We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City University Park to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
San Antonio, Tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Experience Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Quick weekend overnight at the Marriott Salt Lake City University Park. Hotel is in a quiet part of town near the U. A little bit out of the way but not bad. Staff is obviously well trained and everyone we encountered tried hard to impress. Room was clean in everything was in good shape. Ample free parking. Had snacks in the Pitchers sports bar (not so good) and breakfast buffet (average) in the hotel restaurant. Full service Starbucks in the lobby was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    101
    22
    25
    6
See reviews for
40
51
16
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hickory
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriott several times and have had great experiences every time. The staff there have always been wonderful. The first time I came to UT, I was stung by a bee while out hiking (imagine that). The lady at the front desk brought up soda and white vinegar for me to put on the bite (very nice of her).

The rooms are a decent size. It's a decent sized hotel. They have a nice gym and pool. They have an on-site restaurant, a bar, and a Starbucks. Also, if your business takes you to the hospital, they have a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of term when picking up my son from college. Normally would stay at University Guesthouse but didn't plan enough in advance. We had rewards points so this worked out alright. Rates are normally more than UG and no breakfast included here. Parking lot is larger and easier to find a spot for a pickup truck. Right at the edge of campus so that works out well. They do have a full service Starbucks so that is nice for grabbing a cup of coffee before you head out. Staff was efficient and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

First problem: no free WiFi. Not cool. $10/day on top of the room rate. Stayed 6 nights so $60 total. Had to argue with the desk clerk, but did get it removed. 2nd problem: poor maid service. Would not restock coffee/tea. Daily complaint ignored. Small bathroom, no tub. University Guest House was $30 less, had free WiFi and full breakfast and closer to campus. Much better all around. Stay there if you are in town for UU activity.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeS278, General Manager at Marriott Salt Lake City University Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide feedback to the Marriott University Park. You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I apologize that we fell short of our goal. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid the housekeeping issues that you experienced. I would like to extend an invitation for you to return and give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional hotel experience. Please contact me directly when you would like to make a reservation. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the University of Utah. It is minutes from just about anything in Salt Lake City. It is up the road from downtown, while also close to I80 if you are interested in going to Park City or any of the other skiing locations. The staff was very friendly, and were able to accommodate any request, including one for firmer pillows. The bed was very comfortable as well. They have a free shuttle that takes you to any point on the U of U campus, and can go pick you up once you have completed your business.

The only minor inconvenience i encountered was the fact that housekeeping for some reason did not refill the supply of coffee/tea in the room. However this was resolved with a call to the front desk, who ended up sending some up.

Room Tip: The rooms with a mountain view really are beautiful in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Need a place to stay? Come here and try it out. At the guest service desk a lady named Denise is very nice genuine and honest. She goes above and beyond of her call of duty. Thank you so much for helping me out today!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently remodeled, new everything. The bar lets you use the Marriott Platinum reward for drinks at the bar, unusual at Utah Marriotts. Due to the license they have, you also don't have to purchase food to get a drink, which is nice. I always get consistently great service there, and either side of the hotel provides stunning views of the Salt Lake Valley. Look into their packages from time to time. Sometimes for just a few dollars more you can get things like $50 bar/restaurant credits, bottle of wine in the room, etc. Some of the best package deals I have seen in the valley. My favorite hotel to stay at in the SL Metro area by far. Much better value than the downtown locations, hopefully they keep it that way!

Room Tip: Either side has beautiful views. Quieter rooms are in south wing (don't open into large atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Address: 480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Salt Lake City University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.