We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility erratic service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Marriott.com
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Salt Lake City Shopping
Ranked #33 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice facility erratic service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed four days at this hotel. The front desk made some mistakes but housekeeping was strange. One never knew what to expect when they made up the room. Pillows disapeared, the number of towels left changed, the front desk sent yp some beer. One day the beer was still there but the bottle opener was gone.

The facility is very nice and conference breakfasts and lunch was very good.

Room Tip: We had a suite it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    109
    56
    15
    5
See reviews for
41
41
20
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott at City Creek, downtown SLC for a regional conference. The building is older and pretty average. I was shocked that the front desk couldn't give me conference rooms and locations the night before since it was in their hotel. On a positive note, the restaurant recommendations from the front desk were spot on. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing fancy. The exercise area is very nice and equipment is well maintained. Pool is small however and so crowded with kids and families it was sort of a turn off. Even if you came with your family it would be problematic. Loved the Starbucks on property. Proximity to downtown and City Creek Mall is nice. The mall is closed on Sunday's however which puts a serious damper on a weekend away if you want to stay in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of the city and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the salt palace which is right across the street. The hotel is also adjacent to the city creek mall which is nice as well as a block from The Tabernacle. The room is average at best, bathroom was small, the bed was just a foam mattress and wasn't real comfortable, and the room was freezing. There was a card in the room describing how the heating and cooling in the building works and since it's so old it takes awhile to work. They offer more blankets due to this. Glad I had a double bed so I could double up on the duvets. The wireless wasn't real useful the majority of the time since the hotel was full due to the conference. I expected better since they probably host a lot of conferences at the salt palace. Last year I stayed at the Hotel Monaco which was great and this year I stayed at the Marriott since my team booked here. Next year I'll be heading back to the Monaco

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for shopping and Disney on Ice trip...excellent location, nice rooms, comfortable beds...within easy walking distance to arena, next door to convention center, and mall. We will definatedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

As far as the property, typically Marriott. Above average service though. Room service food was very prompt & delicious. The bed needed a new mattress, as had an obvious rut in it!! Not very comfy to sleep. The room decor was nice & I didn't notice neighbor noise. Average view. Conference room staff for our 2 day meeting were superb!! They really spoiled us!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have read many reviews about this hotel, and some I agree with and others I don't. The lobby is clean and comfortable. My room was very clean with no obvious issues (yes it has a popcorn ceiling). TV was nice. The bed was very comfortable. Gym was TOO basic! Now, for the rates they charge I would expect much more! Location is the only saving grace as it is across the street from the convention center and next to the shopping center.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here recently for a conference, quick trip by cab from airport. Prompt checkin, room is typical Marriott,but was well maintained and spacious. Appreciated this being just accross the street from the convention center.

Had room service and it was good; there is a starbucks cafe in lobby as well that is great. Gym is connected to pool, everything you could want and more, cardio options, free weights, machines, and steps.

The hotel was quite helpful when I needed fedex, supplying me with supplies and picking up. There is a great mall next door (excellent Nordstroms!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel
Marriott Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Utah
Address: 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#33 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list