We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek to your Saves list
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good - Very comfy beds, memory foam that felt so good when I went back home I hated my mattress! The rooms were quiet, clean, and well maintained.
Downside - very little drawer space – so 2-3 days should be okay but we were there for 8 nights so you should bring extra hangers as I did based on a friend’s trip earlier this year. . The wall plug ins seem a bit confusing but we did not need them.

minor issues - In room internet worked 85%-90% of the time but there were a lot of people (entire hotel!) trying to use it so that may not be an issue for your trip.
On site parking is expensive but you are in a great location to not have to drive to many things so this may not be an issue.

Room Tip: We were on the north side, facing the capital and it was a magnificent view to the Great Salt Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    186
    76
    21
    6
See reviews for
65
64
24
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Average hotel with boxy featureless rooms. That said it was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable and the location across from the Salt Palace just about perfect. OK for business travel but I would not use this place as a vacation base.There are some rather good restaurants around and it backs onto a new mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
316 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at the hotel. As always, the Marriott experience was great from check in (Jana noted my Gold Member status and upgraded me before I could even request it) to the Concierge services (Alisa and the other staff members there). They managed to deal well with the chaos of our conference (we're not a quiet, calm bunch) and still maintain their professionalism. The Starbucks staff in the hotel were exceptional--always smiling and willing to converse.

The hotel may be showing its age a bit, but it's holding up well enough. The bed, linens, towels were all nice.

I was on the 16th floor and it was quiet. Others noted that they were also facing the street and that there was a bit of noise. If you're a light sleeper, opt for a higher room.

Excellent location adjacent to the City Creek shopping and restaurant areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is first rate! My husband and I stayed there while on a tour and I must say it's one of the best Marriot's nationwide. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is located conveniently to shopping, dining and other venues.

Room Tip: The pool and spa area are great - clean with toweling provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff were friendly. I forgot my phone charger and one of the staff found one for me to use for the duration of my stay. During the day, food was provided by the hotel for the conference but after the conference it was hard to find a place to eat especially on the weekend - Sunday was the worst day. For such a large property, the banquet held as part of the closing ceremony was understaffed ten fold. While the food was good, the wait staff was not prepared for such a large event.

Moral of this review, nice hotel to stay at if your going to see the city but not so good if you are choosing this hotel for a large event utilizing their banquet facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband & I had a day to get away and stayed in the Marriott. Staff was friendly & helpful.Hotel is older but remodeled and nice, You can always count on a nice room at a Marriott property. Great view overlooking City Creek and the fountains. Location was great as we could walk all over Salt Lake to the different places we wanted to go. Drove up to Snowbird and hiked and enjoyed Octoberfest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of the best Marriott's nationwide. I always stay at this facility whenever I am in Salt Lake City. It is convenient to shops, dining, and other venues. If you happen to be a Medallion member this facility has an excellent lounge on the 16th floor. You can have a snack or cocktail and enjoy the view overlooking the South side of the city. A great place to look at the beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: Mall side has a great view of the Temple and Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
Marriott Salt Lake City City Cen...
#25 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Do...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake City
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake C...
#5 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Address: 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.