later they didn't run it. I found that odd since most RI's run the dishwasher. Also we returned to our room on the third day at 8:00 PM to find that the housekeeping staff had left and did not service our room. When we asked about it they wanted to know if we left a sign on the door which we did not. They apologized and brought up some towels. Also when we returned to our room there was water all over the kitchen floor and the maintenance people kept asking us how it got there! Because of the extra space and convenience to the Harbor attractions, we might recommend it as a last option but not as a first choice. Also, their parking was subject to the garage across the street and they had to charge $13 per day for parking. Our view was also AWFUL even though we requested something better. We had to look at the parking garage every day. Be sure to check the drawers before you put your clothes in them. I found them to be dirty and dusty. In addition several of the major tv channels like MSNBC was missing even though it was a channel we were supposed to get. We complained but to no avail. Disappointed by that. The only positive would be the daily breakfast. It was good as was the service. Other than that if you have a choice, stay somewhere else for the price.

Room Tip: Not sure since they would not give us a better view. The odd numbered rooms seem to face the garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINationalHarbor, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pittworld ,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us; the Management Team would like to inquire some more information from you in reference to you previous stay, so we may take the appropriate actions to address the many areas of concerns for your stay. We would like to invite you to reach out to our Operations Manager at 301-265-4044.
We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for any unpleasant surprises during your stay. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Thank you for coming down to our Gatehouse for breakfast.

Looking forward to greeting you back to the National Harbor area.

Warmest Regards,
National Harbor Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've stayed at all the hotels in National Harbor and hands down felt this hotel not only had one of the best views for the money but was perfectly located! The front desk staff were great, very helpful and even had a free pass for Bobby McKeys! The rooms are well laid out, not large but nice for 2 ppl. The in room kitchen was nice and best of all the room and hotel was clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I and our fifteen year old grandson recently stayed here at National Harbor. The hotel staff was pleasant and I probably would return but please know that despite the great location, the units are smaller than the typical Residence Inn and we found a few things lacking that we are used to at other Residence Inn properties. The kitchen did not come equipped with liquid detergent which made it impossible to wash any kitchen items unless you used the dishwasher. We had to call down for the bedding materials for the pullout which wasn't very comfortable at all to sleep on. As a platinum member we thought we might receive an upgrade to a one bedroom unit but the upgrade was to a unit with a view of the river. Many Marriott hotel types are now choosing to upgrade to what they consider a better view and not to a larger room type. Stinginess about upgrades eventually will turn off loyal Marriott clients.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.