We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument

Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument
Ajo, AZ
520-387-6849
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Ajo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Driving, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to a beautiful display of desert vegetation, including the Organ Pipe cactus.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Love out hike into Arch Canyon though the 21 mile one way dirt/gravel road made for a long bumpy ride. Visitor Center is very nice with helpful VIPs & rangers. Probably more Saguaro cacti than Organ Pipe but plenty of both as well as all sorts of other desert cacti and plants.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    37
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Another area of great scenery. We had been in the Tucson area before but never went here because it is so remote, but this time we went. It is worth the visit if you have extra time. We made it part of a trip from Tucson to Phoenix. There are 2 scenic roads, both unpaved, but one presents no problems for an ordinary car. check at the visitor center.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous park in a very remote area of Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very informative officers in the visitor centre. Campground area is good for seeing lots of Organ Pipe cacti.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fascinating park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

An interesting park to visit. Make sure you stop off at the visitor centre first, as the ranger there was excellent, telling us anecdotes about the park and showing us which routes we should do given limited time. The bookstore is interesting too. Make sure you have a hat, sunscreen, proper footwear for walking and plenty of water.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Another of those places.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

................ I'd always wanted to visit. We took the drive around Ajo Mountain and were not disappointed. We arrived early in the day and from the top of the pass you can see 50 miles in every direction except east. We had the place to ourselves - and not a single vehicle to be seen (no dust clouds). Our rented car had quit the day before in El Centro and we replaced it in 20 minutes at the local Budget place. Had it quit in the park we might still be there, though a bit dessicated perhaps.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.