We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the University of UT and the hospital” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City University Park to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Hickory
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to the University of UT and the hospital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriott several times and have had great experiences every time. The staff there have always been wonderful. The first time I came to UT, I was stung by a bee while out hiking (imagine that). The lady at the front desk brought up soda and white vinegar for me to put on the bite (very nice of her).

The rooms are a decent size. It's a decent sized hotel. They have a nice gym and pool. They have an on-site restaurant, a bar, and a Starbucks. Also, if your business takes you to the hospital, they have a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of term when picking up my son from college. Normally would stay at University Guesthouse but didn't plan enough in advance. We had rewards points so this worked out alright. Rates are normally more than UG and no breakfast included here. Parking lot is larger and easier to find a spot for a pickup truck. Right at the edge of campus so that works out well. They do have a full service Starbucks so that is nice for grabbing a cup of coffee before you head out. Staff was efficient and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

First problem: no free WiFi. Not cool. $10/day on top of the room rate. Stayed 6 nights so $60 total. Had to argue with the desk clerk, but did get it removed. 2nd problem: poor maid service. Would not restock coffee/tea. Daily complaint ignored. Small bathroom, no tub. University Guest House was $30 less, had free WiFi and full breakfast and closer to campus. Much better all around. Stay there if you are in town for UU activity.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eyeballbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeS278, General Manager at Marriott Salt Lake City University Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide feedback to the Marriott University Park. You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I apologize that we fell short of our goal. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid the housekeeping issues that you experienced. I would like to extend an invitation for you to return and give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional hotel experience. Please contact me directly when you would like to make a reservation. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the University of Utah. It is minutes from just about anything in Salt Lake City. It is up the road from downtown, while also close to I80 if you are interested in going to Park City or any of the other skiing locations. The staff was very friendly, and were able to accommodate any request, including one for firmer pillows. The bed was very comfortable as well. They have a free shuttle that takes you to any point on the U of U campus, and can go pick you up once you have completed your business.

The only minor inconvenience i encountered was the fact that housekeeping for some reason did not refill the supply of coffee/tea in the room. However this was resolved with a call to the front desk, who ended up sending some up.

Room Tip: The rooms with a mountain view really are beautiful in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Need a place to stay? Come here and try it out. At the guest service desk a lady named Denise is very nice genuine and honest. She goes above and beyond of her call of duty. Thank you so much for helping me out today!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently remodeled, new everything. The bar lets you use the Marriott Platinum reward for drinks at the bar, unusual at Utah Marriotts. Due to the license they have, you also don't have to purchase food to get a drink, which is nice. I always get consistently great service there, and either side of the hotel provides stunning views of the Salt Lake Valley. Look into their packages from time to time. Sometimes for just a few dollars more you can get things like $50 bar/restaurant credits, bottle of wine in the room, etc. Some of the best package deals I have seen in the valley. My favorite hotel to stay at in the SL Metro area by far. Much better value than the downtown locations, hopefully they keep it that way!

Room Tip: Either side has beautiful views. Quieter rooms are in south wing (don't open into large atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meh122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is in an easy-to-access location east of downtown. It is small for a Marriott and is an atrium-style hotel (with an amazing huge hanging glass mobile of a chili pepper). There is a lounge on the 7th (top) floor which closes on weekends, typical of Marriott. The staff is exceptionally friendly and anxious to help with any needs. We particularly take our hats off to Jim Grow who runs the food service. We stayed in a small two-room suite. This suite had not been renovated (most of the rooms had) but was quite functional.

Room Tip: We liked 301. Stay in the atrium area, not the side extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sedonadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
Marriott Salt Lake City City Cen...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
3.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Address: 480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Salt Lake City University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing