We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive remodel of stale hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Impressive remodel of stale hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I previously stayed twice at this hotel then known as the Shiloh for its location and price. If I had not, I would not know this hotel had a previous life. From the lobby, to the room, to the common areas, the hotel is new and impressive. The room is spacious, all new furnishings with bath remodel, very European. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the hotel.

Great value and a wonderful location for touring the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    24
    21
    12
See reviews for
18
22
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not up to HIE properties. Parking is dismal. If you do stay get a room on odd numbered floors if you want ice. Not sure who thought putting ice machines on every other floor was a good idea on a high rise hotel with two elevators. (Elevators were on the fritz the night we were there). I waited 10 minutes to go up one floor to get ice and 10 minutes to get back to my floor. The door jammed half open, thank goodness a maintenance man was in the elevator. The fridge had a high beeping noise until we unplugged it.
On a good note the shower was good.
I think it was remodeled with the freshman college crowd in mind.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Remodel is awesome, Staff is very friendly, and helpful. Our room was excellent. Breakfast was above average and a really nice area for breakfast. We would definitely stay again. Beds were comfortable. And each day a staff member shined the stainless steel in the elevator!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel management and employees have put the their hotel patrons on top of their priority. I have traveled for many decades all over the United States. I was a frugal and conscience minded business traveler until 2009. The complimentary breakfast for everyone was more like the 4 and 5 star hotel's platinum traveler's entitlements. We were there from Colorado because our daughter recently moved to Salt Lake City and we were helping her get unpacked and moved in to her new place. The manager personally asked my wife and I how our stay was and what could we recommend for improvements. I answered to keep doing what they are doing and you will continue the 100% recommendation rate. All kinds of eating establishments from small pizza parlors to top rated Steak Houses within a few blocks of this location.
The location is extremely close to the Airport Rail transport system. The city mayor and council have bicycle rentals located right across the street. I am not a cyclist but the new downtown concept was forward planning in my mind to accommodate young travelers.

Room Tip: We had a king room but I believe all the rooms are well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

An interesting hotel in DT SLC. The hotel is beautifully renovated but still shows occasional extreme age in places here and there which contrast starkly with the hip reno style. The deadbolt on the door would not engage because the hole in the frame had not been drilled out. My bill had another person's name on it due to a computer issue. Got the feeling the hotel opened before all the glitches were worked out. It wouldn't have been noteworthy, but IHG consistently does much better.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is newly renovated and beautiful. The rooms are large and offer nice views of the city. The bathroom was huge, modern and very well lit. I do wish they had a slightly larger tub. I'm not expecting a Jacuzzi tub but the one they have is tiny. The beds are excellent and the pillows are amazing. There is no decor in the room at all. Which makes it slightly cold feeling. But all in all this is an great place to stay and we'll be back.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The renovation is finally complete and the results are nice to look at but not very funtional. The towel bar at the sink is under the sink, near the floor. The layout is different than what you see at other hotels. I like the refrigerator and microwave by the sink. The full length mirror is nice but it is in a bad location. Another mirror over the desk would be nice for makeup and hair when sharing the room with others. No soap holder and the sink spigot is too high that water always gets all over the sink area. The beds were very comfortable but the chair was not. The installed luggage rack was only deep enough to hold a carryon, not a large suitcase.

Very nice breakfast and great hours. The food was always stocked and fresh with a good variety. Coffee available all day.

Two computers in lobby available to print boarding passes, etc. Free airport shuttle is awesome.

Great staff, always friendly and took care of every request. Front desk people always greeted us when we came in the door.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Guests enjoy our premier location within walking distance of City Creek Shopping Center, The Gateway, Historic Temple Square and hundreds of restaurants and night clubs. We are centrally located just minutes away from Interstate 15, Interstate 215, Interstate 80, Highway 89, the Amtrak Station and Salt Lake City International Airport. Business travelers will benefit from the proximity of our Holiday Inn Express to many nearby companies including The Boeing Co., Chevron, Deloitte, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs and Co, KPMG, Lockheed Martin Corporation, L3 Communications, Northrop Grumman, Tesoro and University of Utah. Our non-smoking Holiday Inn Express offers easy access to attractions including Capitol Theatre, Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway Children's Museum, Energy Solutions Arena, Great Salt Lake, Utah's Hogle Zoo, LDS Temple Square, Lagoon Amusement Park, The Leonardo Museum, Natural History Museum of Utah, Red Butte Garden, Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center, This Is The Place Heritage Park and Utah State Capitol. Guests can enjoy a plethora of amenities including: Fitness Center, guest laundry, Business Center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, and airport shuttle. Our indoor pool and hot tub is scheduled to open on April 15, 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel
Shilo Hotel Salt Lake City
Shilo Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Shilo Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.