We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST STAY EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
1 review
“BEST STAY EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have studied holiday Inn expresses & know so much about the express & what to expect staying here. for this hotel being new this year it definitely made me proud! staff was great! breakfast was great! I kept extending my stay because of how awesome it is here. not just saying it just because.. honestly it was a great stay. the staff let us be and the house keeping was helpful and was offering to clean every morning. I think we're staying here another night & will be here regularly! it's a great stay & the pool is amazing! thank you Holiday INN downtown I will stay here more (:

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Utah801WVC,

We are thrilled to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our wonderful staff, great breakfast indoor 24 hour pool and clean rooms. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our team members. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown! We are looking forward to you becoming a regular guest!

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    22
    21
    12
See reviews for
17
20
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast included and newly renovated rooms. The staff are helpful and the wireless is free (a nice change from most downtown hotels). Don't forget about the shuttle too and from the airport. Definitely a good option for business trips.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PumpkinCustard,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our newly opened Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Many travelers like yourself are pleasantly surprised by our convenient location directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center.

We hope you had the chance to check out some of our local restaurants within walking distance as well. Next time you visit, be sure to check out Christopher's Prime Steakhouse for dinner. Christopher's is locally owned and operated and located directly behind our hotel.

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our complimentary full hot breakfast, newly renovated rooms, free wi-fi, friendly staff and free airport shuttle. We truly appreciate your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Construction is nearly done at the hotel, i believe they were finishing up on the 2nd floor while we were here but it did not disturb us in the slightest.

Breakfast area was HUGE - tons of seating, plugs for people that need to charge up, and double the amount of breakfast stations that most HIE have (2 pancake stations, 2 hot food stations etc). There were at least 50 people eating breakfast in the morning and there was no congestion in the area as a result. They also keep the food stocked and it really tasted great!

The room was HUGE, we had tons of space to spread out and the desk was really handy for getting work done. The shower was fantastic, loved all of the amenities that the hotel had to offer. We really cannot say enough nice things about all of the staff that helped check us in, check us out and kept the hotel in clean condition. The Wi-Fi was also extremely quick. I'm sure that more positive reviews will be flowing in now that the hotel is IHG flagged and operational.

Hotel is in a great location - we walked to Ruth's Chris Steak House, Red Rock Brew-Pub as well as a quick 1/2 mile walk to the Cross Creek Mall/Temple Square area. The Convention Center is directly across the street if you are in town for any conventions. 1/2 mile down 200 S is also Bar X and Beer Bar which we also enjoyed. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again if we come back to Salt Lake City! Thanks to everyone! :)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lilemoevie

Thank you so much for your recent review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown on TripAdvisor. Our Management Team is truly excited to hear this was your best Holiday Inn Express stay yet. It's reassuring to know that the months and months of extensive renovations have paid off. We are just putting the finishing touches on our 2nd floor guest rooms this week, otherwise our renovations are finished.

I think we might be just as thrilled with our new Express Start Breakfast as you are. We appreciate your compliments regarding our spacious breakfast area and efficient breakfast attendants. We also loved to hear your feedback on our newly renovated guest rooms, free wi-fi and the overall cleanliness of our hotel.

It's great to hear that you were able to experience so many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Some of my personal favorites that you mentioned are the Red Rock Brew Pub, The Beer Bar and Bar X. Next time you visit, be sure to check out Epic Brewing Company as well. The have a quaint little tap room. where they offer craft beer and delicious panini sandwiches. They also sell bottles of beer, so you will have plenty of souvenirs to take home!

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown! We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Nicole Walker,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks like the hotel was recently purchased and really doesn't seem like a Holiday Inn Express yet.

Breakfast and staff were great like all Holiday Inn Expresses, but the decore and everything about it doesn't seem like a Holiday Express. But good location, good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Calgary David,

Thank you for choosing our new Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It's true that our changed ownership a little more than a year ago. Since then we have been hard at work completing a full renovation and re-branding to the Holiday Inn Express. The new Holiday Inn Express prototype that IHG unveiled last March has debuted in the U.S. The property features the brand’s new “Formula Blue” design, which incorporates guest rooms with flexible work space, movable seating, storage units with a horizontal luggage component and a neutral color palette.

The prototype also includes a Great Room, or multi-purpose area with a business center and 24/7 market; individual check-in pods; a dedicated area for the brand’s the breakfast bar; and meeting space.

We are putting the finishing touches on our Indoor Pool & hot tub & meeting space, which will be finished by April 15, 2015. Other than that, rest assured that our hotel is fully renovated with the new Holiday Inn Express prototype design. We are one of the first hotels in North American to feature the new design, so it's no wonder that it caught you off guard.

Thanks again for your review on TripAdvisor! We hope your stay was a pleasant surprise and we hope you would consider staying with us again.

- Nicole Walker, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I booked my room early and paid a deposit. When I arrived that evening, they told me they gave my room to someone else and didn't have any rooms available and I'd have to go look for a hotel room somewhere else. Unbelievable! They didn't even call to warn me. The clerk then said they would refund my deposit right away. Two days later they still haven't refunded my deposit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Shaun,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that we were unsuccessful at providing the level of hospitality that we are committed to. Unfortunately we were oversold during your requested dates, due to construction delays relating to ongoing guest room renovations at our hotel. Unfortunately we had a large number of guest rooms that were scheduled to be finished prior to your stay. Sadly, these rooms were not ready in time and we did have to relocate several guests to a nearby hotel. I understand that our Front Office Supervisor attempted to assist you with alternate accommodations, but she was unsuccessful in doing so.

I invite you to reach out to me directly, so that we can make this right for you. Our renovations are coming to and end next week & I would love to have you as our guest in our newly renovated hotel. Please let me know if you are planning any future visits to Salt Lake City. I can be reached at 801-521-9500, Monday - Friday from 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel experience was the best. The customer service could not be beat. Everything from the complementary airport shuttle to the helpful front desk and other staff were amazing. In the midst of some renovations, the hotel was still kept immaculate. It is the absolute best hotel choice location for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Carol!

Thank you for your recent outstanding review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We are happy to hear that your experience of our customer service, free airport shuttle and helpful staff exceeded your expectations.

I am pleased to let you know that our renovations are now finished. We hope you will stay with us again, should you return to the Salt Lake City area.

Thanks again,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed in this HI Express for a conference. The hotel is just across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Very convenient.
They are still working on the final pieces of the renovation. But all rooms are finished.
Rooms are brand new, clean, spacious and very nice. Huge TV, comfortable beds and clean bathroom. Fridge, microwave and coffee maker were in my room too. Stayed in room 520 which is a standard double bed room.
Breakfast and free wifi included. Wifi worked great even though the hotel was fully booked.
Staff is very friendly. A special thanks Manny for paying attention to the detail. He already got my bag which was stored when I was coming back from dinner and leaving to the airport. I literally just got through the front door and he already greeted me with my bag. I was stunned.
Thanks David for the free airport shuttle.
Will stay there again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AD0815,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown for your recent conference. We are glad that our convenient location next to the Salt Palace Convention Center met your needs.

We are also happy to read your compliments on our guest rooms, complimentary full hot breakfast, free wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. We completely agree with you about our friendly staff. I will be certain to pass along your regards to Manny. He truly goes above and beyond to exceed our guests needs when it comes to dinner recommendations, as well as luggage service. Manny is our "go to" guy for local tips on restaurants and things to see and do in downtown Salt Lake City.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown! We are thrilled to hear that you are planning on staying with us again!

- Nicole Walker, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Guests enjoy our premier location within walking distance of City Creek Shopping Center, The Gateway, Historic Temple Square and hundreds of restaurants and night clubs. We are centrally located just minutes away from Interstate 15, Interstate 215, Interstate 80, Highway 89, the Amtrak Station and Salt Lake City International Airport. Business travelers will benefit from the proximity of our Holiday Inn Express to many nearby companies including The Boeing Co., Chevron, Deloitte, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs and Co, KPMG, Lockheed Martin Corporation, L3 Communications, Northrop Grumman, Tesoro and University of Utah. Our non-smoking Holiday Inn Express offers easy access to attractions including Capitol Theatre, Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway Children's Museum, Energy Solutions Arena, Great Salt Lake, Utah's Hogle Zoo, LDS Temple Square, Lagoon Amusement Park, The Leonardo Museum, Natural History Museum of Utah, Red Butte Garden, Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center, This Is The Place Heritage Park and Utah State Capitol. Guests can enjoy a plethora of amenities including: Fitness Center, guest laundry, Business Center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, and airport shuttle. Our indoor pool and hot tub is scheduled to open on April 15, 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel
Shilo Hotel Salt Lake City
Shilo Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Shilo Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.