We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington National Harbor to your Saves list
The Westin Washington National Harbor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

nice place. pretty good location. room service was excellent. only problems we had were the number of towels and washcloths received daily were always a different number. the last night we were there someone must have been having a party in their room and sound was coming through the vent. we taped cardboard over it and that took care of it. My only other complaint was the quality of the toilet paper.

Room Tip: ask for a room wit water view or a corner view of street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the coments. We will share them with the staff, as they like to hear that their efforts are noticed. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    61
    30
    24
See reviews for
52
74
32
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Nice small hotel with some of the feel and amneties of the big hotels. There is no parking available. Parking lot is $12/night half a block down, no big deal a 30 second walk. Nice restaurants around and small retail stores.

Room Tip: harbor view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again the next time your business brings you to the harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Westin in National Harbor is in a great location. It is right on the pier by the Ferris wheel and is a quick 5 minute walk to the large gaylord national harbor where large conferences are held. There is also a ton of shopping, bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport so try to avoid coming or going during rush hour as it will be a very long trip then. It is also a quick ride to the Nationals stadium and Olde Towne Alexandria which is a historic town with shopping and dining. You can also grab the water taxi to get there too.

There's also a nice indoor pool/jacuzzi and gym at the place which is adequate.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to hear of your satisfaction with your stay. Please come back and visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here with my kids for one night on a DC sightseeing trip. So glad I paid half price on Hotwire, because it's totally not worth it for full price. The front desk staff is not very nice. Prior to my arrival, I was told that there were plenty of king rooms available. When I arrived, I was told that there were none. When we were finally able to check in, a different front desk clerk said that yes there were king rooms available. It was obvious that he wanted to get me and my 4 kids out of the lobby and quick. My younger two were prancing around the lobby seating area in typical 5 year old fashion, and he looked annoyed by this. The king room they gave us had clearly been flooded at some point, as there were 2 ratty looking dehumidifiers, and the pictures on the wall were curled inside their frames. Otherwise, it was clean. I was afraid to ask for a different room, as I figured they just don't like Hotwire or Priceline guests. But, judging from other recent reviews, it wasn't just me. No one seemed very happy there. It felt snooty and cold. The pool was nice and clean, though, so that was the highlight. The area looks like a fabricated kind of town, with the usual suspects. We chose to eat meals outside the area, which was much cheaper. If you can get this place for half price and you are not traveling with family, it's sorta kinda worth it. But definitely do NOT pay full price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are best, but probably cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have discussed your issue with the front desk agant and heard what he had to say. Again, we do thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Not exactly what one would expect from a Westin. Checked in a bit earlier than usual as had a meeting at 8am in the hotel. Not room was available which I can understand however when i returned at 6pm was given the worst room in the house overlooking a wall (see pic) and next to the air handling unit (so I leave u to imagine the noise level). Check In took forever and the facility while well located is not well run. Room is quite spacious but lacks light, bathroom is overly spacious but bathtub s small they were better off just having a shower.
Worth noting that I am a so called Starwood Preferred Guest which from recent trips i have had indicates that you are treated as a second class citizen. If in the area opt for another hotel unless they cant guarantee a room high up with a view over the water.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room high up and with a water view in case stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Green Features: could not see anything extraordinary other than the usual practices to save money by not changing bath linen
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. In researching your issues, it seems that there is some incomplete information in the review. Being an SPG member does assure you certain benefits when you book on the SPG website. Going off the site to a third party, one forfiets the benefits such as points and preference. There is also a status factor which is taken into consideration. Only certain levels assure one of upgraded rooms and other perks. I hope this helps shed a little light on the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not quite up to the usual Westin standard. The litany of issues includes: loose magnified/lighted mirror in bathroom (like about to fall off wall), running toilet (flapper did not close properly), no lock on bathroom door or separate toilet stall, two burnt lightbulbs, damp carpet by window, messy housekeeping... On the plus side: free bottle of water, empty fridge to use, reasonably large double room. Parking is $30/day, we circumvented by self parking at the Mariner garage across the street at $13 max/day, which adds up over the course of the vacation. Also, National Harbor had a free parking Wednesday promotion so even better. Wifi was thrown in for free, and useable the first few nights then totally unusable the last night. Overall, good enough of a place, but only because I Pricelined the place for <1/2 the usual cost.

Note: I was debating between staying in National Harbor or Old Town Alexandria. Our plans were 4 nights split between visiting DC and Six Flags. We had a car so staying just outside DC was ok. I think National Harbor was fine, but probably would prefer to stay in Old Town next time, there're just so many more stores and restaurants in a more authentic (less planned) setting.

Room Tip: Request harbor view, otherwise you'll get a room facing the shops and office building across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We will discuss your comments at our weekly operations roundtable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My stay was very enjoyable. The hotel was a short cab ride from the Reagan national airport. I was greeted very warmly upon arrival and was even upgraded to a suite. The gym is very nice which is typical for the Westin workouts. There is no club lounge would be the only negative thing I could say about the property. The area surrounding the hotel is awesome lots of places to eat and shop and seems very upscale. The area feels very safe if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington National Harbor

Address: 171 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington National Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising up on the shores of the scenic Potomac River, The Westin National Harbor looks out over views of our nation's capital and its many landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Washington National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill
Westin Oxon Hill
Westin Hotel National Harbor
Oxon Hill Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;