We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Salt Lake City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Internet Pkg
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a five-day conference in SLC and brought the family with me. Room was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating - they didn't have the exact room type we had reserved, so they upgraded us to a larger room on an executive floor to make it right. Hotel is well-located, very close to downtown shopping and to the Mormon Temple. No complaints - this is a good option when in downtown Salt Lake City.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear RoadTripNeil,
Thank you for your recent visit, and posting. We strive to "make it right" for our guests. I agree with your posting.....We believe our location is perfect for a short walk to Temple Square or shopping at City Creek.

Thanks again

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    233
    94
    48
    11
See reviews for
86
118
57
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This has all the quality you would expect from a Hilton, but lacks polish. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping staff keeps the place very clean. The staff is friendly. The dresser is our room was full of nicks and scrapes, undoubtedly because of its age. The hotel has no café-style restaurant expect for breakfast. The prices are high. The sole restaurant for dinner is Spencer’s Steak House where it will cost you $50 per person for a complete meal. Fret not; there are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel of various qualities and prices. Fret not, unless it is raining or snowing outside. I was attending a conference. If that conference was held again at this hotel, I would not object to staying there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear godolnj,
Thank you for your recent visit and posting. I appreciate the details that you shared on your experiences at our hotel and in downtown Salt Lake City. I agree, there are numerous restaurant options for our guests to choose from within walking distance with a wide variety of cuisine and price ranges. I appreciate the information regarding the dresser condition. We are currently refinishing our dressers int he guest rooms and should be completed within 60 days.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The conference rate was $149/night with the same rate available for a few days before and a few days after. A week or so after I made my conference registration, I decided to stay an extra night and was quoted $179, NOT $149, using the same conference rate code. Decided to see what the AARP rate would be for the extra night on Friday $89!!! Made the AARP res and requested to stay in the same room which was done. WIFI policy is weird, which is why I dropped from overall Excellent to Very Good. One code for the conference rooms and one code for the guest rooms. Unlike other conference hotels where you have free wifi for your entire stay through out the edifice, Hilton makes you sign in every day and it is SLOW. Bring your own pillow if you like one that is a bit firm and gives support. Last but not least, sign up for Hilton Honors. I did at check-in time and got a credit of $167.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queen beds are really with two kings. Pleasant surprise. Also in that room is a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Joan P,
Thank you for your recent visit and the detialed information that you have provided regarding the accomodations and reservation process. I apologize for the internet connectivity problems that you experienced. We are process of completing a major upgrade with AT&T to improve our connectivity speed throughout the hotel. We will complete this upgrade by the end of September, which will greatly improve the WiFi speed for our guests.

Thanks again for your business and your posting.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference for 4 days. Got a good rate through the conference. The room was large. The air-conditioning was strong, but located in a corner of the room such that only that corner stayed cool and the rest of the room not so much. Despite being there for a conference which required use of the internet, the internet connection was horrendous. I was given a "coupon code" to log in, however the conference internet code never worked properly and the internet kept switching to AT&T which the hotel said was not the right connection. If I was able to connect properly I was signed off within 15 minutes of connectivity. Very slow and frustrating. There was a public internet connection in the lobby which was spotty.
The food offerings in the hotel are average. It is nicely located 10-15 minute walk to the family history library and near the mall. There is no free shuttle to the airport which was a disappointment as many other hotels in the area have this service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler T, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear hnsadler,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel for your conference. We appreciate any feedback that is given to help us improve our service to valued guest such as yourself. I apologize for the internet connection problems, due to a high volume of business at the hotel the connectivity of the internet is spotty at times. We are taking the necessary steps to improve our internet quality and to make it more accessible for guests during peak business times.
Again, I want to thank you for your feedback and I hope that if you consider us again, that your stay will be above average.

Tyler Teran
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is a nice 10 minute walk to the Family History Library, as well as next to most of what there is to see downtown.

The beds and sheets are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The price was good at $149/night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was going thru Salt Lake City to present at a conference being held at this hotel. The property was easy to get to from the airport, via taxi, and for a single night, it made a lot more sense than renting a car and having to pay to park at the hotel as well. The room I was given was on a higher floor, and was well appointed and quiet. The staff was very accommodating, and was able to give me a slightly late checkout so I could wrap up my presentation, change clothes, and head back to the airport. The price was good, and the room very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel was amazing. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Food was great. Everyone was so friendly. Room was very large and modern. Bath was large and very well done. Everything fresh. Staff handled everything for us. Would stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: I think every room is a good room. Best location of all on our trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler T, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Syble H,

Thank you for your 5 Star review and your recent stay at the Hilton Salt Lake City Center. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I hope that you will come stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Tyler Teran
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Salt Lake City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Address: 255 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Salt Lake City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with spacious rooms and an indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Salt Lake City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Salt Lake City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Salt Lake City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.