We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night in the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great night in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is newly renovated and beautiful. The rooms are large and offer nice views of the city. The bathroom was huge, modern and very well lit. I do wish they had a slightly larger tub. I'm not expecting a Jacuzzi tub but the one they have is tiny. The beds are excellent and the pillows are amazing. There is no decor in the room at all. Which makes it slightly cold feeling. But all in all this is an great place to stay and we'll be back.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    22
    21
    12
See reviews for
17
22
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The renovation is finally complete and the results are nice to look at but not very funtional. The towel bar at the sink is under the sink, near the floor. The layout is different than what you see at other hotels. I like the refrigerator and microwave by the sink. The full length mirror is nice but it is in a bad location. Another mirror over the desk would be nice for makeup and hair when sharing the room with others. No soap holder and the sink spigot is too high that water always gets all over the sink area. The beds were very comfortable but the chair was not. The installed luggage rack was only deep enough to hold a carryon, not a large suitcase.

Very nice breakfast and great hours. The food was always stocked and fresh with a good variety. Coffee available all day.

Two computers in lobby available to print boarding passes, etc. Free airport shuttle is awesome.

Great staff, always friendly and took care of every request. Front desk people always greeted us when we came in the door.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express just this past weekend and were surprised to learn that the hotel had just opened as a newly renovated Holiday Inn Express last month. Not because it looked old, but because the operations of the place ran so smoothly. The decor is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is great and well maintained. The staff does an excellent job. What more can I say? Book your stay at this hotel and walk to all the sites!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place had a lot of negative reviews from when it was getting renovated, but it is definitely finished now. This is the newest holiday inn we have stayed in and it was very nice. Front desk was very nice, free parking by the side of the hotel or in the parking garage. Rooms were spacious with lots of bench space and charging ports, comfortable bed and also a little chaise style lounge by the window. Would've liked the windows to open but they were screwed shut. Bathroom was lovely and new, great shower head and nice toiletries. Wifi worked very well. Breakfast had lots of choice, pancakes, continental (large) selection and also some hot offerings. They even offered takeaway containers which was a relief- it's always a bit awkward sneaking out with a plate of food if your significant other has chosen to sleep in and wants breaky in bed!! Pool and spa were indoors and large- but very very chlorinated, we only lasted about two or three minutes before our streaming eyes meant it was time to retire. However, all in all a great stay- really close to all the key spots in Salt Lake City, and comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have studied holiday Inn expresses & know so much about the express & what to expect staying here. for this hotel being new this year it definitely made me proud! staff was great! breakfast was great! I kept extending my stay because of how awesome it is here. not just saying it just because.. honestly it was a great stay. the staff let us be and the house keeping was helpful and was offering to clean every morning. I think we're staying here another night & will be here regularly! it's a great stay & the pool is amazing! thank you Holiday INN downtown I will stay here more (:

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Utah801WVC,

We are thrilled to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our wonderful staff, great breakfast indoor 24 hour pool and clean rooms. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our team members. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown! We are looking forward to you becoming a regular guest!

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Breakfast included and newly renovated rooms. The staff are helpful and the wireless is free (a nice change from most downtown hotels). Don't forget about the shuttle too and from the airport. Definitely a good option for business trips.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear PumpkinCustard,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our newly opened Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Many travelers like yourself are pleasantly surprised by our convenient location directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center.

We hope you had the chance to check out some of our local restaurants within walking distance as well. Next time you visit, be sure to check out Christopher's Prime Steakhouse for dinner. Christopher's is locally owned and operated and located directly behind our hotel.

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our complimentary full hot breakfast, newly renovated rooms, free wi-fi, friendly staff and free airport shuttle. We truly appreciate your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Construction is nearly done at the hotel, i believe they were finishing up on the 2nd floor while we were here but it did not disturb us in the slightest.

Breakfast area was HUGE - tons of seating, plugs for people that need to charge up, and double the amount of breakfast stations that most HIE have (2 pancake stations, 2 hot food stations etc). There were at least 50 people eating breakfast in the morning and there was no congestion in the area as a result. They also keep the food stocked and it really tasted great!

The room was HUGE, we had tons of space to spread out and the desk was really handy for getting work done. The shower was fantastic, loved all of the amenities that the hotel had to offer. We really cannot say enough nice things about all of the staff that helped check us in, check us out and kept the hotel in clean condition. The Wi-Fi was also extremely quick. I'm sure that more positive reviews will be flowing in now that the hotel is IHG flagged and operational.

Hotel is in a great location - we walked to Ruth's Chris Steak House, Red Rock Brew-Pub as well as a quick 1/2 mile walk to the Cross Creek Mall/Temple Square area. The Convention Center is directly across the street if you are in town for any conventions. 1/2 mile down 200 S is also Bar X and Beer Bar which we also enjoyed. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again if we come back to Salt Lake City! Thanks to everyone! :)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lilemoevie

Thank you so much for your recent review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown on TripAdvisor. Our Management Team is truly excited to hear this was your best Holiday Inn Express stay yet. It's reassuring to know that the months and months of extensive renovations have paid off. We are just putting the finishing touches on our 2nd floor guest rooms this week, otherwise our renovations are finished.

I think we might be just as thrilled with our new Express Start Breakfast as you are. We appreciate your compliments regarding our spacious breakfast area and efficient breakfast attendants. We also loved to hear your feedback on our newly renovated guest rooms, free wi-fi and the overall cleanliness of our hotel.

It's great to hear that you were able to experience so many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Some of my personal favorites that you mentioned are the Red Rock Brew Pub, The Beer Bar and Bar X. Next time you visit, be sure to check out Epic Brewing Company as well. The have a quaint little tap room. where they offer craft beer and delicious panini sandwiches. They also sell bottles of beer, so you will have plenty of souvenirs to take home!

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown! We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Nicole Walker,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Guests enjoy our premier location within walking distance of City Creek Shopping Center, The Gateway, Historic Temple Square and hundreds of restaurants and night clubs. We are centrally located just minutes away from Interstate 15, Interstate 215, Interstate 80, Highway 89, the Amtrak Station and Salt Lake City International Airport. Business travelers will benefit from the proximity of our Holiday Inn Express to many nearby companies including The Boeing Co., Chevron, Deloitte, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs and Co, KPMG, Lockheed Martin Corporation, L3 Communications, Northrop Grumman, Tesoro and University of Utah. Our non-smoking Holiday Inn Express offers easy access to attractions including Capitol Theatre, Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway Children's Museum, Energy Solutions Arena, Great Salt Lake, Utah's Hogle Zoo, LDS Temple Square, Lagoon Amusement Park, The Leonardo Museum, Natural History Museum of Utah, Red Butte Garden, Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center, This Is The Place Heritage Park and Utah State Capitol. Guests can enjoy a plethora of amenities including: Fitness Center, guest laundry, Business Center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, and airport shuttle. Our indoor pool and hot tub is scheduled to open on April 15, 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel
Shilo Hotel Salt Lake City
Shilo Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Shilo Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.