We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Shadow of The Gaylord, But Not Overshadowed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In The Shadow of The Gaylord, But Not Overshadowed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn at National Harbor for the MUSE Conference. As a late attendee, I was unable to get a room at The Gaylord Resort. Initially, I was a bit saddened at not securing a room; however, I was not disappointed by my second choice.

First, the Residence Inn is directly across the street from The Gaylord, which facilitated the attendance at the conference. While it may not have the grandeur of The Gaylord, the Residence Inn is not exactly second rate.

The staff is friendly and attentive. The check-in process was quick and efficient. I was in my room within a few minutes of my arrival.

My room was just a few steps from the elevator, and if any of you have read my previous reviews, you know I like to request rooms far from elevators. However, in this case, the elevator was so quiet, I didn't mind it at all. Additionally, the elevator is secure. It requires a room key to operate, which adds to the safety of the facility (not that the area is unsafe, but it adds to one's piece of mind).

My room was a studio, but it felt more like a one-bedroom. It was spacious, inviting, and extremely well-kept. The kitchen area included granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. The TV was a high-definition flat-screen with premium channels and could be viewed from either the couch or bed. There was a small sofa and chair and both were comfortable. The work area was sufficient with a good-sized desk. The free Wi-Fi had a strong signal, and I did not experience any drops with my Internet service.

Speaking of the bed, it was beyond comfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on clouds! I need to discover Marriott's bedding secrets, so I can duplicate it at home! I'm always pleased by their beds, pillows (and there are a lot of pillows!), and sheets. I always feel like I'm at someone's home rather than a hotel. Keep up the good work there!

The closet space was adequate, and it housed a standard-sized ironing board and iron. There was sufficient space for hanging clothes as well as shelving for other items.

Although there was only one sink, the vanity was long enough to accommodate two sinks and still have enough counter space. The shower was clean, and the tile work expertly done. The toiletries were top-notch. I also had plenty of towels at my disposal. And, yes, I do hang them and reuse, so I am water conscious.

The free breakfast had a variety of hot entrees, cereals, yogurts, and fresh fruits. The Belgian waffle maker was the biggest hits for both adults and children. The dining area was inviting, comfortable, and naturally lit thanks to its large windows. The outdoor patio was also accessible and provided an alternative dining experience.

There was also a free happy hour in the afternoon; however, I did not participate, thus I cannot provide a proper review. However, if I had to guess on its quality based upon my positive experiences, I would venture to say it is worth the stop.

The Residence Inn is just around the corner from great restaurants/pubs. I recommend the Cadillac Ranch's steak salad as well as their flatbread pizzas. I also recommend Harrington's Pub. Great bar food and burgers. And I highly recommend the Irish Car Bomb (Guinness beer with Jamison Whiskey, and Bailey's Irish Cream chasers) for dessert! Probably less calories than a standard dessert, and it comes it a liquid form, thus it's easier to finish!

If you're looking to stay in Washington DC for business, I wouldn't recommend this or any other hotel in the National Harbor area as it is a bit of a drive to DC. However, for vacationing/visiting purposes, there are tours available at reasonable prices from the hotel.

This said, I would rather stay in the Harbor area than in DC--one needs to relax after a full day of visiting the Mall!

One con of the area, not the hotel: the area has heavy air flight activity, especially during the early morning rush. So, if you're a light sleeper, this might be an issue if you choose The Residence Inn. If sleep is a major concern, I would recommend The Gaylord as the rooms are a bit more isolated against outside noise. Just remember, your sleep will come at a premium price as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel. This may help reduce some of the air traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
56
29
18
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed at Residence Inn National Harbor during a convention. Convention was at the Gaylord which is directly across the street. Residence Inn was much less expensive. Don't really need a car, unless you want one. The National Harbor area has several restaurants, a CVS grocery and you can take the water taxi to Alexandria to catch the Metro or go to Mount Vernon or Georgetown. Residence Inn suite was clean, had kitchen with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and two burner cooktop. Includes dishes, flatware, pans, etc. Housekeeping is available daily, if you want it. Would definitely stay there again! Note......the frozen French bread pizza needs to be cooked in a toaster/conventional oven which is NOT available here!

Room Tip: corner rooms are largest, rooms facing the Gaylord also have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was at the Residence Inn in National Harbor for a week on business. Very clean. Nicely decorated. Staff was helpful. Good breakfast. Didn't have time to use pool or exercise facilities, but they looked good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I typically stay at the Gaylord across the street. This time we thought we would try something new and save over $100 for the night. We were very pleased with the size of the room. As others have said, the bathroom are small. The small kitchenette was nice, especially if you brought snacks. The breakfast the following morning was a nice bonus! Parking was very convenient and easier than our last valet experience at the Gaylord. It's a quick walk across the street to the Gaylord if you want to hang out in the atrium. There are lots if nice bars and restaurants which are a short walk. I would stay here again, especially since I was able to save over $100 for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Residence Inn is a very nice alternative to the Gaylord which is right across the street. The hot breakfast, evening reception, free internet and kitchen in the rooms are very nice. The fitness center was also nice. The entire staff was friendly. As has been mentioned in other reviews, National Harbor is expensive and if you are coming to the area to go to DC, this would probably not be your best option. The hotel rate was high (due to the number of conventions) and there is a charge for parking (cheaper than the Gaylord). The pool and hot tub were closed for renovations during the stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and I got a harbor view which was very nice!

The service was excellent and my business stay went very well. This hotel is not near downtown DC or near Metro - I had business in Southeast DC so the location was perfect but beware if you are looking to sight see, etc.

Room Tip: top floor - facing the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a very nicely appointed, well-maintained hotel with a helpful, efficient staff. It's directly across the street from the Gaylord Conference Center and is within walking distance of quite a few good restaurants.

The rooms are typically spacious (though the bathrooms are small) and comfortable. Parking is available for $11 per day, which is pretty reasonable for the area.

There are a few things to think about when planning your visit.

They advertise a shuttle to the Metro. They do partner with other hotels to offer this shuttle, but it runs only every 90 minutes and is not terribly convenient. The hotel is only a block from a Metro bus stop, which offers transportation to a Metro station about every 30 minutes, at a cost of $1.70 (cash) per person each way. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the station. The bottom line is that if you're planning to travel to the museums, monuments, etc. you should plan at least two hours of travel per day.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast every morning. It's quite adequate, though the staff sometimes has a little trouble keeping up with demand.

They also offer a "hospitality" event most evenings. It's billed as being from 6 - 7:30 p.m., but in our experience, if you weren't there by 6:30 virtually everything was gone. When they run out of whatever they're offering (soup, chili, burgers, etc.), that's it. This bordered on false advertising.

Overall, it's a pretty good value if you've got time for the additional travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.