We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Center Close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington National Harbor to your Saves list
The Westin Washington National Harbor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Conference Center Close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently attended a national conference at the Gaylord Conference Center, but didn't want to stay at the conference hotel. The Westin was recommended, and it's proximity, service, room quality and overall location was exactly what I wanted.

Staff was very friendly and always inquired what they could to assist. The bartender, Super, was fantastic...makes a perfect pomegranate martini!

Comfortable room (heavenly bed of course) with perfect views of the harbor and the ferris wheel. Shops, restaurants, and general great people-watching just outside the hotel door.
Definitely look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you visit the Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    61
    30
    25
See reviews for
52
76
32
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Westin National Harbor for around 5 days & nights and our experience was nothing less than terrible.
- Very small rooms
- Housekeeping is pathetic
- Staff is very unfriendly
- Many hidden costs (Tourism charges, hospitality charges)
- Horribly slow wi-fi
- No breakfast included

I was charged USD 387 per night and I so felt it was an entire waste of money and spoiled my vacation experience. I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We aree sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The review was not our expected response. There are other alternatives, less expensive, where some sort of a breakfast option is included in the price right here inthe harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I adore the National Harbor area. It is safe and clean with great food and scenery. I am here several times a year for business and stay at the Westin. The staff is fantastic, rooms are clean, the happy and bar area are great. Lobster macaroni is the best I have ever eaten and only $10 in a very large portion. The hotel has a great gym. Overall it is just a pleasure to stay here.

Yes, I have one complaint, the pillows are TERRIBLE. If they offered a firm option, this hotel would be very close to perfect.

Room Tip: Get waterfront.....the sunset is amazing.
See more room tips
Green Features: I do love the Green option this hotel offers and it is extra points.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to serving you again when next you visit National Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at The Westin to attend a conference at the Gaylord because Westin is pet friendly and it turned out to be a great choice. It is fairly new (7 years or so) and is consistent in quality and value of other Westins we have stayed at. We had a waterfront room with a great view of the Potomac, the ferris wheel and the marina. The room is a good size and quiet, the bed was really comfy and there is a little fridge. There is a nice kind of upscale restaurant and a bar. You can also dine outside but it's part of the river walk so gets kind of busy and really hot when the sun is out. We had crab cake sandwiches and burgers and everything was delicious and came in generous portions. My only complaint is the wi-fi was bouncing up and down constantly which made it really difficult because I was actually working from here. The front desk staff was really helpful and professional - to mention one in particular, Michelle does an excellent job and represents Westin very well. Oh and if you are at a conference at the Gaylord - it is literally next door - about 500 steps, counted them - so it is an easy walk even in bad weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The location of the Westin at the National Harbor, is perfect. It is right on the Potomac. The customer service from the staff was some of the best I have encountered. Our room was spacious and clean. The National Harbor area is filled with restaurants, shops and entertainment. We enjoyed it all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks! We're glad you were pleased. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My sister is getting married at Oxon Hill Manor in September. We are frequently visiting the National Harbor area as we get things ready for her wedding. Yesterday my sister, her friend, and I visited the Sauciety bar for happy hour. The food was alright, the drinks were good, and Super was great! He was so friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back to see him!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are gratified that your stay was enjoyable, and hope to see you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for the weekend a few weeks ago because the Gaylord was sold out. Check in took loner than usual because the person kept asking us the same questions. It seems strange that he held on to our credit card longer than necessary (in our opinion). The evening staff was definitely not as friendly as the day shift. The exercise room was appropriate; the pool seems small. Considering the temperature, an outside pool would have been a welcome sight.

The best feature was having a room that faced the water. Sunrise and sunset just couldn’t be beat. That was the best part of stay. The bathroom was large; however they could use a fan in there :-) And show gel...who uses green bar soap shaped like a leaf????? We did get daily complimentary Dasani water…one bottle. All in all it was an average stay. It's was all about the view!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbor, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Washington National Harbor, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are truly sorry you do not like the green, leaf shaped soap. it is part of the Westin standard, hinging on the natural and environmentally friendly policy of Westin Hotels. We will bring your other issues to light in our weekly operstions meeting for discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington National Harbor

Address: 171 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington National Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising up on the shores of the scenic Potomac River, The Westin National Harbor looks out over views of our nation's capital and its many landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Washington National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill
Westin Oxon Hill
Westin Hotel National Harbor
Oxon Hill Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.