We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Downtown business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek to your Saves list
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Connect Pass
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location for Downtown business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Located across the street from the Convention Center and within walking distance of most downtown restaurants, businesses and shopping. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and spacious - and there is a decent restaurant in the hotel if you don't want to venture out - plus a Starbucks if you just want a quick coffee and roll in the morning... underground parking is available (for a fee of course) as well as valet parking if you prefer... one of the unique aspects if your business is all downtown, is that you can take the light rail from the airport to within a block of the hotel and convention center. WiFi is free if you are a Gold or Platinum Rewards member - however, it is free if you are in the lobby or Starbucks...

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room, ask for the north or Temple side - see note on 'free' WiFi in...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard practices such as 'hang your towel up if want to use it tomorrow, etc.'
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
DanM320,

We appreciate you providing feedback on your recent stay with us! We're glad you found our location to be convenient for your business trip. We hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    132
    64
    17
    6
See reviews for
48
52
21
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Marriott City Creek in Salt Lake on our road trip to Yellowstone National Park and again on our return trip about 10 days later. I chose this hotel for it's close proximity to Interstate 15 and the fact that it is connected to a beautiful newer upscale mall in the downtown area. City Creek Mall had many cool stores, designer shops and interesting eateries. I knew we would not have to go "on a safari" to find a good restaurant for dinner. As with many major cities, Salt Lake is restoring it's downtown area and from what I saw, they are doing an excellent job of it!

The Marriott at City Creek is a really nice stay! The lobby decor is very contemporary, guest friendly, welcoming and decorated in very good taste. Our first room overlooked the rooftop and air conditioning units, but our accommodations drastically improved on the second overnight stay! We had a really nice room overlooking the city lights with floor to ceiling windows for a super view! The first stay included breakfast for 2 guests and it was great! I can't think of one breakfast item that the hotel restaurant didn't offer on it's all you can eat buffet, including fresh made omelets! The homemade granola was delicious! Five stars! The pool and workout area is top notch and all insomniac hotel guests are able to use the gym facility 24 hours! Unfortunately, our travel schedule didn't allow us to use the pool, but it looked really tempting!

My review would not be complete without mentioning a special bellman named Chris who bent over backwards and gave us lots of valuable information about the area restaurants, sights etc. He remembered us from our first stay 10 days earlier! Chris was a really sincere, friendly, nice guy who obviously enjoyed his job and portrayed a very positive service image for this hotel!

My only complaint was the minuscule size of the toiletries and only 1 wimpy decaf coffee offered in a hotel room which is expect to sleep at least 2 adults…….. I wasn't too happy about being "nickel and dimed" for hotel parking ($$$) and WiFi at an additional cost of $9.95……....You might expect that from a campground or a budget motel, but not from the Marriott Corporation! I would suggest nixing the up charge for WiFi and charging a little more for rooms and let ALL guests enjoy a nice breakfast included. Hotel guests will definitely feel that they are getting much more for their money!
All in all, a really good stay!! : )

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the city or on lobby entrance side of the building.
See more room tips
Green Features: Most hotels are water conservative and Marriott City Creek is no exception. I realize that all companies should follow responsible energy saving practices and I applaud Marriott for their participation!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
MiasCoolMama,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of our hotel and your experience in Salt Lake City! We're so glad you were able to enjoy some of the local attractions within walking distance. Thank you for your feedback regarding the parking and internet. Whenever possible, we utilize comments such as yours to improve our operations and approach towards providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have stayed at this property probably 10 time...It's our favorite when we come into town for our sons doctor appointments. Rooms are always comfortable and clean. Staff is usually very nice. We love the location. Right next to the City Creek Mall, In the summer they have a nice water feature that my son can get wet in. The indoor pool is great in the winter months. There are lots of places close by to eat. We'll keep coming back..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Michele H,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Salt Lake City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This Marriott is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful City Creek shopping Mall and Temple Square. It is a typical older Marriott, however what makes it special are the associates. Every associate was very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
farawayMN,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear you had a good experience. Please remember us next time you make the trip to Salt Lake City. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were there for 5 nights to enjoy the events at Temple Square and the Conference Center and to do genealogy. It was an easy to walk to all of that and also to the beautiful City Creek shopping area with its fountain "dancing" to music, and lots of outdoor tables and chairs for relaxing or eating. The staff at the hotel answered questions, helped with early check-in, valet service, directions and phone numbers for restaurants, etc. They kept the room immaculate. It was not a large room and lacked a microwave, which we missed. It did have a small frig. The pool was beautiful and large, with a big, clean locker and shower area. The glass ceiling was on tracks and was retracted to make it an outdoor pool while we were there. Swimming at night was fun, with stars out. The hotel seemed full and there was a wait for the elevators at peak times because of a convention going on. We had a partial view of the temple and assembly hall.

Green Features: In the bathroom there wasn't enough towel bar space to hang towels to reuse. We had to rehang some on the shower curtain rod. I liked the practice of having glass drinking glasses instead of plastic.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Anne K,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very pleased to hear about your great experience. My staff and I look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the perfect location for a visit to a brand new mall, temple square, and downtown in general. The rooms were typical marriott, and the service was terrific. Be sure to watch a sunset from any window. The views are stunning.
Parking was very convenient and reasonable as well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCityCreek, Manager at Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the review. We're so pleased to hear about your wonderful experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here in Mid June of this year. It was a leisure long weekend for my wife and I. We were given a nice up grade to a top floor as frequent guests of Marriott's around the country and world. This was our first stay at this particular property. We were impressed with the brick and mortar of the property. It is located very close to great shopping and restaurants. You enter to a beautiful lobby and friendly staff at the front desk. As mentioned we were slotted to a top floor room next to apparently a large suite. The room was nicely appointed. Fresh carpets and fresh paint and furniture. Unfortunately for us on our Saturday night at near midnight a party broke out in the suite next door and the noise was great enough that security had to make an appearance and ask them to keep it down. But there was no sleeping probably anywhere at this end of the floor. When we complained we were asked to move in the middle of the night rather than management ending the party next door. We were given a new room on another floor but by then my wife found it hard to sleep the rest of the night due to the chaos of the evening. Due to the lack of sleep from that night we asked to be comped for the one night out of the 3 nights we stayed during our trip in SLC. The Manager of the hotel would have no part of this and gave us a few Marriott points instead. He was also condescending to my wife as well. Just poor attitude and disrespect. We have stayed in enough places in the world to know that occasionally we get noisy neighbors. But generally management is good to make things right. We loved out time in SLC and both agreed that this Marriott was a beautiful property with great location. BUT we also agreed we would never stay here again due to attitude of upper hotel management. I very seldom stay at properties that I have felt the need to write negative reviews. I waited a few weeks before writing this one so that I would be less emotional about our experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from the suites on weekends if peace or romance is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Address: 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.