We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
lilskjbaby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the weekend after Valentine's day as a weekend get away. The hotel was pretty crowded bc there was a big convention across the street at the Gaylord. The front desk originally said their parking lot was full, but after going to the room that faced the parking lot we saw that there were plenty of spaces on the roof. The rooms are very comfy as well as large. The tv can swivel, so we got some takeout from a restaurant (to avoid a long wait) and turned the tv so we could watch the all star game while eating. A very nice option. The front desk did give good directions to go to the museums in dc. She helpfully told us that driving was much easier than going to a subway which was our plan. No complaints aside from the intial misinformation from the front desk about parking. And in order to avoid paying each time for parking, we had to buzz the assistant and say our room number to get out. Which I think is more on the parking garage than the hotel, but still a hassle. They do have a free breakfast which I normally love. I've stayed here before and it usually runs smoothly, but bc of the convention guests we had to wait about 5minutes for every item bc they kept running out. Would gladly stay again but will check to make sure their isn't a huge convention those same days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
29
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel across just opposite the Gaylord, right next to restaurant district so the location is really good. Clean, comfortable suites and service was fine. Great alternative to Gaylord if you detest walking a mile to your room from the lobby.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had to find an alternative to the Hampton so spent night 2 of time at National Harbor here. Chose because they did not charge the per person resort fee like the Gaylord. Great location, outstanding staff. Rooms had only partial view of any water (mostly just buildings) so don't pay the extra like me for an end room, not really worth it. Clean and restful sleep. Overall a great time!

Room Tip: If you do book a suite on the water side go 5th floor or higher. 4th floor and below blocked by buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn National Harbor in February for a convention. It was wonderful. We had a one king bed room that was large and well laid out. Even the sofa bed was really comfortable (which was a nice surprise because many times they aren't). The wonderful staff was able to check us in early and made sure that we had extra bedding and even gave us an extra comforter to make the sofa bed even more comfy. Having the refrigerator for leftovers and snacks was very handy.

The breakfast was a hot breakfast (eggs, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, etc.) and it was a nice surprise and delicious. Perfect way to start the day!

This is a wonderful property and I will definitely stay there again when I am in National Harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We checked-in for a "staycation" and it was such a awesome experience.The staff was very nice and the room was very spacious. We eally had a good time and we are looking forward to booking more "staycations"at this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Althought the overall stay at this property was excellent including the room, which as is the case with every Residence Inn is a mini suite configuration, and the included hot breakfast buffet, we chose the hotel based on the presence of a hot tub at the facility. However, after we checked in and visited the hot tub/pool area we were informed the hot tub was malfunctioning and was not available for use. We understand this is an unforeseen problem but it did put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay. I've had recent back surgery and use hot tubs as part of my continuing recovery therapy, so needless to say I did miss, although just one day of it, a day of therapy. Outside of that issue, the hotel itself is clean, comfortable and quiet. It's also a good opportunity to try out a memory foam mattress for those of us who might be in the market for a new mattress at some point. Probably the best part of the stay is the hot breakfast buffet. It was by far the tastiest, hottest, freshest meal we had anywhere at National Harbor, and we didn't even have to pay extra for it. But finally, as is the case with every business at National Harbor, it is quite obvious that they are being "subsidized" by the National Harbor community management orgainization, and ultimately the government, to assure the area's survival. The end result is that service is just ok as they know that it frankly doesn't matter whether or not good service is provided because the money will still keep coming in regardless.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Gaylord and you'll have a view of the river as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I always try to stay at Marriott properties because I like their beds, plus they are consistently good. I stayed two nights here recently. There were four of us: two parents and two children. The hotel is conveniently located at National Harbor. It was pretty cold, so I didn't really get a chance to go around to the various places.

The room was fairly roomy. It was extremely clean. When checking in, I had to sign a "no party" agreement. Apparently, there's been trouble with large groups in rooms. I have no problem with this type of agreement.

The only trouble during the visit was the first night. There were only king-sized beds with pullout coaches. My son and I were going to sleep on the coach, while my wife and daughter got the bed. The problem was the mattress on the coach was very thin, plus when it was pulled out, the head of the bed was a good six inches higher that the foot. It made sleeping very uncomfortable. We called the manager, and he made arrangements for us to go to another room. In fact, because of the inconvenience, we were given an upgrade.

We had another problem in checking out. Again, the same manager took charge of the problem.

The food was good. It was better than the usual Residence Inn.

Again, we enjoyed everything about our stay. It's a classy place with a great staff and a great location. We have all ready made plans to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.