We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Salt Lake City University Park to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Idaho Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not stay again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it's just me but I expect certain comforts to be standard with a room without paying extra. For example, having to pay an extra $9.95 day for wiifi and extra for a small fridge or microwave which was not available anyway. Staff was curteous to go to their own break room to warm up my left overs. I was given coupons for breakfast but was turned away at the cafe and directed to pick up my to-go breakfast box from a lobby room and had to take it back to the room. Not much a selection either. Choice of egg and cheese burrito or sandwich. No fruit, cereal, muffins, waffle, etc. The TV remote would not work and could not be fixed the first night.
I have received much more for much less elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    98
    22
    23
    6
See reviews for
40
49
16
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is currently undergoing renovation, which is smart because it is hitting that point where it's looking rundown. That being said, the room size is generous (I had a suite). I liked that the bedroom is in the back with the livingroom closer to the hallway where the ambient noise is loudest. Convenient Starbucks on the ground floor, which made my 6:30 a.m. commute much more pleasant.

The staff is super friendly, and the location is close to some great restaurants near the University. Not walkable, but only about 6 minutes away.

Room Tip: The suites for platinum members have a great layout and a fridge if you will be staying a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is located approximately 3 miles from the heart of downtown SLC. They are going through a renovation, so I have hopes for improvements in the concierge lounge and fitness center. The rooms have been nicely updated. However, the concierge lounge is very simple, and most often self service. The wine offerings are terrible, which is what you expect for $6/glass. The restaurant fare is simple. I could also hear the guests in the room next to me, so I thought the stay was a bit noisy. The fitness center is large, but the equipment malfunctioned. The advantages from staying here versus the 2 full service Marriott's downtown are: it is less expensive and free parking. It is not my favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

During a recent stay, several inches of snow fell overnight. Walking out to my car, I was dreading the idea of dealing with the downfall in my dress shoes. Suddenly two Marriott employees approached me, armed with snow scrapers. They insisted I get in the car to stay warm while they removed the snow and scraped the ice. I was flabbergasted by this level of service. Likewise, the nightly wine reception in the lobby is unheard of at most Marriott properties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got our room at this hotel last minute, and were thrilled to get a Marriott for a reasonable price. Unfortunately, we soon realized why we got it for such a good deal.

The whole hotel was under construction. Although it didn't happen during the night, starting early in the morning, all we heard was construction, which seemed like it was right above us. This was very annoying, as we were trying to sleep, and at one point, my son was trying to take a nap and couldn't because of all the noise.

The bathroom wasn't very well maintained. The grout looked dirty, and there was hair in the tub.

The fact that we had to pay 9.99 for internet was ridiculous. This is the only hotel we've stayed at in the last two years where that was the case.

When I ordered room service, it was a bit unnerving for the girl to take my credit card. She didn't come back with it for 30 minutes. This might be normal procedure, but I feel it would be better if they had a portable credit card reader.

There were a few good things. The lady at the front desk found us a king size bed (even though at first she said there weren't any),

Although the restaurant was expensive, it was good service and the food tasted good. I would recommend including a side with the meal, rather than having a 3.00 additional fee. We thought that was a bit odd.

We really wanted to like staying here, but I doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The bell man Nick was very pleasant and helpful.
My husband couldn't sleep because there was a bear on the 7th floor snoring.
It cost $20 to upgrade to the next floor. There pool looks nice but didn't get to check it out it closes at 10 pm. The glass elevators are nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is my 3rd Marriott experience in the US, and their service continues to recieve good marks from me. This Marriott has a good and friendly staff, which makes a working trip bearable. If I have to complain about something, its the food in their American Grill restaurant, I had the saltiest seafood bisque here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City University Park

Address: 480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Salt Lake City University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.