We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE ~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
College Park, Maryland
1 review
“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We checked-in for a "staycation" and it was such a awesome experience.The staff was very nice and the room was very spacious. We eally had a good time and we are looking forward to booking more "staycations"at this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
32
19
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Althought the overall stay at this property was excellent including the room, which as is the case with every Residence Inn is a mini suite configuration, and the included hot breakfast buffet, we chose the hotel based on the presence of a hot tub at the facility. However, after we checked in and visited the hot tub/pool area we were informed the hot tub was malfunctioning and was not available for use. We understand this is an unforeseen problem but it did put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay. I've had recent back surgery and use hot tubs as part of my continuing recovery therapy, so needless to say I did miss, although just one day of it, a day of therapy. Outside of that issue, the hotel itself is clean, comfortable and quiet. It's also a good opportunity to try out a memory foam mattress for those of us who might be in the market for a new mattress at some point. Probably the best part of the stay is the hot breakfast buffet. It was by far the tastiest, hottest, freshest meal we had anywhere at National Harbor, and we didn't even have to pay extra for it. But finally, as is the case with every business at National Harbor, it is quite obvious that they are being "subsidized" by the National Harbor community management orgainization, and ultimately the government, to assure the area's survival. The end result is that service is just ok as they know that it frankly doesn't matter whether or not good service is provided because the money will still keep coming in regardless.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Gaylord and you'll have a view of the river as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I always try to stay at Marriott properties because I like their beds, plus they are consistently good. I stayed two nights here recently. There were four of us: two parents and two children. The hotel is conveniently located at National Harbor. It was pretty cold, so I didn't really get a chance to go around to the various places.

The room was fairly roomy. It was extremely clean. When checking in, I had to sign a "no party" agreement. Apparently, there's been trouble with large groups in rooms. I have no problem with this type of agreement.

The only trouble during the visit was the first night. There were only king-sized beds with pullout coaches. My son and I were going to sleep on the coach, while my wife and daughter got the bed. The problem was the mattress on the coach was very thin, plus when it was pulled out, the head of the bed was a good six inches higher that the foot. It made sleeping very uncomfortable. We called the manager, and he made arrangements for us to go to another room. In fact, because of the inconvenience, we were given an upgrade.

We had another problem in checking out. Again, the same manager took charge of the problem.

The food was good. It was better than the usual Residence Inn.

Again, we enjoyed everything about our stay. It's a classy place with a great staff and a great location. We have all ready made plans to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a few days at National Harbor for a pleasant family get away before the influx of Inauguaral attendees arrived.

It was great to find that the National Harbor hotels had rooms available so close to the MLK weekend. We decided to stay at the Residence Inn which a 5 minute walk from the Gaylord at half the cost : -) - Big Plus!

As a Marriott member I was pleased with the hotel. Traveling with family, we were in a corner 2 room suite which was just perfect for us.

At check in it did seem a little weird that you have to sign a room/person "No Party" waiver. It leads me to think that since the summer an event took place and a group got out of control. AnyWay...it was a good time, close distance to good food choices, shoppes and a view of the harbor.

A very good option for families and other groups who like nice things, enjoy breakfast and if there during the week days will be treated to a Manager's social.

Thanks to Joseph with his aid with the TV...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a staycation there, Space was clean and nice, staff were nice, breakfast was good. Overall nice place for a wknd staycation. Right across the street from the gaylord. Very close to everything, will be a great location to walk around in the spring time. I will recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for the long weekend with my two young kids and husband. Parking is in the garage behind the hotel @ $11.50/day. We had a 2 bed/2 bath suite @$300/night for MLK Jr./Inauguration Weekend. Quiet, clean suite, nice kitchen. View of water from one bedroom and street from the other. We spent lots of time at the indoor pool, which had a lifeguard and a hot tub. Nice, compact exercise room with two treadmills, free weights, and two ellipticals. Nice lobby and hotel staff offered to turn on outside patio fire pit just for us (we declined, but how nice!). Excellent hot breakfast - eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, bagels, muffins, pancakes, juices. Food staff was attentive with refilling trays and cleaning up. And Gaylord is right across the street (for twice the price for same night).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn in National Harbor Mayrland for ICE Featuring Shrek The Halls from January 4 through 6. While we have been to National Harbor several times, this was our first stay at the Residence Inn. We usually stay at the Gaylord. This is a great and affordable option. The hotel lobby area is large and comfortable with a 2 sided fireplace, which was a very nice touch as it was below freezing when we checked in. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

We were in a 1 bedroom suite on the 6th floor that had a fantastic view of the water. The suite was good sized with a seperate sitting area with a pull out couch, full kitchen and flat screen HD TV. My 8 year old loved the (very small) pool and there was a small gym with a few treadmills, stationary bikes and free weights.

The free breakfast buffet was not bad, definately good to start off our day with a hot(ish) meal. Free coffee was available throught the day. Because we stayed on the weekend, we did not take advantage of the Manager's Reception available Monday through Thursday.

Everything at National Harbor is within walking distance, so we were able to walk to eat and play. The hotel is located right across the street from the Gaylord (now also a Marriott Hotel) and next to Grace's Mandarin. Parking was in the Mariner lot across from the back entrance to the hotel. Parking was $11.50 per day with the hotel discount, half as much as it costs to park at the Gaylord.

My only complaint is the noise. The hotel makes you sign a no party waiver. I assumed everyone must sign this but it isn't really enforced. I saw several large groups bringing food, drinks,cakes, etc up to rooms using the hotels luggage carts. Nothing was said and I would not normally care (to each his/her own) except at one point kids were running up and down the hallways and management knocked on our door looking for culprits while my son was at the pool with his dad.

But overall the stay was good and it's good to have a reasonably priced option at National Harbor.

Room Tip: Room 601 is a one bedroom suite with a great wiew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.