We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible for business. The wifi is free because it doesn't work.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible for business. The wifi is free because it doesn't work.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Terrible. The hotel is located in an area business travelers frequent and they don't have usable wifi. I wouldn't stay here if you are planning on getting any work done. It's pretty embarrassing when customers have to resort to going across the street to the Gaylord if they want to go online. I would not stay here again, there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    72
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
27
18
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just spent two days in National Harbor and enjoyed staying at this hotel. The hotel is convenient to all the local shops and restaurants. Checking in was easy and the desk personnel were welcoming. The room was comfortable and we had a nice view of the harbor. Everything was spotless and all the employees we encountered were very helpful. This is a great place to stay while in the DC area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you had an enjoyable time in National Harbor and thank you for the opportunity to provide you with a perfect stay. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor Leadership team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We got to the Residence Inn at about 9pm on a Saturday with my three young children. When I got there, I asked that the crib -- which I clearly put on my reservation -- be brought to my room. But the front desk said they didn't have any cribs. I was furious since it was late, and I had specifically requested a crib... I just needed an email/phone call ahead of time that there weren't any, and I would have brought a pack and play. The only other option was to put my 2-year old on a cot, but the Residence Inn said this was not allowed since it was a fire hazard. I knew if my daughter was in bed with us, no one would sleep so it wasn't worth it.

The staff at the Residence Inn was totally unsympathetic and didn't offer any advice. I had to cancel the reservation and call around to find another place to stay. I called Aloft, but for some reason even putting a crib in a room with two beds was a fire hazard, which seems ridiculous considering most families have two children. Finally, we got a room at the Westin which was more expensive and didn't include breakfast. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding your request for a crib. Although we make best attempt to honor all of our guest's requests there are times in which in house guests currently utilizing cribs need to extend additional nights which limits our ability to provide this amenity. Similar to the Aloft hotel, the reason we do not offer and are unable to place roll-away beds in our guests rooms to avoid a potential fire hazard.

Once again our sincere apologies for your experience, and we hope that when your future travels bring you to National Harbor you consider our hotel.

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor Leadership team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The main points: our room (1 bedroom suite) was clean and comfy. The breakfast seemed to be a step up from normal hotel breakfasts, which was nice. And free weights in the workout room is a great touch!

A few things: We asked for a late checkout, and "No, we can't do that." OK... Since our room had a box of tissues with the end-of-box tissues (you know, the off-white ones), and we didn't have the usual extra, we asked and "We don't have any here, but we'll make sure they put some in there today!" (we were checking out). We had phone chargers but many of the outlets were loose enough that they literally would slip out and quit charging. Parking is across the street in a garage - pretty easy unless the elevator is out. "Yeah, we know - someone is supposed to look at it today." Here's a suggestion - put signs on the door? And, "Is there a coffee shop open now?" "Oh yeah, {name}, it's on American Way." "Where is that?" "American Way." Sorry, we're not from here, so you should give directions. We found it and it had closed 2 hours ago. No receipt under the door: do they usually? "Yeah, we didn't have anyone last night who could do it." And finally, the Internet seems to be based in the center of the building as ours was very slow and we heard someone else a the desk with the same complaint, in a corner room.

It was unusual to really feel like you were bothering folks at the desk with your questions. And to be fair, you can't blame them for each of these individual things, and the little things do add up ... but it sure seemed like the staff could step it up a notch.

Would we stay again? Since there are 5 or so pretty nice places right there, I would shop around for prices next time.

Room Tip: Internet seems to work better in some rooms - my guess is rooms toward the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback in regards to your suite as well as the breakfast!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service that was provided throughout your stay. Please know this is not the norm for our team and your feedback will be shared with our staff so we can ensure this does not happen in the future.

We certainly hope that if your future travels bring to the National Harbor area, you will consider our hotel.

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here as it had the best rate of the hotels in National Harbor and was convenient to a family event being held at a nearby hotel.

The hotel itself is a clean, new Residence Inn. I was upgraded to a view room (the view was of the Gaylord Hotel across the street). The non-view rooms look out at the parking deck behind the building. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and well set up if you were sticking around for a few days. I wasn't that hungry at breakfast, but it appeared to be a typical Residence Inn breakfast.

As a whole, I'm no fan of National Harbor as a destination. But, if you are going to be there for a few days, this hotel is worth considering. It is clean, convenient and quiet--it has a no partying policy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Potomac have a decent view (two per floor). The other ones, less so. Also, a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a hotel, it is a perfectly passable one...that's about it. The service is ok, the access is ok, even the included breakfast is ok...powdered eggs and all.

What really made this hotel stand out in a bad way was the room itself. The furnishings were mediocre at best and the living room chair was even ripped. For the price you pay, you should also get a decent TV. They only provide a 30-odd inch TV and the reception is abysmal. The towels were not always clean and clean-smelling...to me, these are the core of a hotel's business and I wouldn't be surprised to learn that in the near future this hotel lost business, especially when the Gaylord National is just across the street. Overall, just an average hotel made even worse by the substandard accomodations.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for visiting DC. There is a free shuttle to the metro train which will take you to all the sites. You can take a water taxi to Alexandria which is very charming. You also get a great free breakfast every morning. The staff was very helpful & the hotel was very clean. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.