We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   616 S 200 West, I-15 Ext 306, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #66 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is barely fit for human occupation. The room was terrible, everything smelled horribly and the breakfast was not edible. The breakfast was nothing but already-crushed up cereal and probably weeks old coffee. You should either renovate, demolish, or take it out of the Choice Hotel brand as it is bringing it down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    11
    12
    29
See reviews for
6
19
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg,Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a horrible experience across the street at Motel 6 so we checked in here the next day.
It's old and shows it but it was clean, well equipped with refrigerator, coffee, elevator. Front desk people - all of them- were very pleasant and helpful. Nice breakfast room with some basic stuff like cereal, muffins, juice, etc.. Printed out boarding passes for us with a smile. We felt secure in having an inside entrance to our room as opposed to the motel type.
Stayed two nights and would do it again.
Legends bar and grill at the corner is very good and offers 10% off if you are a Rodeway guest.
Ate there 2 nights and loved it. More friendly people.

Room Tip: We prefer a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed last night at the downtown rodeway inn in salt lake city utah. I thoght I recevied pretty good value for my money. The room was clean, the breakfeast bar was ok. The staff was helpful with directions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ugh. This place is an absolute dump. Motel 6 is a palace compared to this place. I've stayed at the Motel 6 across the street and it's so much cleaner.
I made a reservation online and prepaid two nights; if not for their no-cancellation process I would've walked out right after walking in.
When I tried to open the back door into the corridor from the parking lot my key wouldn't work. I had to carry my luggage around to the front door. I asked the front desk guy if my key was defective when asking about the back door and he just said, unapologetically, "oh, there's a problem with the doors." Okay, got it... a known problem that they won't fix!
Next I walked down the hallway to find my room, appalled at the stained carpet and dreary lighting. It was obvious that this place hadn't seen paint or a steam cleaner in years.
Depression set in when I got to my room. The carpet is so stained that I didn't know if I wanted to walk barefoot in the room. There are horrendous stains on the carpet and the bedding.
I walked back down the dreary hall to find some drinking water...only to find that the Pepsi vending machine on my floor had no power.
No exaggeration...this hotel is a disaster. Stay somewhere else...anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here quite a few times and i have had a very pleasant experience everytime. There is a complimentary breakfast every morning,which is great when you're short on time! The staff is very friendly and always smiling, and the maid service staff all work very hard and rooms and hotel is always clean. If ever there are disturbances, they are taken care of quietly & quickly. The hotel is in an excellent location with many restaraunts, bars, music venues & convention center all within walking distance. I have felt very safe & comfortable there and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was not comfy, needed to be refreshed. Because of a permanent continuous noise, Had the feeling to be in a plane or on a ferry boat. The carpet is really dirty with red chewing gum stuck on it. The blanket needed to be washed (must admit i slept with my cloth on) and although it was a non smoking room blanket, iron table, even toilet were burnt with cigarette. Why did i let a second stars however ? Because there is a Starbucks nearby

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times over the past three years and have experience the major changes made to the facility especially during 2012. Room upgraded, Flat Panel TVs, excellent WIFI covering whole hotel now, new dining room and remodeled lobby. Try it you'll like it.
Ed

Room Tip: Best to call in for reservation...! No pool eventhough this page requires comment on that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown

Address: 616 S 200 West, I-15 Ext 306, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Rodeway Inn is conveniently located in the center of all downtown activities. 113 newly remodeled rooms,new mattresses and furniture, Free Continental Breakfast,High-Speed Wireless Internet Fitness/Exercise Room,Meeting/Conference Room, Elevator, With Free Parking,Groups are always Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Super 8 Downtown
Salt Lake City Super 8
Salt Lake City Super Eight
Rodeway Inn Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;