We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay-Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Cumberland, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay-Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the Gaylord Center and couldn't have been more pleased. The location is ideal, the room was clean and exactly what we needed since we would be spending much of our time at the conference center. The complimentary breakfast was an added plus as was free Wi-fi and a computer room to print off our return tickets. There are several restaurants that are well within walking distance. The thing that impressed us the most was the staff. Everyone went our of their way to help us. I want to especially recognize Ms. Coleman for her friendliness and helpfulness. She treated us like she had known us for years and couldn't have been nicer. This was our first trip to the Washington, DC area and we had a lot of questions but no question went unanswered and she always had a smile on her face. I have never felt so “at home” in a hotel before.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to say such nice things about our hotel! We appreciate the positive words and specifically mentioning Umeka as being particularly friendly and helpful. We pride oursevles on the level of customer service we deliver and it goes without saying that you're part of the family while you're here with us! We look forward to having you come back the next time you're in the Washington DC area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    162
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
73
70
40
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was great. Great service, the beds were comfortable, the room was clean, free wi-fi, free breakfast (and they always had coffee, tea, and free cookies out in the lobby), free newspapers. The location was wonderful as well- right across the street from the Gaylord (I was there for a convention) and a couple of blocks from the harbor. It's a great value for a reasonable price. I would stay here every time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello,

Your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn National Harbor is very much appreciated! You're more than welcome to come back and see us anytime. We'd be delighted to have you come back to visit and again so please give us a call the next time you're in town.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have stayed here three years in a row. Love the facility, the convenience and they have one of the best staff we've encountered. Hotel is very quiet, even when it's full and the complimentary breakfast is great. Will continue to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your annual trips to the National Harbor! We will defintely look forward to having you back next year to make it the 4th year in a row... I will be sure to share your comments with the staff as well. Thank you for helping to make us a Trip Advisor preferred hotel in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, AZ, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything you would expect from a higher quality hotel. It was very clean. The rooms were newer and well-maintained. Service was fast and professional. There was a good vibe about the entire establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're so happy you had the opportunity to share our "good vibes"! This is truly a fun place to work and I'm glad that everyone you encountered was professional, courteous and helpful. We always appreciate the positive feedback and would love to have you come back and visit with us again. Thanks for making us a Trip Advisor Preferred Hotel in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a typical Hampton, ideally located across the street from the Gaylord Resort and Convention Center. Good size rooms. Large breakfast area. But, the outstanding feature of this hotel is Gregory who goes way above and beyond any front desk person I've ever met in any of the hotels in my 27 years of business traveling.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit. Nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
"Woo Hoo"! Thank you so much for taking time to mention Gregory - he definitely makes a check in experience memorable! Your feedback will be shared with him and our entire team at our daily meeting. Thanks again for your feedback and helping to make our hotel a Trip Advisor favorite for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the 2nd time I choose this location for a Congress stay. Twice cheaper than the very over-rated Gaylord and almost same service.
If you exclude breakfast (Free @ Hampton, so do not expect anything...), the overal service is really up-level.
Team Members are carefull, friendly & available.

Why should you spend more ?
I don't.

Room Tip: ask for 11th floor, facing Gaylord National Harbour Convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Eric!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel on Trip Advisor! I appreciate you taking time to mention the professionalism and hospitality displayed by our Front Desk staff. Please let me know if you're planning a return trip and we'll be sure to save that room on the 11th floor for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pretty easy check in, nice staff. Fairly clean, nice hotel, reasonably quiet. Seems mostly updated but shower still had the old school glass sliding door. At least it was clean and not all rusty or grimy like I've seen in other places. Shower strength, temp were fine. Elevator reasonably quick, doesn't take forever. Bed was comfy, seemed fairly clean. Room smelled fine, maybe a tad bit perfume-y but no musty smell.

I did notice a water bottle cap between the bed and the nightstand, a holdover from a previous guest I suppose. The fan in the bathroom was kinda loud so if you have some light sleepers, don't potty in the middle of the night. Thought the TV was broken at first but realized the cord was dislodged. TV kinda small. That would be my main complaint. Otherwise, everything else was pretty good. Didn't eat breakfast since we had some at our meetings so I couldn't tell you how it is. Not a lot of options in Nat Harbor but a good, less expensive one and worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites on the National Harbor! We strive for continuous improvement and therefore rely upon guests such as you to let us know where we may have missed our mark. We have since addressed your findings with our entire Housekeeping staff so that every I is dotted and T is crossed - cleanliness is in the smallest of details! Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we'll look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area

Address: 250 Waterfront Street, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® National Harbor hotel is located in Oxon Hill's newly developed National Harbor area just minutes from our Nation's Capital. National Harbor is an exciting new gateway to Washington, D.C. and is quickly becoming a destination unto itself on the banks of the historic Potomac River. Our National Harbor hotel gives you access to this exciting developing area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites National Harbor / Alexandria Area
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor / Alexandria Area Hotel Oxon Hill
Hampton Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.