We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room with a Beautiful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Save Saved
You added Marriott Salt Lake City University Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #33 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean Room with a Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation right now, but it didn't impact our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. There was however, something in the HVAC system that would periodically make a clunking noise. Unfortunately we didn't discover this until late at night so we didn't try to get anyone to fix it. We stayed on the Concierge level so breakfast was provided and tasty with plenty of choices.
This hotel is very convenient to the University of Utah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    88
    19
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
40
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years and they are making progress. Beautiful renovation on the rooms. Very comfy. Construction is going on in several areas of the hotel and they could do a better job of excusing the mess. Felt like I was in the middle of a construction project. That might have been because I was in the middle of a construction project.

Room Tip: Keep in mind this hotel is up the hill and removed from downtown Salt Lake. That could be good or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verdi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If we hadn't tried the buffet, we wouldn't have found one thing that wasn't done well. However, I must say, the buffet was the worst I've ever encountered. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The people who worked there were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Our room was far from the elevators, but we could get to the pool by using the back stairs:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were clean and spacious - the one I had on the 4th floor was actually bigger than the one my relatives had on the 7th floor, which were supposed to be better. I also liked having the Starbucks inside the lobby. It was quiet and slept really well due to the very comfortable bed. My only complaint was the dish tv that went out during a rain storm.

Room Tip: After seeing the size of the 7th floor room my relatives had compared to mine, I would choose someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a long drive, we were looking for a good hotel that was low-key. We drove up without a reservation and received great service (even at midnight), a beautiful renovated room that was superclean and spacious. We were able to eat breakfast there (very gracious staff at the restaurant as well) and get back on the road efficiently. We were actually bummed we couldn't stay another night and look forward to making this our Salt Lake City go-to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Hampshire, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Based on the rate I paid, this was an excellent value. I might hesitate to pay rack rate until they "clean up" a few things, mostly due to the ongoing renovation. Hotel had a typical Marriott lobby with seven-story atrium, glass elevators, wide open spaces. Front desk was the most understated front desk I've ever (not) seen. We walked right by it when we arrived, thinking it was the concierge.

Our family had two rooms for three nights on the same hallway but not attached. Both were about the same with one king bed, sliding frosted glass door to bathroom (a little weird), stall shower with all glass door - not frosted. Our room at the end of the hallway was slightly larger, though closet did not have a door like the other room. Nice linens and comforter, excellent temperature controls, other amenities such as shampoos, coffee machine. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and might be a good way to skip lunch! Only two elevators in the hotel, but surprisingly fast. Hotel was full our first two days, but we never were inconvenienced at all.

Hotel was still under renovation, so public areas such as our hallway, were sort of messy, but we did not feel it impacted our stay in a negative way. I was surprised that there is no information about the hotel in the room. I had to call the front desk to find out about the pool hours, internet access questions, local area questions, etc. I was also surprised at the inability to order movies. Room service was a bit pricey with multiple fees (delivery charge plus an 18% service charge, but still a blank space for a "tip").

I very much liked the location being outside of the city proper. I have now stayed right downtown in Salt Lake and here at the University Marriott, and I much preferred being on the University of Utah campus. You will need a car, but parking is free, and access to city or I-80 is very easy to navigate. Walking on the campus is great, and if you're going to an outdoor concert at Red Buttes, you can walk to it in ten minutes. Staff was friendly, but who isn't in Salt Lake City? A HUGE plus is the Starbucks in the lobby -- just try getting a good cup of java downtown! It ain't easy! The views, at least from our side of the hotel, were spectacular looking up to the Wasatch Range. It was very peaceful.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms (x42) at end of hallway, while a long walk from elevator, are bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.F. Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really like this Marriott property. I stay only at Marriotts, and this is one of my favorite rooms. Yes, they are going through renovations in the lobby and halls, but my room was completely redone and work is done during business hours. Room was clean, bed comfy, and bathroom was a stall shower, not a tub w/ shower curtain! Not to mention the decor was not the typical red and gold, but greens and blues. I know, who the heck cares on color, but when you stay at Marriotts every week like I do, it matters. The hotel is up in the foot hills so there are great views of SLC and the mountains. There are no loud freeways nearby which makes for a peaceful rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Address: 480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Salt Lake City University Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.