We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent the last night of our trip at the Shilo. The hotel has great location in the downtown area of Salt Lake. It was a short 2 block walk to the new shopping area and dining locations. It also included a free breakfast. I was also suprised that there was no parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear NPPD04,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Our guests’ comments are very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Sharon Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    71
    55
    29
See reviews for
60
66
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly and very helpful staff on the reception desk. Good location and easy to find from the airport, we arrived in the early hours of the morning from the UK and was greeted very well
The rooms were very clean and comfortable , The bed was massive
Free coffee in the lobby was welcomed in the morning
The staff in the breakfast room were very helpful on enquiring on local attractions and served a very nice breakfast
Enjoyed a relaxing spa later on in the day..........
Good location for Salt Lake
The outside lift was not working but hey ho never mind

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear james f,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review; we value our guests’ comments. We will pass your praises on to the individuals that assisted you. FYI…the outside “lift” was not working because it was undergoing renovation. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Sharon Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I checked in and after several attempts to get into my room maintenance Jimmie's the door open and there was another guest inside. Thehotel and rooms are outdated and have an odor. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear julestravels86,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very important to us. We’re sorry you had difficulty getting into your room; we’ve been able to investigate the problem and used this as a teaching tool with a new employee.

Thanks,

Sharon Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent one night at this property for business on 9/19/2012. The good news: the property is located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, within walking distance of many downtown locations. I checked in way early and they accommodated me easily. Lobby area very handsome. At one time I saw a manager or accountant type with a cash box stop and clean the coffee service area. Great when the management staff pays attention to that kind of thing! Checkout staff very pleasant. Easy parking with attached two-story parking garage. The bad news: the room was incredibly musty and smelled like mold. The thermostat cover popped off at a touch. Bathroom molding needed work. Check in staff seemed grumpy. Free breakfast was very sparse, cold, and unappetizing. No stairs to the second floor, forcing everyone to use the elevator at all times. Probably would not stay here again. Other options close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were on a long trip from the UK through to Jackson, Salt Lake City was a stop over. Prior contact with the hotel regarding courtesy pick up from the airport via email was promptly replied to. Instruction followed on arrival at the airport and we were picked up by the hotel transport in good time. Check in was prompt and no hassle. The rooms, for our purpose, were fine. Clean, comfortable and the curtains (drapes?) kept any outside light from entering the room. Bed was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless and air conditioner worked fine.

Next morning, after breakfast, the trip back to the airport was in good time with the regular times the courtesy transport runs.

I have read the reviews with regards the dated decor but not an issue really when it is clean and tidy and we are passing through. I am not looking at the room when I am sleeping.

For our purpose, that is a arrive, sleep, start the next leg of our trip, I really cannot fault my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soda Springs, Idaho
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My son and his family were in a horrible car accident. We lost my grandson. The rest of the family, his two daughters and his wife were flown to the U of U and Primarys Childrens. We got the call at 1 am 8/18/2012. We are from Idaho and my sons family was returning to North Dakota from vaction in California. We have famly in Utah but top it all off my Grandmother had fallen during the night and was also addmitted to the hospital. our family in Utah also had this to deal with so we felt it would just be to much for all. So we got a list from the hospital of hotels who are kind enough to offer discounts. We decided to pick the shilo. They were great to us from the first night. Very freindly. The food in the resurant was great. We had burgers that were pretty yummy. The Bartender Joe was pretty funny and entertaining and was very attentive to our needs. He made us laugh and cheered us up. Once the staff found out the our story and why we were there and that we would need to be staying there for atleast two weeks or longer they went above and beyond the call of duty!!!!! They made sure we had everything we needed and also placed us in a suite that was like an apartment so that we could all be together in one area, and so we had more room as we had my granddaughters both in the accident with us the oldest just being released for p.i.c.u. My son whom had gotten released from the hospital after major shoulder surgery. So someone had to be on hand to help care for both of them to recover. Sure the rooms might need a little updating but the were very clean and very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was great about cleaning our room even when we were in there getting in the way, lol! It was very quiet there and relaxing no loud crazy guest the veiw was great and soothing. The free breakfast was good and for the little ones it was fun to go down to breakfast. And the service was excellent in my opinion. Every staff member there were just so caring and helpful and good to us! I just can say enough about how well they took care of us!! We now feel like family and it was sad to say goodbye! But we promised to come stay with them again. This was a long very hard and very emotional two weeks for us but the staff here made it less stressful and a positive experiance. Our rooms were good, clean and comfortable. I see all these complaints about room size, its old, we paid less for a nicer hotel ECT...... but we checked out others and for us this Shilo inn was perfect. So thank you to all the staff at the SLC Shilo!!! We miss you, but hope to come back soon just for a get away!! You guys are the best!! They all need raises and a bonus in my opinion!! LOL!! Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for One night at Shilo Inn. The staff was friedly, the room on 8th floor was nice, but rather small and very old fashioned, and outdated. Window could'nt open, caused to a broken handle. Rhe room vas very quiet, and the staff was helpfull guiding us to places to eat and get a drink.
Great location for a walk to town centre, free parking on private parking lot

Room Tip: Higher room has less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel

Address: 206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Salt Lake will soon become Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Holiday Inn Express(R) brand looks for people who are savvy, curious and care enough to offer guests everything they need and nothing they don't. The Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown is located at 206 South and West Temple. We are right at the intersection of 200 S and West Temple and we now have a range of different opportunities at our Newly Renovated hotel. Front Desk/Night Audit Personnel We're looking for friendly and professional front desk agents to join our team. Ideally you will have 2 years of experience in a customer service role with relevant school/college qualifications. Maintenance Personnel We're looking for a responsible and unassuming hotel engineer to join our team. Ideally you will have 2 years of experience in a maintenance, or similar role with relevant school/college qualifications. Housekeeping We're looking for efficient and capable housekeepers to join our team. Ideally you will have 2 years of experience in a housekeeping role with relevant qualifications. Drivers and Valets We're looking for savvy and enthusiastic shuttle drivers and Valets to join our team. Ideally you will have a few years of experience in a driving, or vale role with a clean driving record and other relevant qualifications. Breakfast Service Personnel We're looking for helpful and friendly breakfast service individuals to join our team. Ideally you will have a few years experience with relevant qualifications. If this sounds like the perfect move for you please come and visit us during our job fair from December 1st through December 4th. The fair will be held between 9 am and 5pm during each one of these days. Please do not call us for an interview, or an appointment during this time. All potential candidates will be run through E-verify per state and federal law. Make a smart choice and join us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel
Shilo Hotel Salt Lake City
Shilo Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.