We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newish hotel, nice rooms, great continental breakfast, imperfect staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Kingston, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Newish hotel, nice rooms, great continental breakfast, imperfect staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed at National Harbour for a conference at the Hampton Inn and Suites. Easy ride in on the Airport Shuttle express (20$ booked online). Grab the airport shuttle back from Gaylord as it is cheaper (and search for a online coupon code)

Location was literally across the street from the much more expensive Gaylord International Conference Center. Check in was easy and they stored my luggage for a little while without incident. For interest sake I tried to claim it a couple of hours later without the check tag just by describing it....no dice! which I liked.

The rooms were new and bedding and bathrooms where very good. Had no problem with the HVAC and the room cooled down nicely. Slept well and the hotel was quiet. Internet was free and printed a few pages in the business center which was well equipped but a bit small. could get crowded but it wasn't while I was there. I liked the breakfast, in National Harbour food is at a premium as there are no reasonably priced restaurants. STARBUCKS is non-existent - I know I looked.

One thing is that the staff does seem to make a few mistakes. There was no shortage of a lineup at the front desk at peak times with people complaining "I booked a king size and got two twins". and at check in it took quite a bit of time for the hotel representative to find my reservation. Why it took a while I'm not sure as I had the confirmation number. The line was about 3-4 people deep at check in time in two lines. Check in at the Aloft National Harbour took much less time.

All in all a decent hotel and very convenient to the Gaylord. Free internet and a decent breakfast for several hours at a not unreasonable price make it a decent choice in the National Harbour area. A little bit of polish and the staff will be pretty good as well. Happy travelling.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    134
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
57
56
37
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Had to travel to National Harbor for a conference at The Gaylord Conference Center. Of course the rooms at the Gaylord were over my per diem . . . so in looking for a cheaper alternative, I found the Hampton Inn which is right across the street. The location is very convenient if you are attending a function at the Gaylord or plan on any visit to National Harbor.

Check-in was a breeze. We were greeted by a very pleasant woman at the desk who had us to our room in no time. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. A bit smaller that most hotel rooms, but nothing to complain about. Bathroom amenities were the complete set (even included mouthwash and some mints.)

Breakfast is served each morning in the larger than normal lobby. I'm guessing the hotel was pretty full on the nights we stayed because the lobby was quite full each morning and after the first morning, food was hard to come by. Though I won't blame it completely on the Hotel staff. The crowd down there that morning acted as if they had never seen food before. There were plates heaped with food (I guess that is how some people behave when the food is "free"). I saw many plates in hands of children that contained more food than both my husband and I were eating. They were later in their hands as they were dumping them in the trash . . . almost as full, with a bite out of this and a half eaten that. This is meant more as a comment on our society than the hotel. All in all, the breakfast spread was nice. But . . . get there early!

Didn't get to try out the pool, but the children coming from it said they really like it and had a great time.

Used the internet connection provided and did not run into any problems. Connection was good (both wired and wireless) and speed was adequate. Also used the business center to print out our departing boarding passes. Though those computers were a bit slow, they did the job.

Tips for eating would include what was posted already:
* Potbelly Sandwich Works (decent salads and subs for a decent price)

Oh, one other thing I should note is that you do hear a bit of noise from planes constantly flying overhead, but I didn't find it to be a big issue, though some might. All hotels in the area will have this this "feature" base on the proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Nice, clean and quiet hotel. Unless you have more money than sense or someone else is paying the bill, there's absolutely no reason to spend the $100 more per night to stay at the Gaylord. I just stayed there on business and I could have stayed at the Gaylord but I figured why waste the money. It turned out to be a good choice. The rooms are on par of what you would find at a Courtyard or Hilton Garden. Everything you need is there, it's quiet and very comfortable. The Gaylord is right across the street.

Just a word of warning. There's no free parking at National Harbour. I paid $11 a night to park in a mostly empty parking garage. Also, everything you'll find at National Harbor is over priced. Consider yourself captive while there unless you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We just returned from our stay, heres the Pros and Cons
Pros...
Less expensive than Gaylord but located right across the street.
The Breakfast was nice when the truck decided to show up for their deliveries
The beds are great so is the bathroom
Some of the staff was attentive and helpful
Easy to get to the bus to ride to the Metro.
Cons.....
The pool was dirty and they had a lifeguard to watch one child???? The hours of the pool were horrible. 5-10pm M-F and 10-10SS This just doesnt work we really wanted to swim.
No Hot Tub.
The staff seemed more interested in ordering Pizza when we were trying to check-in

Overall Nice stay but it could have been better with a lot better service in the Breakfast area. (They had no bread for toasting for 4 out of the 5 days we were there.) The pool hours could have been more flexible didnt understand the need for a lifeguard in a SMALL hotel pool.
This location is really easy to use the bus and metro. Have no fears about using the public transportation system.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Brand new, sparkling clean Hampton Inn in the new and upscale National Harbor. Great location, immaculate rooms, good breakfast, fast internet, decent and nearby parking, very competitive pricing vis a vis competing hotels. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Attended a conference at the Gaylord, which is right across the street and much more expensive. While the Gaylord is very hectic, the Hampton Inn is nice, quiet and very professional. Lobby is welcoming and a great place to meet up with others. Clean, staff is friendly, beds are comfy...big free breakfast is definitely nice considering the cost of eating in National Harbor. I really, really enjoyed this hotel. Parking is convenient also. If you pick anywhere in National Harbor, this would be the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We traveled with a group of 7th and 8th graders to Washington DC and this was the hotel we stayed at. The rooms were very clean, beds truly comfortable and the breakfast buffet great - eggs one day, french toast the other. This hotel is directly across from Gaylord Convention Center and the Marriott.
Basic hotel with pleasant service and business center and free internet access. All people associated with the hotel were pleasant and accommodating.
The only problem was the lack of cots. The front desk said they were looking for cots, but they were never found. Later on they admitted they had no cots.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area

Address: 250 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® National Harbor hotel is located in Oxon Hill's newly developed National Harbor area just minutes from our Nation's Capital. National Harbor is an exciting new gateway to Washington, D.C. and is quickly becoming a destination unto itself on the banks of the historic Potomac River. Our National Harbor hotel gives you access to this exciting developing area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites National Harbor / Alexandria Area
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor / Alexandria Area Hotel Oxon Hill
Hampton Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.