We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. Great deal online.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Salt Lake City Center to your Saves list
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 Lead Rate Sale $139
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good stay. Great deal online.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight during a road trip through SLC. There was a deal for $99 a night ($119 with parking and free wifi). Given the value, I was thinking about giving it 5 stars, but the hotel itself wasn't worthy of 5 stars, so I stuck with a 4. Of note, the parking that came with the deal was for self park (Which is $14) and free wifi (not sure how much, but my LTE was sometimes faster).

The hotel was nice and clean - nothing extraordinary. The rooms were nice and roomy. We had a king size bed room and had plenty of room for a blow up toddler bed.
The bathroom was clean despite a previous review noting a dirty bathroom. However, our drain was clogged, and we had to take a shower/ankle bath.
The swimming pool was very small and packed when we went. (We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express the next night, and their pool was much larger).

The location was great. Not having ever been to Salt Lake City before, I can't say if it's close to everything. However, there were a lot of restaurants in walking distance - many of them within a block.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    245
    104
    50
    12
See reviews for
90
125
59
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A great place for business travelers --- especially if you are doing business downtown. You are super close to several restaurants (walking distance) as well as right across the street from the convention center.

They have a decent work out facility with plenty of cardio machine. The free-weights & weight machines are a bit limited --- but it's a hotel, not a 24 Hour Fitness.

There is also a AVIS located right in the hotel which very convenient if you only need a rental car on specific days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed while attending a conference at the Salt Palace across the street. Concierge staff were very helpful suggesting restaurants, loading luggage into the airport shuttle and providing general info. The king bed room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi a great feature as was the free availability of two workstations and a printer, the latter in the main lobby. In house restaurant had a very good breakfast buffet. Terrific orange juice! Minor quibbles - vending machine was 'sold out' of all varieties of pop and system was re-booting in the early am and so no changes to payment arrangements could be made, although staff offered to have a colleague check us out later in the day making these.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very impressed with our stay here. My girlfriend was here on a conference and I was left to my own devises. The hotel has a great pool for swimming laps and a very adequate workout room. There is a nice outside area for lounging and catching some rays. The rooms are nice and the hotel seemed very quiet ever though it being filled to capacity. Excellent location in the hub of downtown, close to all the main sites, shopping area, and some great restaurants. But what was most impressive is how they solved what I thought would have been major problems: I forgot my computer charger and they happened to have one that fit; had a major computer problem which prevented me from doing any work on my laptop and they hooked me up with someone from their service provider (A T&T I think) who after some time figured it out. The front desk were always eager to help with any questions. A surprisingly excellent stay. Go to Temple Square, the hub of all things Mormon. Very interesting. Tabernacle Choir and organ recitals are a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I travel to Salt Lake City every year for a ski vacation, this is the second time we have stayed at the Hilton City Center. I don't understand the repeted complaints about parking. ALL of the 4 star hotels in Salt Lake City charge for parking. My opinion on this property's location is 10 of 10. You can walk to many outstanding restaurants and other nightlife. Our room had been recently remodled and was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Someone had posted earlier that parking next door was available for $3. It turns out that lot does not have overnight parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We return to the Hilton yearly for a business conference and have always found the accomodation enjoyable. Quality has varied through the years, but most recently has been continually improving. There have been some very nice room improvements since last year.

Front desk was very helpful and courteous, even when the room I was scheduled for was not available. They did their best to get me into a comparable room as quickly as possible.

We stayed on the 17th floor (1732) with a west facing window ... great evening view. All the carpets had been redone, the room very clean and inviting. Beds were comfortable except for the "x-ray blanket" comforters. They are so heavy they're difficult to sleep under. But then, I'm sure some people love them. There was a also small refigerator in our room and a desk and overstuffed chairs in one end.

Very good size bathrooms with nice heavy towels. Everything was clean and tidy. The water flow from the shower head was lacking, in an attempt to save water, I'm sure. Problem is, a limited flow shower that requires more time to rinse off counteracts itself. There is a blow dryer in the bathroom. Shampoo and conditioner and hand lotion. They used to have a small bottle of mouthwash, but no sign of it this year. No big deal, but a small perk missing. Iron and ironing board in the closet. The iron had been improperly used previously so it was sticky. Took some cleaning to get it to the point where I could iron my dress shirt.

The rooms were very quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms. Also, because we were on upper floor, there was no street noise. We had a room next to the elevators a couple of years ago and it was very noisy. A friend of mine had the same room this year and said they had done a very good job of dampening the noise. Nonetheless, I would ask for a room away from the elevator.

The hall ways and common areas have also had a recent upgrade of carpeting and paint, etc.

Didn't make it to the pool and hot tub this year, but it is always enjoyable. Nice sized pool and hot tub as well as a fitness room, showers and sauna.

Business office where you can have access to a computer and printer as needed. And conference space on the second floor.

Parking is available under the hotel. It is a pretty tight space, but was included in the cost of our room. Not sure if that is always the case. Exit and enter the parking with your room key. If you're driving a "lifted" truck or SUV, don't even think about it... Valet parking also available.

WiFi was provided for our room on the upper floor with a code. Not sure if it is provided for all rooms for free. It appears there may be some price levels that require a fee.

Our rooms on the "Executive Levels", 16 - 18 included a voucher for breakfast in Trofi restaurant. A nice place for breakfast, lunch, dinner. There is also a Spencers in the hotel that has fabulous steaks. And a Starbucks.

Right next door is Ruth's Cris Steak House. Across the street is Macaroni Grill and Inferno Grill, which I'm guessing is Southwest or Mexican cuisine. On the corner is an Olive Garden. And lots of other options in close walking distance.

City Creek Center is a couple of blocks away with lots of high end shopping and food.

And Temple square is two and a half block from the hotel. Easily walking distance.

Salt Palace Convention Center a block away across the street.

Thanks Jeff, Brooks, and staff. Another great conference. We were so well treated...again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room, west facing for the view. The "Executive Level" rooms are larger, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Courteous staff in other areas. The doormen opened the door for us when we walked back from the ballet. The breakfast staff greeted us on the phone by name, gave us an estimated time for delivery of our breakfast in bed, and the food was delicious. Check-in was quick and easy, and check-out was too. Parking was easy, and discounted when we included it with the purchase of our room. Loved the location of the hotel and it was a quiet stay for us. Just wish the bathroom would have been clean!!!! It made us question how clean any of the room was if there was PEE right on the toilet seat and pubic hairs left behind in the shower. Did they even clean the bathroom?

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and it was a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear JCP214,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize to you for this unacceptable cleanliness of your bathroom. I have investigated this incident with our Executive Housekeeper, and we have addressed this situation with the team member who cleaned your room. I assure you this type of carelessness is not our Hilton standard. Historically we earn very high cleanliness scores from our guests, and this incident is very concerning to many of us as it is detrimental to the reputation of our housekeeping team and hotel. I will be reaching out to you shortly via your reservation information to explain more fully our follow up procedures and our geninue interest in regaining your confidence in Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Salt Lake City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Address: 255 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#29 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Salt Lake City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with spacious rooms and an indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Salt Lake City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Salt Lake City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Salt Lake City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.