We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility erratic service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek to your Saves list
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice facility erratic service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed four days at this hotel. The front desk made some mistakes but housekeeping was strange. One never knew what to expect when they made up the room. Pillows disapeared, the number of towels left changed, the front desk sent yp some beer. One day the beer was still there but the bottle opener was gone.

The facility is very nice and conference breakfasts and lunch was very good.

Room Tip: We had a suite it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    173
    76
    21
    6
See reviews for
60
63
24
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott at City Creek, downtown SLC for a regional conference. The building is older and pretty average. I was shocked that the front desk couldn't give me conference rooms and locations the night before since it was in their hotel. On a positive note, the restaurant recommendations from the front desk were spot on. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing fancy. The exercise area is very nice and equipment is well maintained. Pool is small however and so crowded with kids and families it was sort of a turn off. Even if you came with your family it would be problematic. Loved the Starbucks on property. Proximity to downtown and City Creek Mall is nice. The mall is closed on Sunday's however which puts a serious damper on a weekend away if you want to stay in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of the city and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the salt palace which is right across the street. The hotel is also adjacent to the city creek mall which is nice as well as a block from The Tabernacle. The room is average at best, bathroom was small, the bed was just a foam mattress and wasn't real comfortable, and the room was freezing. There was a card in the room describing how the heating and cooling in the building works and since it's so old it takes awhile to work. They offer more blankets due to this. Glad I had a double bed so I could double up on the duvets. The wireless wasn't real useful the majority of the time since the hotel was full due to the conference. I expected better since they probably host a lot of conferences at the salt palace. Last year I stayed at the Hotel Monaco which was great and this year I stayed at the Marriott since my team booked here. Next year I'll be heading back to the Monaco

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for shopping and Disney on Ice trip...excellent location, nice rooms, comfortable beds...within easy walking distance to arena, next door to convention center, and mall. We will definatedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

As far as the property, typically Marriott. Above average service though. Room service food was very prompt & delicious. The bed needed a new mattress, as had an obvious rut in it!! Not very comfy to sleep. The room decor was nice & I didn't notice neighbor noise. Average view. Conference room staff for our 2 day meeting were superb!! They really spoiled us!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have read many reviews about this hotel, and some I agree with and others I don't. The lobby is clean and comfortable. My room was very clean with no obvious issues (yes it has a popcorn ceiling). TV was nice. The bed was very comfortable. Gym was TOO basic! Now, for the rates they charge I would expect much more! Location is the only saving grace as it is across the street from the convention center and next to the shopping center.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here recently for a conference, quick trip by cab from airport. Prompt checkin, room is typical Marriott,but was well maintained and spacious. Appreciated this being just accross the street from the convention center.

Had room service and it was good; there is a starbucks cafe in lobby as well that is great. Gym is connected to pool, everything you could want and more, cardio options, free weights, machines, and steps.

The hotel was quite helpful when I needed fedex, supplying me with supplies and picking up. There is a great mall next door (excellent Nordstroms!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Address: 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.